We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Accommodations with a Gracious Host”
Review of Casa De La Luz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa De La Luz
Ranked #2 of 6 Tlacotalpan B&B and Inns
albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Artistic Accommodations with a Gracious Host”
Reviewed 7 December 2009

Casa De La Luz is a great find for those wanting to experience Tlacotalpan. The accommodations are artist and practical...the best combination. Bill is a wonderful host who has good recommendations for sights to see and restaurants to visit. If you love early 19th c. Mexican architecture, it is a real treat to see so many unspoiled examples in this historic town.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanzonDancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    2
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cmercado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2009

La Casa de La Luz is an absolutely wonderful little place in a town that is northing short of magical! Tlacotalpan is a dreamy little place lost in time, and Casa de La Luz provides all the amenities (wifi, satellite TV, beautiful earthenware pottery and all the necessary appliances to make wonderfully fresh meals from the local market, etc), that make it easy to stick around for a while and get lost it time yourself. I intended to spend a night, but ended up staying for 4 days ...and would've spent much, much longer had that been possible!

The place is kept VERY clean and is located within several blocks of the town center. Most importantly, Bill (the owner) knows a lot about the area and is always happy to share his knowledge about this UNESCO world heritage site town. I certainly hope to return one day.

!Es un lugar precioso y me enamore con La Casa de La Luz y el pueblo de Tlacotalpan! !No hay duda que va a ser muy encantado con todo!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Walton Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2009

Casa de la Luz is a lovely experience in a fantastic Mexican town...Bill has done a beautiful job with this property and is a gracious host.. you could not find a warmer welcome in a more tropical setting....park your car and walk everywhere from this central location...Bill has all the recommendations for tours, local attractions, restaurants, etc....we have visited with him twice a year for three years as we travel throughout Mexico as travel writers...we don't normally offer kudos to bed and breakfast properties in Mexico but this little inn deserves them...

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank dunblak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oaxaca
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2009

I spent 10 days at Casa de la Luz in December and had a lovely time. The guest house is Bill's home so truly it was a 'home away from home' for me. My room was comfortable and clean, nicely decorated had a great view of the garden - really, a mini-jungle. The many screened windows ensured good air flow so I only had to use the ceiling fan minimally.

On my first day, Bill took me on a walking tour of the town. He has done a great deal of research about its history and had a story to tell about almost every building. Much more interesting than reading it in a guide book!

The location made it easy to take day trips to other towns nearby and again Bill had all the information about bus schedules, etc.

The piece de resistance was having Chavo and Chi Chi, the house cats, around. Beats an impersonal hotel any day of the week!

  • Liked — It's small and personal
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deniseinoaxaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tlacotalpan hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Rio
Hotel Casa del Rio
#2 of 2 in Tlacotalpan
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dona Lala
Hotel Dona Lala
#1 of 2 in Tlacotalpan
46 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Dona Juana
Hotel Dona Juana
#1 of 6 in Tlacotalpan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Estancias De Sotavento Las Mariposas
0.2 mi away
Luz de Noche
Luz de Noche
#3 of 5 in Tlacotalpan
3 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Blanca
Hotel Casa Blanca
#2 of 5 in Tlacotalpan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa De La Luz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa De La Luz

Property: Casa De La Luz
Address: Bernardino Aguirre #15, Tlacotalpan 95460, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Central Mexico and Gulf Coast > Veracruz > Tlacotalpan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Tlacotalpan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the UNESCO World Heritage Site of Tlacotalpan, Veracruz. We offer a suite with 2 double beds, full kitchen, and tiled bath. We also offer 2 rooms with baths, both with double beds. All rooms have satellite TV, air conditioning, and screened patios overlooking the tropical garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa De La Luz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing