We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected beautiful place in Puerto Lopez”
Review of Hosteria Mandala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hosteria Mandala
Ranked #1 of 14 Puerto Lopez B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An unexpected beautiful place in Puerto Lopez”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Mandala is a unique place in Ecuador. The botanical garden is beautiful, the food is superb and Maja and Aurelio are the friendliest owners. We stayed at the "sea lion" (a superior matrimonial room) which we can recommend. It's a large cabin with terrace, hammocks, three beds and a spacious bathroom. We stayed two extra nights, because we did not want to leave the relaxt atmosphere and great food.

Room Tip: We stayed 4 nights at the sea lion and 1 night at the frog, because the sea lion was booked. We can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tys123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    426
    103
    11
    4
    6
See reviews for
116
273
37
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

this was an incredibly unique place to stay. the rooms are spacious as were the bathrooms the outside porches or a place you never wanted to leave. You were surrounded by lush gardens with so many varieties of plants. It is a bit of a walk into town however many people stayed close to the lodging. The restaurant only serves guestd staying there however we would have liked to be able to eat there when it was necessary to move somewhere else due to no rooms available to extend our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julesatpeace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Unique place on the beach, lovely cabins scattered in a botanical garden, each one decorated in a different way by the hotel owners, a Swiss-Italian couple that does their best to make all guests feel at home, and has a lot of eye for detail.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Hosteria Mandala has everything you need to have a enjoyable, carefree stay while in Puerto Lopez. The individual cabins are top notch in every respect. The surrounding gardens and grounds are beautifully designed to give you a natural experience. The ocean is right across the street with a long and wide beach to immerse yourself in.
The on site restaurant serves food all day long and is very good. In this main building housing the restaurant is a lodge, game room (foosball, air hockey, pool table, etc.), library (books and DVD's), botanical garden, TV room and a general lounge area.
If you are going to stay in Puerto Lopez, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joetrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We loved the place!
We were 13 adults and 6 kids, and this place was perfect for all of us. The owners were very friendly. The food was great and very tasty. The rooms are large, but not so clean. It doesn't bother us because you are on the beach all the time
I definitely recommend this place

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank isabelllllllp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
317 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

According to us, Mandala is losing its charm a little bit. It seems a little less tidy than before and staff is a little less interested and servicial than it used to be. Maybe it was because the owners were travelling abroad when we stayed at Mandala, but we didn't feel as 'at home' as years before. Also, there are more alternatives in Puerto Lopez now that seem to offer a better price/quality ratio, as in for example airconditioned rooms and breakfast included where Mandala offers fans, and charges extra for breakfast. If you like a little 'hippy' atmosphere and are not to keen on cleanliness Mandala is still OK. We would consider other options next time in Puerto Lopez

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EduardUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Locating the hotel was a difficult task. Google Maps does not have Hosteria Mandala in the proper location, GPS wasn't unable to locate it, Tripadvisor maps was not helpful. We cruised up and down the beach. My husband was terribly irritated, he was convinced that I was scammed, and the hotel didn't exist. I assured him, it did. We had been everywhere but north, so we set off in that direction and low and behold tucked away from the rest of the fishing village, Hosteria Mandala has its own oasis.

Check in was a little tricky since we arrived early, but I got it sorted out. We were in the room called Galapagos. The grounds are lush and it's a bit of a maze to the various rooms. We got ourselves turned around on the first couple trips. The room was large and nicely appointed. There was no A/C, even with the fans it warm to sleep. Also, the mosquito nets above the beds are not for show. You need them!

We had a late breakfast in the restaurant before hitting the beach. The food was pretty good, but service suffered. For a while, we weren't certain if we'd be served, just when we had nearly given up the waiter appeared. Breakfast is not included with your stay. Meals and drinks are ran on a tab for the duration of your stay. Beers were cold and eats were pretty good, especially enjoyed the homemade white bread and ice cream.

The hotel has private cabanas for guests, and hammocks are available. We picked up two and strung them up and barely moved the rest of the day. Heaven. I greatly appreciated that Jill offered some aloe from the garden when we had too much sun; it really soothed the sting of our sun burn.

Overall, we were pleased to find perfect place to during our trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juhl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Puerto Lopez
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pacifico
Hotel Pacifico
#2 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
0.7 mi away
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
Piedra del Mar Hotel Boutique
#1 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostal los Islotes
Hostal los Islotes
#3 of 6 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Hostal Kundalini
Hostal Kundalini
#1 of 10 in Montanita
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
Hotel Hosteria Nantu
#4 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monte Libano Hostal
Monte Libano Hostal
#2 of 14 in Puerto Lopez
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hosteria Mandala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hosteria Mandala

Property: Hosteria Mandala
Address: Manabi, Puerto Lopez, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Manabi Province > Puerto Lopez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Puerto Lopez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hosteria Mandala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hosteria Mandala Hotel Puerto Lopez

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing