We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Week Of My Life” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey UK
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Week Of My Life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2009

We had been planning a cruise and decided to finish our tour c Sonora instead after reading these reviews- either the resort had written them or else it was genuinely fantastic. It was fantastic in all aspects and exceded our very high expectations in all respects!! food / service / activities/ environment were amazing.
Many thanks for the best week of my life!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twister_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    12
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
58
144
3
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

My husband and I just returned from a glorious 6 day stay at the Sonora Resort. This was by far the most luxurious resort we have been to and the accomodations, service, and food were out of this world. The chef prepared five course tastings every night and the presentation was superb! Each dish was a piece of art and a culinary delight! The staff was superior accomodating our every need and even prepared a basket of food for us when we asked to have our room mini bar replenished!

The island is very secluded (1.25 hours from Vancouver Island by boat and the resort is the only facility on the island) and is surrounded by some of the most beautiful wilderness we have ever seen. Seals and bald eagles were a daily sight as we viewed the beautiful area from our oceanview room or from the wonderful dining room. The Wellness Center and spa treatments were excellent and the mineral pools overlooking the ocean were so relaxing. We also went on an eco-tour and were fortunate enough to see dolphins and even a bear! Fishing, Grizzly Bear Tours, and other tours are available, but if you just want to relax and not do anything, that is fine too.

If you are seeking seclusion, superior accomodations, incredible food and over the top service, you will LOVE the Sonora Resort. I would highly recommend this incredible five star resort. We will definitely return soon!

Debi Otto, Ojai, California

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debi_Ojai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2009

From the time of booking to the last wave goodbye everything was absolutely perfect. Magnificient location, total luxury and yet casual, friendly... however extremely efficient demeanor which transcends to all of the staff. The food is absolutely divine, the activities well organized and you can truly relax and enjoy yourself as all of the thinking is done for you! We tried it all - salmon fishing, ECO tour, kayak tour, island hike, SPA - absolutely fantastic! This location was selected for my special birthday (the big one!) and it was truly the best ever!!!
Carol (and Jeff)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TorontoJerol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2009

My husband and I stayed at Sonora for 3 nights of our honeymoon. Our only regret was we didn't stay for longer, this place is absolutely suberb. When we booked we were concerned about the price, but it turned out to be worth every penny. From the moment you arrive to the moment you leave you are treated like part of the family, the staff here are exceptional and nothing is too much trouble for them, at the same time they are all so friendly and you could happily chat away to any of them. The resort itself is in the best setting, I could have happily sat in our room overlooking the water watching the seals and eagles for hours. I don't think I have ever seen anywhere so stunning in all of my life. The food was amazing, it was fine dining in the evenings we had the tasting menu every night which was consistently excellent (although you could have a la carte if that was your prference). My husband and I are real foodies (we got married at Le Manoir) and this was the real deal and boy do they feed you! Breakfast was a choice of cooked or /and cold buffet, at lunch you could go for three courses (generally we didn't as we saved ourselves for dinner although I can recommend the Sonora burger!). We were also lucky enough to be there when local legend, chef Umberto Menghi was staying and he cooked one night, which was a fabulous added bonus (and we can heartily recommend his restaurant in Vancouver). That being said the resident chef, Matthew is also premier league, his arctic char was a particular favourite of mine.
During our stay, (when we could tear ourselves away from the restaurant!) we went on a two hour ecotour. It was just us and our tour guide Aaron who was excellent and so knowledgable about the area, we got to see eagles, seals and dol porpoise up close but also see lots of areas of interests. The water itself and the rapids were something by themselves!
A lot of people go to sonora for the fishing, we didn't try this but had some very good reports from other guests.
The weather for us was mixed, one day was very rainy but there was so much to do in the games room and on the tennis court we didn't find this a problem, in fact it made for some wonderful photo opportunities. I was also going to try the spa, as it looked fantastic but didn't have time in the end which was a shame.
Our room was the highest quality with the most comfy bed and the turn down service every night was a nice touch. It had a complimentary bar which was fully stocked with proper sized bottle of wine and spirits- we didn't really use it a lot as the drinks in the bar were mostly complimentary (try the cocktails!) but were told that it would be restocked each day. There was also a phone in the room on which you could make complimentary calls (including international!).
For us, Sonora was the perfect honeymoon destination. There is absolutely no negatives, this place is the lap of luxury in the most beautiful setting. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BC_lovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

There are many wonderful places in this world that have their own unique appeal. You will find it hard to beat this resort. At Sonora they have found a fantastic location and made it perfect by employing only the best staff. They are truly happy to meet you, personable and extremely knowledgeable. Even the boat ride to the resort was memorable, great scenery and a few killer whales to great us. At the resort we watched dolphins swimming by, seals hanging out and 100's of bald eagles. Too much to see in such a short time, we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparrowlakeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
267 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2009

My wife and I did not know what to expect from our first ever reservation at a wilderness resort. Sheer luxury, levels of service and personal attention we have never known in any hotel, cuisine worthy of international recognition, and a location beyond compare - this is what we found. The hotel is transforming from a conference/business hotel into an upmarket personal holiday resort and is making a fine job of doing it. Adding Relais & Chateaux to the credentials helps manage expectations which are truly exceeded. Nothing is too much trouble, the optional activities are extraordinary,the food is exceptional (try the tasting menus!!) and the bedrooms luxurious. The location helps and the widlife on the doorstep (bears, dolphins, eagles and more) make this an experience to savour.. If a few days of pampering is what you are looking for, you will struggle to beat this !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Peter084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2009

Imagine a grizzly bear tour in the morning and an indulgent spa in the afternoon! Nothing short of magnificent - service, food, rooms and an array of nature outings that will amaze you. This should get 6 starts, not merely 5!

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aGolfaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
25.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
4.0 of 5 bubbles 942 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 14 in Campbell River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing