We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“French cuisine at its best”
Review of Cabier Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Crochu B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“French cuisine at its best”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Bruno's is an absolutely must visit when in Grenada. We went twice and each time the food was fantastic. The is a gastronomic journey to be taken at a leisurely pace. On each visit we arrived at about 11am and had coffee before walking down to the beach for a swim. The bay is very safe for swimming with no sudden depth changes or strong currents and the sand is fine and golden. After a swim it's time to sit down for lunch - make sure you are hungry because there is a lot to eat. The presentation is beautiful and the idea of four or five small starters each with its own distinct but complimentary flavour is brilliant (the dessert follows a similar format) and sits perfectly either side of a sumptuous main course. We went for the fish menu each time (with a request for lobster on our second visit) - this place gets 5 stars and more from me!!

Room Tip: If you are not staying you need to book a table in the restaurant in advance and make your choice be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

This restaurant is set above the sea with mango and orange trees around a lovely relaxed dining terrace and bar. The couple, Iris and Bruno who run the place are friendly and welcoming as are all the staff. She is Austrian, he is French and we were told that Bruno, the chef, has Michelin starred experience. Certainly the meals were delicious with the emphasis while we were there, on very fresh local fish with soufflés and warm chocolate puddings straight out of the oven. He gave away the high standard of his cuisine when he described how he has learned to adjust his dishes to please the varying palates of visitors of differing nationalities. So happy were we with his fare that we did not venture elsewhere!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This is the perfect place to stay if you want a low key alternative to the busy resorts in the south west corner of the island. The hotel is idyllically situated on a promontory between two classic tropical island beaches fringed by palm trees. You are guaranteed an amazing view as all rooms look out over the sea and access to the beach on the northern side of the promontory is unlikely to take more than about a minute from your room (down some steps). This is the Atlantic Ocean, not the Caribbean, but the water in March was as warm and clear as you could wish and you can often have the entire beach to yourself.

We ate in every night of our week’s stay and the food was consistently brilliant. Bruno is a high class chef and what he serves up is classic French with a Caribbean twist. There’s only one menu each evening, which suited us fine; infinitely preferable to a large choice of dishes which will be taken out of a freezer and microwaved! Iris and Bruno are wonderful hosts and the atmosphere of the hotel generally is relaxed and friendly. Iris arranged for us to hire a car and, while we enjoyed touring the island, we left wishing we had a bit more time just to chill out at Cabier.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jandj45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Vincent and the Grenadines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at Cabier, Bruno & Iris are fantastic hosts, Bruno gave us an excellent day tour of Grenada, at evening meal we were served the most amazing food, one night we had 3 lobsters which were the nicest we had ever tasted.
Would highly recommend cabier.

Room Tip: Check where the dogs sleep at night, as we notice they sleep outside one of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A bit off the beaten path, Cabier's provides a wonderful alternative to the more developed western side of the island. We split our week on Grenada between Grand Anse Beach and Cabier's and, while there's undoubtably appeal to Grand Anse, the seclusion of Cabier's and the eastern side of the island is precious.

After a beautiful drive across the island (the views of the rainforest are stunning), we wound down a pot-holed road for 10 minutes before arriving at the gorgeous grounds of Cabier's. Two adorable dogs and a donkey made us feel both welcome and aware that we were staying at a different kind of hotel.

The pace here is a little different. You feel like you're at Bruno and Iris's house -- we chattered away with each of them as well as the two other couples couples staying there. There's no menu -- you just tell them you're interested in having dinner on the following day, they pick up ingredients in the morning, and their wonderful staff serves you an amazing 5-star, multi-coursed dinner of Bruno's imagination -- and he's a damn good cook.

Definitely rent a car as Cabier's is a great base for exploring the east side of the island. Grenville and its farmer's market provides a slice of island life that's less impacted by tourism, Belmont Estates and Rivers Antoine are must-sees, and Levera may be the best (and certainly is the most secluded) beach on the island.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at Cabier Ocean Lodge. We stayed there over the Christmas and New Year's holiday. Bruno and Iris were wonderful hosts. We cannot say enough good things about Bruno's cooking - it was amazing! We looked forward to dinner every night and couldn't wait to see what wonderful dishes Bruno was creating. The staff at Cabier were amazing! Seriously, we have never stayed any place where the staff have been more friendly and helpful than they were at Cabier. One of the locals who worked there, Joseph, brought us fresh coconuts and almonds. Cabier has its own secluded beach and the staff will set up chairs for you if you like. And as a bonus, if you like dogs they have 3 wonderful and friendly dogs. We loved going down to the beach and playing with Lassie. We hope to come back to Cabier in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melisse3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenbury Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What a wonderful and happy wedding we experienced for our daughter, Bryony, at Cabier.It was a stunning location. Bruno, Iris and all the staff were so helpful with the preparations and Bruno's food was amazing! Thank you all for the dance lessons!
We enjoyed a relaxing week after the wedding and so enjoyed the variety of well balanced meals.
Thank you Bruno, Iris and all the staff for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margiethorneycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crochu
12.4 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
9.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
9.8 mi away
True Blue Bay Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
9.1 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabier Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabier Ocean Lodge

Property: Cabier Ocean Lodge
Address: Crochu Road 1 | Cabier Beach, Crochu, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Andrew Parish > Crochu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crochu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabier Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive hideaway is peaceful and quiet, situated on a stunning rocky outcrop between two secluded bays. Our intimate Lodge offers 10 bedrooms including a Vila, Studios, Apartments. Grenada's average daily temperature of 31° C (87°F) combined with a sea breeze is very suitable for spending a relaxed Caribbean holiday. No special vaccinations necessary. Our sandy beach is kept clean and bathing is safe for children with good swimming and offshore reef protecting it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Cabier Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabier Ocean Hotel Crochu
Cabier Ocean Lodge Grenada/Crochu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing