We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nearly perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

When we arrived at this very special location we received a lovely warm welcome. We were so looking forward to being shown to our room and overlooking this idyllic setting.
What a shock! We looked out on trees and a stone pillar! You can't imagine my disappointment.
Here we were in the most beautiful resort, with only half a dozen guests staying, and this view.
Our agent, Steppes Travel (superb) recommended Sonara as a 'must visit' and booked eight months in advance.
We wanted to know what the thinking was behind allocating this room (Room 63) given we had booked so far in advance and the choice of rooms available?
"This room was assigned initially as it was unoccupied prior to your arrival and we have had many favourable comments from guests that have stayed their previously". Really!
We will let you decide!
That aside our stay was very special, excellent staff (with the exception of the person who allocated our room!!) and quite exceptional food.

Room Tip: Don't book Room 63
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PaulGroombridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at Sonora Resort. We are glad to hear that you had an enjoyable experience, with the exception of the view from the room that you were initially assigned, and we understand that the room to which you were moved had the exceptional view that you were seeking. Additionally, we are pleased that your initial disappointment with the view from your room was addressed and corrected as soon as you alerted our staff and that all other aspects of your stay met with your approval. Thanks very much for choosing to stay at Sonora Resort!

The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
144
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a resort that understands customer service, attention to detail, and how to create an incredible over all experience whether you are into salmon fishing (clearly a speciality), hiking, or just relaxing. The meals were exceptional. A creative menu led to some absolutely delicious dishes. While premium brands abound and are included, wine pairings for the tasting menu ($85) are not, but were they ever nicely matched with each course.

Staff have been exceptionally trained: they introduce themselves, smile, and can't do enough to keep you satisfied. What a pleasure! No attitude here!

There is also a wonderful view from the bedroom, a very comfortable bed and pillows to dream on. The included fully stocked frig in the room was extraordinary! .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We hope to have you back as our guests again soon!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

As all magical stories start, once upon a time there was a Mother who wanted to take her soon College bound daughter on a special trip they would always remember. Sonora Island Resort did not disappoint. Even the booking process was top notch. Stan personally called and addressed all my questions, suggested tours and sent pictures of the rooms we could choose from which included the views. When our travel day arrived we were swept away on a large helicopter that seats 12 for a breathtaking hour flight. After arriving we were treated to our beverage of choice and a tasty cheese board. While enjoying our snack we were greeted by the resort manager who emphasized how important our stay was to them, the layout of the resort, our tour schedule and assisted with dinner reservations for the entire stay. We were then escorted to our room. The resort is all inclusive for food and drink and the room didn't disappoint. Our fridge had several non alcoholic, top shelf alcohol,beer, wine and snacks. We also had a Breville coffee maker and tea assortment. The beds were very comfortable with 4 high end down pillows per bed. The bathroom was large with 2 sinks, walk in shower with rainfall shower head and a large sunken tub for two. It also had a see through fireplace for the room and tub. All the luxuries of home and then some. We had a large patio outside our room with seating and the most incredible view of the water and mountains. The staff here believes in customer service. I've stayed in several top of the line hotels and none of them come close to the personal outstanding service we received here. Everyone introduces themselves, remembers your name and all your preferences they've noticed during your stay. The food at all 3 meals were exceptional. I felt like I was in NYC dining at a $200 pp restaurant every night. The Northwestern cuisine was delicious and the presentation beautiful. They even have a different tasting menu every night to compliment their a la carte menu. Their house wines are good but they also have an extensive wine list to choose from for purchase. Our first full day we met our guide at the docks to go salmon fishing. We were fitted with float jackets and encouraged to pack a cooler of our choice from their snack room. The room was full of candy, chips, fruit and a double professional refrigerator full of beer, soda and wine coolers. Then Steve went over the basics and away we went for another breath taking ride down the ocean. We caught several salmon but several were too small to keep. We had one fish and Steve offered to let us stay out a little longer. Magically we caught one more keeper and back to the resort we went. We watched Steve weigh and clean them. They offer to vacuum pack and freeze them so that you can take them back on the plane. Steve cut off one of the fish heads and put it on a post on the dock. We then got to see a majestic bald eagle swoop down from the trees and grasp the head right in front of us! On our second day we went on the Phillips River tour. Our guide Aaron took us on a boat and land tour looking for animals and providing interesting history about the area. We unfortunately didn't see any Orca's or bears. But saw baby eagles in their nest, porpoise, mule deer and seals. Because the resort didn't think we had seen enough wildlife they called the room and offered another tour in the morning free of charge. They have a wellness center for spa and workout time and several hiking trails. This magical resort has it all! You can be adventurous and relax. The staff is top notch and anticipates your every need or want. Tomorrow we have a cooking lesson with the Chef. Hopefully he can teach me how to cook seafood half as well as he does. I will be back here in the future and would recommend it to families or couples because magically they truly do have it all. I know this experience will never be forgotten and we only look forward to making new ones.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Ktropia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We wish your daughter the best of luck at college and look forward to having you back as our guests in the future.
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

From the time you step of the helicopter , water taxi or plane , prepare to be pampered . Any room will deliver you great views , any activity you choose will have you in awe of your surroundings , food is speactacular and you will need to increase your work out activity after you leave just to shed a few pounds . But, the one thing Sonora resort does much better than any is deliver a great customer experience from every staff member who works there. They go out of their way to give you whatever it is you need.

Fishing has been good over the last few weeks . I would highly recommend Scott Anderson as a guide . He knows the waters and knows where to take you and haul in fish to your boat .
If your not a salmon fisherman, then hone your angling skills at the catch and release torut pond .
The Eco tour will show you how printine the area really is, and may even allow you to spot some bears or eagles.
If you want to try kayaking , that too can be arranged .
If you want to run out doors , the team will show where you can do this . If you prefer to just hit the treadmill , this is also available in the SPA area. Speaking of SPA, if you want to have the most relaxing time of your trip, have a message, or in my case a sleep . I was out cold in 30 seconds. What a great relaxing experience.

Every time I have to leave it is a sad time, because you just want to drink in more of this fantastic resort .

Room Tip: Any room is a good room , but if you prefer close to the water you have many options .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andy_macSaskatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada0, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time, once again, to share your Sonora experience. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2015.
Until then, happy travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Excellent overall experience. Great staff, food and fishing. Helicopter flight in took in amazing vistas. Staff were very accommodating with regards special food requests and went the extra mile. Ensure you are on a Sonora boat for the guiding - they use charters as well.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank FreqF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rebecca R, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank-you for taking the time to share your Sonora experience. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back.
Happy travels!
The Sonora Resort Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I travelled to the Sonora Island Resort from 9/19 to 9/22 and I am going to have a very difficult time putting into words, how wonderful our trip was! We flew in from Toronto to Vancouver, and then up by Helicopter to Sonora Island. The weather was perfect and the views were spectacular, and the ride was less than an hour. Our arrival set the standard for how the weekend would be, and I have to say that it was breathtaking!! Being greeted by Sean (GM), and being led into the main lobby and given an introduction to the resort and having wine and cheese accompany the information session, was the first glimpse of how truly magical this place would be. After learning about what our weekend possibilities would be, we wandered out to the deck to watch and listen to the sea lions playing in the ocean and feel the warmth of the sun in the most picturesque of places. It's indescribable. While being fortunate enough to experience the resort, we were exceptionally pleased with the layout of the Presidential Suite and the details in every corner of our room. It truly set things up to be magical and almost slowed down life for 4 days. While at the resort, we took part in a fishing tour, which could have had better weather, but even though it was foggy, our guide was amazing and the experience is one that I would do over and over again. The Saturday found us back in a helicopter to do a glacial tour, and I cannot express how ABSOLUTELY COOL this was!!!! The scenery was literally like you were on your way to heaven and indescribable (again) with how the scenery was like no other. We travelled to an altitude of 55,000 feet and saw an incredible infinity pool, and flew in and around caves that I will probably never experience again in this lifetime. My pictures and videos are amazing but simply not justice to the reality of experiencing it first hand. If you go, it is an absolute MUST DO! We were going to land on the glacier and have a champagne lunch but it was too uncertain with the fog, so we travelled down and had a lunch in an equally pristine location, so nothing was lost during the tour. My next detail would be the food - there is not enough time or space to even begin to describe the calibre and finesse of the meals presented to us and the servers who waited on us. Every single item on the menu was to die for, and each day was a struggle to try something new as the last meal you had was like no meal you ever had before! My absolute favourite was the 64 degree egg. I fell in love with Terry Pichor's exquisite talents in the kitchen and craved his menus for weeks after our departure!!!! Every detail was handled like it was the most important and you felt like you were royalty with the presentation of every item whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner!!!
The Island Currents Spa was so peaceful and the staff were amazing - AGAIN!!! I loved the mineral pools, the tranquility of being able to relax poolside after you complete the cycle and soak in the beauty of the ocean, the trees and the birds flying overhead. Magical, peaceful and literally felt like you were one with this place.
I honestly feel like my review does not give justice to the spell this resort puts you under and I would encourage anyone to try and visit this place once in their lifetime. If you are lucky enough to plan a wedding or honeymoon here, then even better!!!!

Room Tip: I cannot imagine a bad location at this resort, but a room further away from the main building would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hawaii2009for3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience at Sonora Resort! We always appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back as our guests in the future.
Until then, happy travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
81 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This place is a real find – whether you want to be very active with outdoor activities or just want to get away from it all. We did the latter and just enjoyed the food, the natural water show (with eagles, sea lions and seals “performing” and water running like a river) that occurred on a daily basis in front of the main restaurant, and lots of hiking. We stayed in the Arbutus Lodge and it was quite comfortable. The room had a very large picture window that looked out onto the water and a decent sized bathroom that was modern and well equipped. We learned that this was one of the newest lodges and not all the lodges are similarly designed (especially regarding the size of the bathroom so definitely ask questions about the room you are booking). None of the rooms in the lodge had a patio or balcony, but there were a number of public patio spaces with hot tubs on each floor and there was also a large common area in the building. The room fridge was equipped with a variety of drinks (including wine and alcohol) and that’s all included in the room price which is a nice touch. It was a few minutes to walk from the room to the main restaurant, but it was a quick and easy walk. (Some lodges are closer to the restaurant if walking is a concern). Also, the lodge was next to the conservatory which was a great place to find a spot to sit and read.

The main lodge included the restaurant (note there isn’t room service) and it had a lot of outdoor seating – which was a great location to not only dine but also to read or watch the water show. The food was very tasty (above average for a restaurant generally and a lot above average given the remoteness of this spot) and the chef’s menu at dinner is definitely a special treat that's worth the try. One flag though is that lunch is a set menu that doesn’t change all that much – except they occasionally add specials. (One minor suggestion I would have is that they offer specials regularly). It was also easy to sit outside for dinner as the heaters and the provided blankets easily addressed any chill in the air that surfaced in the evening. Note, try to make your reservations for dinner as soon as possible as there’s a natural flow to the day (out in early the a.m. for activities, come back and hit the spa, so certain seating times are definitely in high demand).

The spa/workout room is small but well designed. There were a few of each machine but it was never crowded; and it’s equipped with drinks, towels, TVs, etc. The resort is also well wired and Internet access is readily available if you can’t get yourself to unplug.

The real highlight of the resort is the staff. They definitely hire for personality – everyone is quite friendly and accommodating; service is definitely a top priority here. There are also several dogs on the property and they are more than happy to join you on a hike if you’re interested in taking them, so just ask.

One last note, getting trip insurance is recommended. If there is stormy weather, sea plane access to the resort can be impeded. (Although the staff noted that flying in by helicopter was less likely to be disrupted by the weather).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentTraveler1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SonoraResortCanada, Manager at Sonora Resort, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to share your experience at Sonora. We always appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back as our guests in the future.
Until then, happy travels!
The Sonora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
19.5 mi away
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
Quadra Island Harbour House B&B
#3 of 9 in Quadra Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing