We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DeVine was simply devine!”
Review of De'Vine Escape

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
De'Vine Escape
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“DeVine was simply devine!”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had an amazing time staying at DeVine Escape recently for our wedding, where we hired out all 23 rooms. Jo had the courtesy to call a few days prior to our stay to inform me of a planned power outage in the entire region, which would inevitably impact our day. So to ensure we would have no dramas with hair/makeup preparations (which required power), DeVine supplied us with a generator and a couple of bottles of bubbley! Talk about going above and beyond! Our stay was absolutely magnificant and our guests also had nothing but kind words to say about their stay too. We would highly recommend them and look forward to our next stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrAllyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank-you for your lovely words - what a gracious, beautiful bride you were - it was the very least we could do for your special day! (We were also very pleased that SPNet did not take long with their power outage)
Big wedding bookings can often be a challenge co-ordinating but you were always in good hands with Jo our Front desk Manager - she has everything running smoothly so that the bride and wedding party can enjoy the day to the full.
The DeVine Team would like to wish you all the very best, and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    85
    29
    14
    7
See reviews for
17
137
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

This was a great little hideaway in a fantastic area of the Yarra Valley. The staff were friendly and very helpful, and the room, while quite minimalistic was very spacious and comfortable, with wonderful views of the vineyard behind. The deal came with a few vouchers to local businesses which were very well received. Breakfast was served in the adjoining winery which was only a short walk but unfortunately it was raining while we were there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PebCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our setting and had a great stopover on the way to Melbourne. We love to help guests make the most of their stay by visiting our neighbours and getting a taste of our Valley hospitality......only sorry to hear it rained during your visit, but that is often Summer in Melbourne for you!
We hope you had a great time away and returned home feeling refreshed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay at De'Vine after spending the day at the Yarra Valley wine tasting and dining with friends. Our room overlooked the surrounding vineyards, very quiet and peaceful. Breakfast at Ferguson's was great. Highly recommend this place. MM Melbourne

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 464MariaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank-you for your great review - really glad to hear you had a lovely time in our peaceful surrounds. Melbourne is blessed to have such a gem tucked away like the Yarra Valley - not too far away for that special little getaway! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have just arrived home from a mini break (overnight stay) at De'Vine. It was a lovely spot in a quiet area of the Yarra Valley, lush green vineyards and spectacular rolling hills. We had a deals.com voucher which entitled us to a few extra special activities included with our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by a gentleman who was very polite and extremely informative. We were asked what we would like in the way of our complimentary bottle, red, white or bubbly. We chose bubbles, he apologized though as it wasn't cold, which was a little disappointing. Also, as a suggestion perhaps instead of a t-shirt he could have dressed in a polo shirt which would have just been a little more professional, first impressions count. We collected our vouchers, put the bubbles straight into the fridge so we could enjoy it later, we noticed the sign above the fridge said that complimentary water was provided so we didn't bother to check for it, as I assumed it was around somewhere, and therefore we also didn't pick any water up in town. We headed straight off to Hargreaves Hill Brewery for our complimentary beer paddle tasting. We also ate a late lunch/early dinner as we were a little worried that after having a few drinks we would be stuck without much options being that Fergusson's and Mandala were closed for dinner, even though when we booked we saw that the only day that Fergusson's was closed for dinner was Tuesday, not Sunday.The food at Hargreaves Hill is highly impressive, definitely worth a meal here! We then headed to Corniola Wines for our wine tasting, great couple in Vince & Lucy, very welcoming and friendly and their wines extremely good. We chatted for a while and ended up buying 6 bottles and got our discount which was great. We arrived back to our room to open our champagne and there were no champagne glasses. We drank out of wine glasses anyway. Later on when we needed the water it was nowhere to be found. We boiled the kettle and had to make do. The bed was super comfy though and it was a good nights sleep, the curtains need sorting though, the light comes through really bright in the gaps. We dropped the key off in the morning and were not even asked how our stay was? Just told to enjoy our day. We ate breakfast at Fergusson's which was incredibly average, tough bacon and cold baked beans. We visited the winery tasting part and enjoyed our chat with the lady there who was very friendly. All in all we enjoyed our break away from it all, but there were just a few improvements that need to be made.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank-you for your review, we take all feedback seriously, as negative comments can be most damaging to our family business.
Our DeVine management team work hard to ensure all our guests get the maximum value & experience opportunities during their stay in the Valley. Our office is well stocked with current tourist brochures, and 'extras' we provide are exclusive and only possible by the strong relationships we build with other Valley operators.
The Deals.Com package we put together was exceptional value and it surprises us to see you rated it 3 out of 5.

To recap, here is what you received for only $159 ;
*A Sunday night stay for two in our 3.5 star rated (by AAA Tourism) studio Queen room with views of our 10 acre well maintained vineyard. (If you were to research accommodation in the Yarra Valley you would find most places will not offer one night stays and require you to book a minimum of two nights with average costs being from $400 +)
*FREE cellar door wine tasting at 2 Wineries in walking distance
*FREE bottle of wine
*FREE cooked breakfast for two @ Ferguson's Winery Restaurant
*Several VIP discount vouchers -
Your Corniola Wines voucher saved you $17 off your purchase (!5% off)
Hargreaves Hill voucher saved you $10 on your free beer paddle
Ferguson voucher saved you $50 on your cooked breakfast
(And please keep in mind that you bought your deal online with a company that take out their own sizable commision on your purchase.)

Our response to issues you raised as follows
Sunday arrivals can often be a housekeeping challenge when all our rooms are occupied Saturday nights, waiting for guests to depart (often well after the 10am checkout time), removal of rubbish, dirty linen, dishes etc then getting the rooms clean and made up for guest arrivals by 2pm. This is also part of Ross (our Sunday front desk person's) job, and on a 35 degree day he can be forgiven for changing into a cooler work shirt. We do understand about 'impressions' which is why Ross has DeVine logo-ed Polo shirts normally. If we were a 5 star airconditioned building in the CBD your comments would be understandable but we are country folk working under the elements of Summer with a huge job to get done after a busy weekend. Ross is an asset to our Team and our guests love his warm welcome & knowledge of the Valley.
Your missing bottle of water & preference of champagne flutes could have been easily solved just by asking at our office, Ross was on site till after 5pm, or we have an after hours number for onsite guests.
Due to high occupancy Friday and Saturday nights the sparkling wine proved popular over the hot spell - it was a job in itself keeping the fridge restocked - Ross had already sincerely apologised that the bottle you were gifted had only been refridgerated 10 minutes prior to your arrival - we did have fully chilled Chardonay or Sav Blanc available.
We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your breakfast at Ferguson Winery, as while the breakfast was free as a Deals.com guest, DeVine are actually invoiced and have to pay for them. We are separate businesses, different owners, so we will pass on your comments to their management.
It was nice to hear you had a good nights sleep, enjoyed our setting, and delighted you made full use of the vouchers we provided - all this is part of the adventure of staying in the beautiful Yarra Valley with DeVine Escape.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

All I Can say is great place to stay in the Yarra Valley Great Staff, Great rooms and great Breakfast at Ferguson's. The first person I Met was Jo and she was great and very very helpful.
All over EXCELLENT and relaxing.
D.M. Sydney

Room Tip: Just go and experience the quietness and the relaxed surroundings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JP3775, Guest Relations Manager at De'Vine Escape, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write your holiday review - so glad to hear you had a great time with us! Feedback like yours gives us great pleasure and is a reward in itself - but also good to share with other travelers. We love to hear you also experienced some good hospitality while dining out at our Valley neighbours restaurants, so nice for you to take that experience back home to Sydney to share with friends and family. We hope to welcome you back again sometime for some R&R!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macedon, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a lovely, relaxing stay. Our room was comfortable and the views were superb. The receptionist was really helpful and gave us a great dinner tip for "Dixon Creek Cafe Bar & Grill. Breakfast at Ferguson's Winery was terrific. The setting was an oasis of quiet right within easy travelling distance to the highlights of The Yarra Valley Region. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: All rooms had great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marillian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights as part of a deal we purchased. Nice place to stay with a nice view of the vineyards. Room was comfy, although the bed was a double bed was a bit small . Overall lovely staff and a nice, quiet & peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tan_lans89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dixons Creek
9.5 mi away
Yarra Valley Lodge
Yarra Valley Lodge
#1 of 1 in Chirnside Park
537 reviews
4.4 mi away
Chateau Yering Hotel
Chateau Yering Hotel
#1 of 1 in Yering
331 reviews
17.3 mi away
Oscar's on the Yarra
Oscar's on the Yarra
#1 of 3 in Warburton
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Balgownie Estate Vineyard Resort & Spa
2.1 mi away
Araluen Boutique Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Leafield Cottages
Leafield Cottages
#1 of 7 in Yarra Glen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De'Vine Escape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De'Vine Escape

Property: De'Vine Escape
Address: 68 Wills Road | Yarra Valley, Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Victoria 3775, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Yarra Valley > Yarra Glen > Dixons Creek
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Dixons Creek
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — De'Vine Escape 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DeVine Escape is unique in the Yarra Valley, as it is set on a 10 acre working Vineyard, right in amongst the vines! With 23 Studio rooms available it is an ideal ,as well as beautiful,place to stay after special occasions & celebrations with family and friends. Our neighbours at Fergusson winery restaurant offer delicious cooked breakfasts, and weekend meals, upon availability and booking with our reception before arrival.All rooms have a spacious ensuite, private verandah and the facilities provided by most 3.5 star rated properties. Our reception is open from 9am till 5pm daily, we carry local information/brochures/maps of places to visit, as well as sell kiosk snack items and soft drinks.All Rooms now have new flat screen digital televisions installed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your De'Vine Escape reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De'Vine Escape Dixons Creek, Australia - Victoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing