We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“expecting more” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atamari Hosteria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Puerto Lopez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atamari Hosteria
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Lopez
Monza, Italia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“expecting more”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

a little bit disappointing. People are not careful at all. there were many people for so many guests. the swimming pool was dirty, cabañas had a wonderful view but smell like humidity and there were not so clean. breakfast included but very poor and people who serve are not careful at all. we had dinner there one night and it was not so good. We had to pay new year dinner even if we didn't take.
few light in the night and far from Olon. the view is very nice and the environment is also pretty if they care about it a little bit more.
we were expecting more from pics we saw on internet.

Room Tip: ask for the room next to the entrance are less humid and more comfortable. look like news
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbrefe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    9
    10
    4
See reviews for
7
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

This resort has a great view of the ocean and has lushly planted grounds. But, it is in severe disrepair. The rooms are musty and dirty; the blinds in the room are broken; the shower has cracked tile; the walls need repainting; there are no bed linens, just a small comforter and a hard pillow. The grounds need a lot of work.
We met with the owner and found that the resort was over 20 years old. There must be a money problem with maintaining what once was probably a very nice facility. The pictures on the Internet must have been taken a long time ago.
When we arrived, it was late afternoon and because the resort was very remote we needed to have dinner there. The Chef had gone for the day and the 2 girls who checked us in said they could prepare us dinner. After many conversations and checking on the food supply, they determined that they really didn't have anything on the menu but could fix us a small bowl of soup, a salad and saute a fish. We paid after the meal service so that we wouldn't be charging anything to our room. Our breakfast was included in the fare that our Tour Agency paid when they booked the resort for 2 nights.
The fact that we paid for the first meal became a problem at check-out. The Argentinean girl, who is the manager and who was not present when we arrived the first night, tried to bill us again for the first night dinner, saying that we had not paid. This turned into a major upset. The Argentinean girl locked the front gate so that we couldn't leave and threatened to call the police. Thank goodness our guide from Latin Frontiers had arrived to take us to another location and was able to handle the issue for us.
We spent 24 days in Ecuador touring from Quito to the Amazon to Banos to Cuenca to Vilcabamba to the beaches and never had such a bad experience as we had in the Atamari Resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Judy454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puerto Lopez hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Rancho Cucamonga
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I really enjoyed the spectacular view of this place. It felt like being in a jungle and the coast at the same time. The only problem was there seemed to a strange feel about his place. Maybe because we were the only ones staying here at the time and the person that checked us in was not expecting us (we reserved three bungalows prior to our arrival). She did take care of us and offered us dinner but we really didn’t feel comfortable there. I am not sure I would stay there again unless they put the effort into really caring about their guests.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbarsi_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

An absolutely spectacular view from the cliffs atop the property. The rooms, though nice, felt a little worn and run down. Service was friendly but not attentive. Overall, just a very strange stay at the Atamari. There is a lot of potential with this property but it currently is not being managed to its potential. We would recommend visiting the property for a drink around sunset to enjoy the stunning views, but we would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnetonka, Minnesota
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Atamari has the best view of anywhere we stayed on our whirlwind trip up and down the Ecuadorian coast - 5 different cities in 5 nights. It's on the cliffs overlooking the Pacific with a view of Ayampe as well. The rooms were adequate but nothing to brag about. The night we stayed the woman who is the receptionist/cook/bartender/anything else was more than friendly but her boyfriend/staff were not. They helped us with luggage and we never saw them again during our stay - I feel sorry for her since she has no help apparently. It's also got a bit of a creepy feel to it but maybe that's because of the very remote location and the fact our host clued us in on the fact they all know it's haunted in some way. Bring your bug spray too!

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw had great ocean views so I don't know that there is a bad one on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tahoe
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

This place is actually on the cliffs overlooking Ayampe' just 20 minutes south of Puerto Lopez and much quieter and nicer than downtown. We highly recommend it. Staggering views, impeccable service, beautifully maintained grounds, awesome swimming pool and fantastic meals and drinks. You'll need a car (about 2KM off main road). The locaton means you won't hear any traffic (unlike most places in Puerto Lopez and Montanita). They keep the gate closed and locked so be sure to book in advance and let them know when you are arriving, or look hard for the bell to the right of the gate to call them to open it, unless you have a cellular to call them. The place looks exactly like the web site (for a change!). We loved our room #2 because of the views and size/comfort of the room. Note it's at the end of the water line, so if pressure and hot water are important, choose a different room. We were so happy with everything else, we didn't care about that! A young Argentine couple are managing/running this place for the Argentine owner. The couple cannot do enough to make your stay fantastic. They are what makes Atamari great!

Room Tip: there isn't a bad one, period. Pick whether you want to look north up the coast or south down t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tahoeskierTahoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Lopez
9.3 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
9.1 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
9.9 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
3.2 mi away
Tsafiki Hosteria
Tsafiki Hosteria
#1 of 2 in Las Tunas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
10.3 mi away
ME Hotel in Montanita Estates
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atamari Hosteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atamari Hosteria

Property: Atamari Hosteria
Address: Km 83 Via Santa Elena Puerto Lopez | 20 minutes from Montañita, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Puerto Lopez
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Atamari Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing