We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have pick a more incredible place to relax for our Honeymoon!!”
Review of Sonora Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sonora Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“We couldn't have pick a more incredible place to relax for our Honeymoon!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Our experience at Sonora Resort was absolutely priceless. This luxurious resort is above 5 stars in our eyes. The staff and food was fantastic. The island was full of natural beauty, fabulous views and breathtaking wilderness. The tours were adventurous and relaxing: Fishing, Grizzly Bear watching & Eco-tour. The wellness-center and spa services were excellent. The mineral pools and hot tubs overlooked the water & were surrounded by nature -- truly spectacular. We were spoiled and pampered for 4 days/nights. We are already planning our next trip back.
Sonora and Staff — Thank you for the experience of a lifetime!
Suzanne & Ricky

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skincare23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    13
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
161
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2010

I booked our trip to Sonora after finding it on the web and then confirming it's quality on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. It had everything (and more) than one would expect from a hotel that is in the Relais and Chateaux guide. From the moment you arrive until the moment you depart it is first class all the way!
We went for 3 nights in early September and the fishing was great - in fact, one of the days we were out on the water an all-time record for the area was set - a 72lb Chinook was pulled out of the water in Denham Islet! It was very exciting to be a part of such a monumental experience!
Our fishing guide was Henry - very experienced, professional, knowledgeable and friendly. Not only did we have a great time and experience, but we learned a lot about the area and salmon fishing in general.
The food was outstanding - hats off to Anna who looked after us for our 3 dinners and the morning breakfast staff as well.
If you like fresh Dungeness crab - this is the place for you - ask to see the cage they have built under the dock, it doesn't get any fresher than that!
The resort facilities were great - all exuded a warm and friendly atmosphere. We stayed in Yuculta 3 - a private and great room with wonderful views.
all in all I would highly recommend going here if you want the ultimate fishing experience combined with 5-star amenities.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kanuckian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 7 September 2010

This is the second time I've been to the resort, but my wife and her family have been every year for the last five. I just can't say enough about this special place. We've been to some beautiful spots, stayed in luxurious accomodations, and dined in fine restaurants around the world, but Sonora is...different. The food is consistently outstanding, the staff seem to look for a reason to go above and beyond at every opportunity, and the locale is without compare. I left envigorated and inspired. Congratulations and thank you again to the wonderful team at Sonora - especially Wayne and Donna.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thartl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2010

OK, so... this place is just Amazing!
We saw Killer Whales, Grizzly, Eagles...
We fished a 13Kg Salmon that was bigger than my 5 years old!
Hikes in the forest, relax in the very nice Coho Lodge (2 bedrooms with a shared living room- ideal for a family of 4).
Mini golf, tennis, pool...
What a beautiful and relaxing stay...

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

Our review of Sonora Resort would seem as though we just cut-and-pasted from the preceding reviews, so I'll make this short. The superlatives that have been used to describe the Resort are well-deserved. The accommodations, facilities, staff, cuisine, even the helicopter transportation, were first-rate. The activities were enjoyable for the non-fisherman (wife) and fisherman (me), as well as our nine year-old daughter (fisherman-in-the-making). Particularly memorable was the eco-touring by boat and sea kayak, highlighted by the narrated (thanks, Aaron and Albert!) viewing of orca, white-sided dolphin, Dall's porpoises, bald eagles, and harbor seals. We enjoyed our prior family trips to other B.C. resorts in Sooke, Pender Island, Parksville, and Tofino. This one exceeds all of them.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyneside
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

After reading all the amazing reviews of Sonora we did arrive with high expectations and it lived up to every one of them. From the minute you are met at the dock ( by name) the staff go out of their way to be helpful. The setting is amazing and the view from our room of seals, eagles and the tide coming in and out was breath taking. We enjoyed following the well- marked trails and a swim in Florence Lake is well worth the effort of getting in!
We must have been the only people there who were not going fishing ( not the first choice for a vegetarian!) but the sea kayaking was great even for a beginner and the eco tour was two hours of excitement as we saw orcas, seals, a sea lion, dall's porpoise, eagles and even whirlpools. The food lived up to its reputation. We had enjoyed the more "basic menu" for our first two nights but my husband wanted to try the six course tasting menu .... as we were taken to our seats a personal menu was produced for me with six vegetarian dishes on.... I have kept the menu as a souvenir ......
This was five days of luxury in awesome surroundings. I doubt that anywhere we stay in the future will compare.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauraGTyneside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We went to Sonora with the whole family (children of 17, 8 and 3) to celebrate my wife's birthday and it has been an incredible experience. I travel 220 days per year and have seen many hotels and resorts but Sonora Resort is the best.

Amazing site and infrastructure, great activities (we did the glacier picnic, the eco-tour and sea kayaking), superb food with a very decent cellar... and an amazing staff: friendly, professional, attentive... just perfect. So, thank you Sean, Dona, Daniel, Rebecca, Stan and all the others for an unforgettable stay and we cannot wait to be back...

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJSKAYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonora Island
24.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#1 of 16 in Campbell River
277 reviews
25.0 mi away
Coast Discovery Inn
Coast Discovery Inn
#3 of 16 in Campbell River
339 reviews
23.1 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
April Point Resort & Spa
April Point Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
411 reviews
18.1 mi away
Brown's Bay Resort
Brown's Bay Resort
#2 of 15 in Campbell River
89 reviews
23.8 mi away
Whiskey Point Resort
Whiskey Point Resort
#2 of 2 in Quathiaski Cove
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonora Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonora Resort

Property: Sonora Resort
Address: Sonora Island, British Columbia V7B 1W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > British Columbia > Sonora Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sonora Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sonora Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This B.C. Wilderness resort is an absolute jewel amid one of Canada's most alluring, pristine environments. Sonora Resort is where uncompromising eco-adventure travel meets luxurious accommodations, unparalleled service and five star facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sonora Hotel Sonora Island
Sonora Island Hotel
Sonora Island Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing