We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly fabulous restaurant in a stunning location”
Review of Cabier Ocean Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cabier Ocean Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Crochu B&B and Inns
Camberley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly fabulous restaurant in a stunning location”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

What a find! We were a party of 6 adults staying at the Two Bays Villa close by and decided to take our meals here for our entire 5 night stay. The restaurant & Guest house are run by Iris & Bruno who are absolutely lovely, along with a very friendly, efficient team of staff. Every meal was a delight! Bruno is an excellent chef who creates amazing dishes using locally sourced ingredients. Superb quality, reasonably priced in a beautiful location. Prior to the meal we were offered drinks & nibbles at the bar, allowing you to mingle with fellow diners. I can highly recommend the cocktails, especially the rum punch! If you want a tour of the island then Bruno's your man for the job. He will tailor your tour to your requirements & provide a very fun and interesting day. Will definitely return some day, truly fabulous!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Guest house but instead at the Two Bays Villa close by, also managed by Iris...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merlin562014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    37
    8
    3
    5
See reviews for
11
88
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I are just back from 11 days where we stayed at the Two Bays Villa that is managed by Bruno and Iris at Cabier. There are no real restaurants close to Cabier so we decided to eat all of our dinners and most of our breakfasts there. What a delight it turned out to be. Bruno, Iris and their staff took great care of us the entire time. They really have put together a staff that was friendly and brought a real heart to care for their guests. The locally grown food was delicious with fresh veggies and fruit which is somewhat unusual to find in the Caribbean. Many meals included some creative and delicious twists of well known dishes but prepared with unique ingredients found on Grenada. Every need we brought to their attention was addressed promptly which can sometimes also be unusual in the Caribbean. The location is fairly isolated and the views of the bays and ocean truly beautiful which resulted in one of the most relaxing trips we have ever taken. The lodging at the Villa was clean and well cared for, the bed was very comfortable and the location is relatively isolated. The beaches on Grenada are very nice and it is not hard to find one where you are the only people on the entire beach or sharing it with one other couple. This island is really a place where the Grenadian people live the way they have for several decades. There are things to do on this island but they are more oriented to getting a glimpse at different businesses or seeing a geographic feature like a waterfall.

Overall we had a lovely trip because the villa was clean, the views and beaches were beautiful, the staff made you feel very at home, and the food was delicious. The other guests we met at dinner and breakfast were a true delight and being able to share our vacation with folks from Switzerland, Germany, France, and the UK was an added joy.

Cabier and the Two Bays Villa are a gem wrought out of a very rustic Grenada. The closest other restaurant is a 15-20 minute drive. The road from the main road to Cabier is part dirt and part paved. Each are heavily rutted and full of pot holes. The walk between the villa and Cabier is about 100 meters on the dirt road. The villa does not have any screens so even with rigorous and diligent precautions (sprays, bug coils, Thermocel bug repellant systems, closing the villa up at dusk and keeping the lights outside on until last) you cannot help but being bitten by no-see-ums and the occasional mosquito. This is an island not developed for tourists but one where you can experience the way the Grenadian people live. The snorkeling is disappointing. While there are a number of wrecks for scuba diving the reefs and sea life for snorkeling is very limited. They have taken to putting statues underwater to create snorkeling attractions as a way of making up for the limited shallow sea life. If you want to sit in cafe's, shop or have world class snorkeling Grenada is not the place to go.

If you want to relax, enjoy beautiful and uncrowded beaches and explore the fairly rustic lifestyle of the Grenadian people then this is the place for you and Cabier and Two Bays Villas are excellent choices!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CabierCrochu, Owner at Cabier Ocean Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
"Whilst this guest appreciated the natural and rustic beauty of Cabier, it is in a rural and natural environment and we try to keep our environment as natural as possible, so we do not douse the surrounding vegetation in spray to kill the bugs that enable other species to make it their habitat as well. This is in any case, including using screens, is not effective, as the small bugs that caused a problem for this guest will get in or be around whatever external protection is used as soon a front or terrace door is opened, even if one is in a hermetically sealed air conditioned room. It is the same in any tropical environment, rural, resort or urban; bug repellent, wearing the proper clothing, and using the mosquito nets provided at night will avert this problem as it does for most of our guests as it is little commented upon.

Our road down to Cabier is a bit ropey, unfortunately that is down to the government as it is not our road, and it does not go anywhere other than to Cabier so improving it is not a priority for an island economy although we continually try to get parts of it improved. Having said that it is perfectly usable and is used daily by locals and guests alike. Likewise the walk to the Lodge from Two Bays is either an unmade road or a grassed road. We try not to have lots of tarmac around.

Grenada is not a sophisticated island which explains the absence of waterfront cafes, but it has a lots of other natural charms to be appreciated for the guest who is looking for the unspoiled Caribbean, particularly away from St George's in rural areas such as Cabier, as indeed is mentioned in our guest's review who overall enjoyed his time in our rural and beautiful surroundings."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kassel, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Cabier is an excellent lodge and much more than that. The rooms are big, clean and very comfortable. The beach is directly in front of the lodge and accessible by guests and locals. It's great to get in contact with other people.

One of the hosts is Iris, she is lovely and was always listening when we had questions. She is assisting whenever you need help. Also, she and the whole Cabier team love animals and take care of many different species which wouldn't survive otherwise. There are donkeys, opposums, owls, turtles, monkeys, lambs, chickens and even more. They have to declare it as a zoo, but in reality it's mostly a home for endangered or ill animals.

There is a restaurant which attracts many visitors from the whole island. The other host is Bruno which acts as the main cook. He is very friendly and an excellent cook. If you book dinner you get a three course meal which could be from a five-star-restaurant. Also, we loved that every meal was a surprise. None of them disappointed us, every course was just delicious. The breakfast is also very good.

The guests are lovely too and very sociable. We spoke with many guests, had interesting talks and exchanged experiences.

Bruno also makes regular tours and is known as an excellent guide on the whole island. Make sure to attend one of these if you plan to stay longer! Worth a visit are Seven Sisters Waterfalls, Grandetang Lake, Rivers Rum Factory, a Nutmeg factory and the Chocolate Estate (Belmont). But there are also many other things to see on the island.

In total, everything was a pleasure and we would recommend this lodge without hesitation.

Room Tip: The Honeymoon room is great: large, clean and comfortable. But it is one of few rooms without a kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alper_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful holiday in Grenada. It's hard to describe the Cabier Ocean Lodge experience, it has so many facets.
The accommodation is varied; we stayed in their basic guest house room and it certainly was basic and very casual and maybe wouldn't suit many holiday makers as we all become more and more used to high standards of facilities and furnishings. However the bed was comfortable and sleeping with the fresh air blowing through the screen protected louvre windows, being able to watch the swaying palm trees outside and listen to the constant sound of waves and wind was so incredibly relaxing I am finding it hard to settle down again at home.
We had breakfast and dinner every day in the restaurant. The food was all locally sourced fresh produce and was consistently very interesting and delicious. Most of the time we could eat in the outdoors area overlooking the sea which we really enjoyed, the occasional rain shower meant we had to retreat to more sheltered but still pleasant surroundings. There was a bar on decking outside where we often spent the hour before dinner trying out the cocktail menu. Here we met other guests and swopped news and travel ideas. The Lodge is small and the guests a mix of ages, nationalities and interests, added to this the staff, also a mix of ages, nationalities and interests, and the unusual collection of rescue animals helped to make the holiday an unusual combination of being incredibly interesting and super relaxing. There is plenty to do on the island and Iris and Bruno helped us with arrangements and Florence and Gail helped us with information. We hired a jeep for three days and had some adventurous touring in the north. We took the bus to St George's which in itself was great fun and had a sociable time in the market there. We went on Bruno's Spice Island Trip with other guests at the Lodge; what a full day that was with visits to see cinnamon bark being stripped, the fish market in Grenville, a very ancient rum distillery, chocolate making at Belmont, lunch at Aggie's, nutmeg processing and a waterfall.
For relaxing we loved sitting on the headland in the garden with a wonderful view out to sea, watching the waves and the birds.
We travelled twice to Grand Anse beach where the swimming was superb and there was plenty of shade under the trees.
This holiday had everything thanks to the unique nature of Cabier Ocean Lodge.

Room Tip: The rooms vary so there is something for everyone's taste
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Visited here in March 2014 after extensive research on somewhere quiet to visit, close to a beach and within a reasonable budget. Simply put, Cabier exceeded these expectations on every front.

The location - 40mins outside the capital, St. George's - is remote, but the bus service is frequent (and fun!), or there's always a taxi should you need it (approx US$45 to get into St. George's/the airport).

The accommodation has everything you'll need - it's clean, spacious, comes with a fridge, safe and enough stuff to cook with (if you'd rather forgo Bruno's excellent cooking in the restaurant). A short bus trip to a supermarket in nearby Grenville (EC $3.5) will sort you out for breakfast & lunch items (and cheap bottles of beer/rum).

The lodge has a great vista between two bays, and the terrace bar/restaurant is a lovely way to spend an evening. Cocktails are great (and strong) and the food is fresh and expertly prepared - what did you expect from a classically trained French chef?

The staff are friendly and welcoming and catered for every whim / found a solution for every problem. We had an excellent tour of the island with our host and could have done so much more - had we not been taken by the serenity of the place: the rooms are a stone's throw from a great beach - you may share it with one or two people at most, but more often you'll have it to yourself.


Would happily return

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Cabier is a great place to explore the eastern side of Grenada. Its more authenitic than the south and west of the Island, we were met with a cheery hello by everyone and chatted to so many Grenadians on route to the beaches, the towns and up in the villages. The restaurant is in a wonderful setting and the food is fabulous, tasty, interesting and although caribbean prices its a lot cheaper than other places we ate at. Some of the rooms are a bit frayed around the edges but they are spacious with verandahs overlooking the beach which is a mere few steps away. We styed a week and had no complaints and would have happily stayed longer. The small petting zoo there is actually a sanctuary and Iris has saved all of the animals from becoming either bushmeat or from major physical neglect. It is hard to see them in cages but the alternative is they would have been killed or in severe distress and here they are well cared for. Whilst there a few groups of nursery and infant school kids visited the 'petting zoo' so it is also educational and they get to experience the animals in a different way from their elders. Overall a fabulous Caribbean experience with great staff who couldnt have been more helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wanderwoman5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Bruno's is an absolutely must visit when in Grenada. We went twice and each time the food was fantastic. The is a gastronomic journey to be taken at a leisurely pace. On each visit we arrived at about 11am and had coffee before walking down to the beach for a swim. The bay is very safe for swimming with no sudden depth changes or strong currents and the sand is fine and golden. After a swim it's time to sit down for lunch - make sure you are hungry because there is a lot to eat. The presentation is beautiful and the idea of four or five small starters each with its own distinct but complimentary flavour is brilliant (the dessert follows a similar format) and sits perfectly either side of a sumptuous main course. We went for the fish menu each time (with a request for lobster on our second visit) - this place gets 5 stars and more from me!!

Room Tip: If you are not staying you need to book a table in the restaurant in advance and make your choice be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crochu
9.1 mi away
Rumboat Retreat
Rumboat Retreat
#1 of 1 in Saint John Parish
51 reviews
12.4 mi away
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
Petite Anse Hotel Grenada
#1 of 1 in Saint Patrick Parish
359 reviews
3.2 mi away
La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & Beach Bar
La Sagesse Hotel, Restaurant & B...
#1 of 4 in Saint David Parish
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Siesta Hotel
Siesta Hotel
#7 of 11 in Grand Anse
232 reviews
9.6 mi away
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
Gem Holiday Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in St. George's
134 reviews
7.5 mi away
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
Blue Horizons Garden Resort
#5 of 11 in Grand Anse
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabier Ocean Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabier Ocean Lodge

Property: Cabier Ocean Lodge
Address: Crochu Road 1 | Cabier Beach, Crochu, Grenada
Region: Caribbean > Grenada > Saint Andrew Parish > Crochu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Crochu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabier Ocean Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our exclusive hideaway is peaceful and quiet, situated on a stunning rocky outcrop between two secluded bays. Our intimate Lodge offers 10 bedrooms including a Vila, Studios, Apartments. Grenada's average daily temperature of 31° C (87°F) combined with a sea breeze is very suitable for spending a relaxed Caribbean holiday. No special vaccinations necessary. Our sandy beach is kept clean and bathing is safe for children with good swimming and offshore reef protecting it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Cabier Ocean Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabier Ocean Hotel Crochu
Cabier Ocean Lodge Grenada/Crochu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing