We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway spot away from beach attractions”
Review of Mantaraya Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mantaraya Lodge
Ranked #7 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Asuncion, Paraguay
2 reviews
“Great getaway spot away from beach attractions”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The staff was fantastic and really went out of their way to help with whatever we needed. They were knowledgeable of the area and gave great advice. The pool is fantastic as well as the hotel itself. The rooms are a little more on the rustic side (low-pressure showers) but are still well kept and have functioning air-conditioning. All of the upstairs rooms have great views of the ocean or the forest canopy. This is a great destination for those who want to explore the area at their leisure and don't want to stay in a busy surfer town. A great getaway!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karnold1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear karnold1979, thank you very much for your comments. we are glad you enjoyed our hotel. hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    31
    13
    6
    5
See reviews for
32
28
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guayaquil
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed here nearly 9 years ago on our honeymoon and went back for a couple of days recently. It’s looking slightly worn it must be said, but it’s still pretty bloody lovely….great patio and gardens, and large cool stone-floored rooms with AC , fans and balconies. Spectacular views of dry forest hills and Pacific…plus lots of birds who spend a lot of time dive-bombing insects from the pool. Food was good…nothing fancy, but fresh and very well-cooked. It used to be quite an exclusive hotel by all accounts but seems only slightly more expensive than other places in Puerto Lopez which are really quite grotty. You really need a car…it’s a good 10 minute drive from Puerto Lopez….but you can get taxis out there fairly cheaply. If you’re looking to unwind and get away from people, this is a good ‘un.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tombolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear tombolton, thank you very much for your comments, the hotel is in constant maintenance; due to the site where its standing (right in the Machalilla National Park) it is a very hard job. But as you say it has its plus, being in this spot with incredible views and a pool with Jacuzzi and excellent food is priceless. Glad you enjoyed and be certain we will keep improving in our maintenance work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pookie46
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This beautiful Mediterranean style hotel is located a short taxi or cute Eco Pedicab ride from Puerto Lopez where sun and surf abound. The Hotel has great views of the ocean, the mountains, a great pool and hot tub, an excellent restaurant and bar with the greatest of staff. Diego the Manager is a great people's person and makes you feel right at home, Miquel the Bar tender is the best and the food was great. We wanted to take the cook home. It's an older Hotel but highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 15 is best for the view, Room 16 had a great ocean and mountain view and a lovely Hammock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pookie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Hi Pookie46, thank you very much for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed our hotel, and definitively the ride on the “Eco Pedicab” is a complete adventure. Hope to see you again soon; now in the whale and manta ray season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

This is far from Puerto Lopez to eat and relax as the hotel offers no long chairs and pool water is not clean. This hotel is overrated. Photos are false advertising that must change immediately. This was the most expensive hotel we booked in our entire visit(one month) and we were expecting at least equal or even better value than the others for the price we paid for (3 times more than any other newer and better kept hotels int the area) In let go state, poor maintenance, not clean, full of worns, cockrages and bugs, my daughter's friend woke up with many bites in his face.. and food especially breakfast which is included is terrible and doubtful. do not recommend this place at all and it the entire ground stinks. Most hotels in most civilized places clean continuously their place of animal droppings...

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martelu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Martelu, we are sorry you had this experience. We do offer long chairs along the pool, also great hammocks to relax. Pool water is cleaned daily, just went there and its perfect, just like the photos! We fumigate the hotel with friendly environmental chemicals due to our sustainable practices, we have to consider the hotel is the only one in the middle of the Machalilla National Park so there will be bugs, and sorry if this was an inconvenience. Food is always fresh and we have a strict cleaning process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Michigan USA
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

The plus about this place is that there is air conditioning, although it wasn't totally necessary when I was there. Dinner and lunch were not included in our package. The good was okay, but nothing special. I really disliked one of the fish I selected and did not eat most of it. The pool area is attractive; the folks that worked there were very nice, but there were many worms around the room. In the morning they removed them, but they quickly returned...most on the floor, but also on the toilet, walls, etc.

I tried 3 times to take a warm shower and was only successful once. Great if you like or need cold showers...burr! No hair dryers either. I did not like having to put some of my luggage on the floor as I didn't want to take any worms home.

There was a screen on my room 10 window, but it was disconnected in one corner, so I had to keep the window closed. The veranda was shared with my friends in the next room. I used it when I first got there and find it a nice asset.

Would have liked access to more than one TV. My computer only worked once after staff got it to connect. I could not get anything on my own.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jema813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Guest Relations Manager at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear jema813, it is a plus the AC. Especially in sunny season! Sorry about your fish plate, we buy fresh fish from the market. Because we are in the middle of the forest in the Machalilla National Park we do have a lot of worms, we fumigate with ecofriendly chemicals but these are not as effective as normal chemicals and we don’t want to cause a major impact on this wonderful forest. We work hard to get those bugs out of hotel premises. The hot water can be a bit tricky, we are working on this. The room 10 is perfect now! And we try not to have TVs as we like our guest to experience the Park itself. Hope to see you again soon trough Ecuador.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We checked out of Mandala and checked into here. What a difference! Although it is away from town, you can grab a small cab and be there in minutes. It reminds me of the Pelican hotel in San Juan Del Sur -- and the view, pool was lovely. Room was great and any issues were fixed immediately. Only downside was the lack of a coffee maker and lack of screens on the doors and windows.

Room Tip: We loved room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ohdoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Director of Sales at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Thank you very much for your review and great suggestions. We will make sure to have a coffee maker and screens on the doors and windows for your next visit . We are happy to know you enjoyed your stay at the Mantarraya Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smiths Grove, Kentucky
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Mantaraya Lodge is located just outside of Puerto Lopez, a 1 ½ to 2 hour drive from Manta. I spent from Dec. 23 to Dec. 27 at the Mantaraya Lodge as part of my travels with Adventure Life. When I first arrived I felt the Lodge presented better on the Internet then it did in person. In the time the property grew on me.

As I checked in I was able to move to a room with a better view. Each room consists of a patio or porch with hammock and chair. My porch floor did have bird droppings on it and I questioned just how clean the hammock was. The room itself was big, the bed could have been softer, and the pillows a bit fuller. Windows do have screens. So you can sleep with the windows open or the windows closed an AC on. The hot water is very hot. The pressure from cold water is limited, so it is hard to cool down the hot water.

The Lodge is located on a main road. So there are ocean views but no beach access. If you are wanting to hike you have to take a taxi to Puerto Lopez. I could hear traffic sounds from my room which was on the edge of the property.

Rooms are centered around a pool. There are tables to sit at around the pool and tables which are shaded and closer to the lodge. Meals were included and the food was good. The chef made use of lots of seafood. The office manager seemed to take an interest in both my comfort and satisfaction. He was bilingual.

The Lodge offers hikes, trips to areas of interest, and excursions to Isla Plata. On the way to Isla Plata the boat had mechanical problems. Lodge workers got us onto another boat and we were able to hike on the Isla. Afterwards we were offered special drinks at the Lodge. If something does not go as planned there is an effort by the Lodge to better the situation.

If you are looking for a place that is away from town, has a water view, includes a pool and onsite restaurant then Mantaraya Lodge is the place to be. You will have the opportunity to kick back and let time pass by.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs or elevated room for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RPWORLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Advantagetravel, Owner at Mantaraya Lodge, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Thank you for sharing your review with us, I really appreciate the feedback. Our commitment to customer satisfaction is pretty much what differences us from the competitors; we understand that a pleased customer is the best promotion for us.

I just wanted to let you know that the hammocks are normally placed in the balconies the day we have arriving guests, we take them down as soon as passengers checks out and we send them to the laundry as soon as a room become available. We try to keep them as clean as possible but we can't control the birds of the area.

I am glad that you have enjoyed your trip and we will be delighted to welcome you soon in the near future

Warmest Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puerto Lopez hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ancora
Hotel Ancora
#1 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
38 reviews
0.0 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#3 of 7 in Puerto Lopez
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hosteria Mandala
Hosteria Mandala
#1 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hosteria Itapoa
Hosteria Itapoa
#2 of 23 in Puerto Lopez
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantaraya Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantaraya Lodge

Property: Mantaraya Lodge
Address: 2 Km from Puerto Lopez on the way to Salango, Puerto Lopez 593, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mantaraya Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Machalilla National Park is one of Ecuador's many natural treasures, a destination so unique and inspiring you will want to make it home. Some of the wildest, most spectacular beaches in the entire Pacific coastline, long-lost islands where iconic seabirds nest in their natural conditions, the beauty and mystery of both equatorial tropical rainforests and tropical dry forests, as well as transcendental archaeological findings, some of the oldest in all of the Americas, are only some of the reasons that make it so special. For over 10 years we have made it our primary goal to offer the highest quality services in an ecological gem like Machalilla and the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast. We have combined exciting excursions that bring you closer to nature and local communities, with peaceful accommodations, awe-inspiring views, ample rooms, and excellent food. Our idea is to offer the ideal springboard for discovering the many attractions the area possesses. We inevitably work to create environmental awareness through the celebration of nature, wildlife and ecological diversity. We understand the impact that any venture leaves at its wake, and thus offer a sustainable operation without compromising our quality service. Our venture is certified by Smart Voyager, as well as Rainforest Alliance, guaranteeing our green and responsible practices. And we do it because we love what we do. Once again, welcome to Machalilla, the Ecuadorian Pacific Coast, the fascinating province of Manabi... Please let us know how to best accommodate your needs, we're here to help you discover this special corner of the world in all its glory. We're looking forward to your visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Mantaraya Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantaraya Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing