We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little cabanas nestled in a tropical garden steps from the beach”
Review of Hosteria Itapoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Itapoa
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This backpackers' paradise is a series of cute little cabanas, each with its own hammock on the porch, nestled in a tropical garden filled with birds -- across the street from the beach. The beds are comfortable, but we had to use the mosquitoe netting (we stayed in cabin #9). There's plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The pillows are typical Ecudorean (small and hard), and the towels are small and thin, but for $13/night including breakfast it's hard to complain. Breakfast is served in the thatched-roof cafe (which is also the wifi hot spot) overlooking the beach. The coffee is excellent, and the breakfast is generous: eggs, fresh rolls, juice and fruit. The proprieter, Maria, is friendly and helpful in arranging tours around town or to Isla de la Plata. Oh, and they make organic chocolate!

Room Tip: Cabanas #1, #2 and #3 catch more of ann ocean breeze than the ones at the back. #6 has a loft and a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Itapoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hostel is an ecological hostel,is owned by a Brazilian/Ecuadorian family that has house near the "cabanias" . Each cabania has room for 2, or 3 or 1 person, there is a shower with hot water and a bathroom in each room. There are also dorms house above the reception . There are nice terraces and hammocks out side each room,witch makes it really nice to chill out when your there.
I loved the place because its very simple, natural, full of trees and plants, the price is low and the breakfast,that was included , was really tasty... The owners were very nice and helpful,and they make also bike rentals and bike trips,and surfing lessons for a fair price... We really enjoyed our time in Puerto Lopez!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We went for whale watching in Puerto Lopez and completely by accident we found Itapoa. We stayed there for 5 nights so we had time to relax, do some amazing whale watching trips and I have to say our stay was excellent. A hot shower in Latin America is always priceless. Excellent coffee and real homemade organic chocolate. Actually the best I have ever had.
Raul, you have one the most charming places I have been to.Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I stayed at hotel itapoa with my girlfriend for 2 nights. All in all, it was a good experience, the rooms were clean and cozy. The upper rooms are good and very "roomy" so to speak; the outer cabins by the garden are even better.
The location is great, almost at the end of the main street by the shore, just a walk away from the beach. Centric, but quiet.

The only downsides are the kitchen, which is extremely dark and damp, and you have to share it with the family that runs ( and lives in ) the hostel, and the shabby surroundings, which include a school, full of screaming children that can be heard quite well in the mornings..so try not to sleep late, because you won't.

I would definitely go back anyway.

Room Tip: choose the cabins if you can!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarioJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This popular hostel is on the main street across from the beach. It's a pretty setting (gorgeous orchids!) with comfortable common areas and a great breakfast spot (breakfast is included in the price). We first stayed in the large tile building, which we liked quite a bit. I thought we'd like the cabins even more when we moved to one on our second night, but there was a lot of mildew in the tiny bathroom - definitely not as clean as the main building. The owner is very nice and accommodating. She offered to arrange a boat tour to Isla de la Plata the next day for a price of $40 pp, but we later found the same tour for $30pp in town (hint: you can bargain with the many operators!). Overall, Itapoa is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at Hosteria Itapoa for two nights, it's located right on the beach, less than a 5 min walk to nearby restaurants and the center of town. The hostel has a number of en suite cabins that were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was served overlooking the sea and included croissants with chocolate from the owner's cocoa plantation. The hostel itself feels very safe and the owners are extremely helpful, they arranged a boat trip to nearby Isla de la Plata which ran very smoothly. I would definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conkerpow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

We arrived at 5:15 in the morning, waking the owner up. She let us hang out in the reception area until some others checked out. This place is right on the beach, which was a major plus for us. The kitchen is not good at all...but if you are not planning on cooking thats fine. The breakfast that is included is nothing fancy, but you did eat it looking at the ocean. The internet connection was really bad when we were there - but perhaps this is just Ecuador. The lady that owns the place is really nice, and in general we enjoyed our stay there... its not a good place for meeting other travelers, as no one really tended to hang out. We also stayed one night at Sol Inn, which has a more younger backpacker feel to it. This place is great if you are looking for some quiet.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maxine01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
#3 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Itapoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Itapoa

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta y Abdon Calderon, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range: £21 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Itapoa in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador is in the center of Machalilla National Park, and only lies 20 meters (65 feet) from the beach. The hostel set in a charming area surrounded by lush grounds. Our hotel is family run and much of the proceeds fund the Itapoa Reserve Rainforest Project, paying for conservation efforts and programs to protect the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hosteria Itapoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing