We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Highlight in Ecuador +++ Condors & more +++ do not miss it”
Review of Hacienda Zuleta

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hacienda Zuleta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2009

If you travel to Ecuador, do not miss to visit Hacienda Zuleta for a few days. It will be your highlight.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pjprivat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
There are newer reviews for Hacienda Zuleta
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 223 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2009

Hacienda Zuleta has definitely been a highlight of our trip to Ecuador. Situated in a spectacular valley with mountains all around (which mostly belong to the hacienda), the hacienda itself is a stately home which nonetheless succeeds in retaining a very relaxed and personal style. We stayed in the "Escritorio" which is a very nice and spacious yet cozy room which has its own access to the lavish gardens. As usual, the fireplace is lighted every day around 5 pm so that the room is nicely warm when you return from your excellent dinner (including the hacienda's self-made varieties of cheese).

There are lots of activities around, including several miles of hiking trails and horse-back riding. The hacienda has more that 100 horses, and even we as complete beginners felt comfortable having a three hour ride to the condor rescue station. We were lucky enough to meet many members of the family who were all very nice and welcoming. All in all, a great experience we can highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankfurtExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2008

Every detail was taken care of, the manager is like a personal host without being overbearing, the food was excellent and service flawless. We went horseback riding, and they were the finest horses I have ridden (I'm not a rider, but have ridden at maybe 10 haciendas in South America, and these were incredible animals). We were there with our two young children, and while their primary market is not kids, everyone was very gracious about our tots. Would be an amazing place for people seeking a real get-away, such as honeymooners or folks just looking to relax. Expensive, but worth it if you can afford it. Since food and drink and all activities are included, it's not that much more expensive than other nice haciendas in Ecuador.

  • Stayed: April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank American_Overseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2007

We visited Ecuador and the Galapagos Islands in August. The whole trip was fabulous and we spent the last three days at Hacienda Zuleta. We arrived at night and really couldn't see much outside other than millions of stars. We were greeted by the manager and a big friendly puppy who followed my son around for the next 3 days( Much to his delight and my son is 16 and not delighted by much these days). The Hacienda's living room has a huge fireplace and is really beautiful with iron grill work and beautiful details. I kept expecting Zoro to come out from behind the fireplace. There was cheese (made at Zuleta) crackers olives and other little snacks along with wine fresh juice and water waiting for us when we arrived. (and every afternoon) We arrived late but they told us what the Chef suggested for dinner and if that was all right (same routine for every meal) Every room has a fireplace and our room also had a patio with a little cafe set for eating breakfast or just enjoying the scenery. The morning after we arrived I went outside and was stunned by the scenery. We were at 9,000 feet and everything around the Hacienda was higher,complete with a snow capped volcano. If you love horses then this is the place to go . About 100 fabulous horses and every imaginable kind of ride. They have their own breed"Zulentanos" which is a Quarter horse /Andalusian/ Thoroughbred cross. My son and I did a 8 hour ride ...4 hours to a lake and forest where there was no one but us and the Hacienda staff drove in (4-wheel drive) and set up tents and prepared a hot lunch and then we rode back. We also did a two short easy rides with my husband (who doesn't ride). We were treated as if we were guests in someone's home which in fact you are as the family still lives there on and off. I could go on forever but the food was fabulous, the people lovely , the horses amazing and they even arranged to have a masseuse from the nearest town come to the Hacienda as we were a little sore after riding for so long. I highly recommend the Hacienda if you love being outdoors, peace and quiet (no tv or video games) and if you are a Horse person this is Horse heaven.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bunsrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank periclesgallegosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016
Thank Andres H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernando P, Owner at Hacienda Zuleta, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Imbabura Province hotels
14.4 mi away
La Mirage Garden Hotel & Spa
13.9 mi away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
224 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hacienda- Hosteria Chorlavi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hacienda Hosteria San Luis
20.8 mi away
Hosteria Hacienda San Francisco
11.6 mi away
Hosteria Cananvalle
Hosteria Cananvalle
#3 of 15 in Ibarra
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Zuleta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Zuleta

Address: Angochagua, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Speciality Lodging in Imbabura Province
Price Range: £407 - £564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located only two hours north of Quito, Hacienda Zuleta is a family owned, 2,000 hectare real estate with colonial buildings dating back to 1691. Situated within a tranquil and fertile valley between Cayambe and Ibarra, you will have the impression that you have traveled back in time. The expansive Hacienda Zuleta grounds include a working dairy farm, cheese factory, trout farm, horse stables and an beautiful organic vegetable garden where most of our food comes from. We also manage an Andean Condor Rescue Center and the Hacienda is surrounded by three beautiful Andean communities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Zuleta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Zuleta Hotel Imbabura Province
Hacienda Zuleta Ecuador/Imbabura

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing