We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax place in Puerto Lopez”
Review of Hosteria Itapoa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hosteria Itapoa
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Itapoa hostel is a little walk from the centre of Puerto Lopez, in a quiet environment. The place is not amazingly great but certainly good value for your money. We had a lot of rain during the days that we were there, so our cabaña was quite humid, but that's something you can hardly ommit in wooden huts. The staff was friendly, the room and bathroom was clean and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (117)
There are newer reviews for Hosteria Itapoa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

Most people go to Puerto Lopez to take a trip to Isla de la Plata - we booked the tour through the Itapoa hostel and it was fabulous. We saw all the wildlife we wanted and more, the guides and boat were very good, and there were snacks and lunch to keep us going all day. Very good value at $30 per head.
The hostel itself was fine, but we did have a few issues.
On the positive side, there was a nice little cafe to sit in for breakfast - which is included in the room price and is generous and fresh. The rest of the day the cafe claimed to be open but there was never anyone there when we looked.
The rest of the sitting areas we found a bit gloomy and uncomfortable. This might be partly to do with weather, as we visited during the time when Ecuador's coast is blanketed in clouds, and nothing looks quite so appealing when there's no sunshine.
Our two biggest bugbears were these. 1. The communal kitchen was revolting. We had to steel ourselves to use it. The fridge had not been cleared out for weeks, at least, and was very very dirty, rusty and full of rancid food. The whole place is in serious need of a deep clean. When travelling long term, kitchens are essential for many people, and they should at least have a basic level of hygiene. If hostels are going to provide one, there is no excuse for not cleaning it properly. It was also very dark and gloomy. And, inexplicably, it closed at 8pm - which meant everyone was rushing to cook, eat and wash up by 8.
2. The room prices given on the website are 3 years out of date, which I was told when I emailed to make a reservation. This is just really irritating, and so unnecessary. They know it is wrong, so why has it not been updated? I negotiated a price to somewhere in the middle, but it really would be fairer to everyone to put the correct price on the website, which is nearly double the rate currently stated.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeremyandpaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

It's a nice place. Had my own cabana. I think it was 18.00 or 15.00 per night, including breakfast and Wi-Fi. Pleasant people. It is a very hot, dusty town. This felt like a bit of a refuge. It was also carnival time so even though it is down the beach a bit, I still had to endure the boom, boom of all night bass in town. But otherwise it's a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

I arranged a room at Itapoa by e-mail. When I arrived 2 days later I was informed that there was no longer a room for me, due to a problem with the bathroom. At this point, they just suffered some bad luck, and I didn't hold them at fault in any way. The lady at the front desk was apologetic and told us if we returned tomorrow they'd have a cabana for us. So we booked a room down the street and returned the next morning.

When we returned there was another person working at reception. They didn't know our situation and had no idea if they had any vacancies. She proceeded to walk us around the premises checking to see if cabanas, which were clearly occupied, were vacant. After about 15 minutes of this she told us she didn't have any vacancies.

I understand that technical problems can occur but they should have been honest with us about vacancies as it would have saved us a lot of time and hassle. Thankfully, we ended up finding a cheaper place down the street in a better location (Hostel Frigata).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlhaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This backpackers' paradise is a series of cute little cabanas, each with its own hammock on the porch, nestled in a tropical garden filled with birds -- across the street from the beach. The beds are comfortable, but we had to use the mosquitoe netting (we stayed in cabin #9). There's plenty of hot water and good water pressure. The pillows are typical Ecudorean (small and hard), and the towels are small and thin, but for $13/night including breakfast it's hard to complain. Breakfast is served in the thatched-roof cafe (which is also the wifi hot spot) overlooking the beach. The coffee is excellent, and the breakfast is generous: eggs, fresh rolls, juice and fruit. The proprieter, Maria, is friendly and helpful in arranging tours around town or to Isla de la Plata. Oh, and they make organic chocolate!

Room Tip: Cabanas #1, #2 and #3 catch more of ann ocean breeze than the ones at the back. #6 has a loft and a...
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

The hostel is an ecological hostel,is owned by a Brazilian/Ecuadorian family that has house near the "cabanias" . Each cabania has room for 2, or 3 or 1 person, there is a shower with hot water and a bathroom in each room. There are also dorms house above the reception . There are nice terraces and hammocks out side each room,witch makes it really nice to chill out when your there.
I loved the place because its very simple, natural, full of trees and plants, the price is low and the breakfast,that was included , was really tasty... The owners were very nice and helpful,and they make also bike rentals and bike trips,and surfing lessons for a fair price... We really enjoyed our time in Puerto Lopez!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We went for whale watching in Puerto Lopez and completely by accident we found Itapoa. We stayed there for 5 nights so we had time to relax, do some amazing whale watching trips and I have to say our stay was excellent. A hot shower in Latin America is always priceless. Excellent coffee and real homemade organic chocolate. Actually the best I have ever had.
Raul, you have one the most charming places I have been to.Thank you

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#4 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
Punta Piedrero Ecolodge
#3 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
66 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
567 reviews
0.6 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Itapoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Itapoa

Address: Malecon Julio Izurieta y Abdon Calderon, Puerto Lopez 131950, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Puerto Lopez
Price Range: £21 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hosteria Itapoa in Puerto Lopez, Ecuador is in the center of Machalilla National Park, and only lies 20 meters (65 feet) from the beach. The hostel set in a charming area surrounded by lush grounds. Our hotel is family run and much of the proceeds fund the Itapoa Reserve Rainforest Project, paying for conservation efforts and programs to protect the rainforest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Itapoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing