We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Casa De La Luz
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Dona Lala(Tlacotalpan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Casa del Rio(Tlacotalpan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Florencia(Poza Rica)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Posada San Martin(San Andres Tuxtla)
View Hotel
Hotel de los Perez(San Andres Tuxtla)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel La Finca(Catemaco)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Catemaco(Catemaco)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel del Angel(Catemaco)
View Hotel
Reviews (23)
Filter reviews
23 results
Traveller rating
18
2
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
18
2
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsde la luzscreened porchthe kitchenhostgardenguesthousecasarafaeltown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 23 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a wonderful time in Tlacotalpan: it is an architectonic treasure. This might not be a large city but it is a small one--in other words, one has the time to experience everything at ease, every colour, shape, and column, including where one stays. In our case, a beautiful and spacious studio gave us a great start: comfortable beds, well-equiped (and stocked) kitchen, screened porch, lush garden, and beautifully furnished all throughout. One could say that the studio was a mini-Tlacotalpan since it has all the colours and textures in it.

Bill, our host, is a very warm, funny, and helpful person: he gave us the best guide on the town! I personally enjoyed his stories about the place; it really made "Tlaco" more enjoyable. Ask him to show you his art collection that includes his own photography.

Room Tip: The suite is great for the pace of the town.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

It was wonderful, after a long trip, to arrive at Bill's beautiful home. We would highly recommend the studio as a great place to stay. Bill was as welcoming as could be, sharing much about the town.
Tlacotalpan is truly a treasure!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tiamaria11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

we were looking for special and quiet place to stay that in someway "matches" the magical tlacotalpan. I always follow my instinct and we ask at a typical store a nice place to stay.
they gave us only this address ( casa de la luz ) and we go there at the very end of the day hopping that our "instinct" were right.
The place was wonderful !! and at the end we stay in a place surrounded by art, the house itself is a piece of art and we were very happy staying there that night.
Early in the morning Bill made us fresh coffee .
It really was a great experience !!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank jaime j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed in Casa de la Luz for 6 nights and truly enjoyed it. The apartment is spacious, open plan with a kitchenette, bathroom, two double beds, cable TV and nice screened-in porch. Air conditioning is a must because of the humidity. Everything was clean and comfortable. Nice beds. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the town center and Bill even allowed us to bring our dog. He is an excellent host and we would recommend his place to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoolia711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2010

We arrived unannounced and were delighted to find that the apartment was available. It is up a stone stairs from the courtyard. There are two double beds, a well equiped kitchen and best of all, a wall of glass doors that opens onto a screened terrace. We wakened each morning to see the canopy of palms and other trees that fill the garden. We spent a week and would have stayed longer if the space wasn't booked for Candelaria. We fell in love with Tlacotalpan, the village that time forgot, or so it seemed to us.
Bill is a host extraordinaire! He took us on a walking tour of town, orienting us and providing some fascinating history. One evening he went with us to a local restaurant that most tourists wouldn't even know existed. The food was delicious.
He was helpful in recommending things to see and do and finally in finding us a place to stay in Oaxaca. He even had our car washed.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lmdja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews