We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill is located just 46klm from Melbourne in a small township just north of Yarra Glen on the Melba HighwayWe're open seven days a week at midday for lunch and dinner with breakfast available every weekend between 8 and 11:30am. Our comprehensive local wine list has been selected to complement our steaks, seafood, pizza, pastas and salads; choose a Yarra Valley wine you haven't tried before, or sample our local beers and ciders on tap. We're a watering hole for thirsty bike riders, truck drivers, families on holiday, locals and commuters. Whatever you're after - whether you're just grabbing a quick coffee, taking the family out for dinner, or looking for a place to hold a birthday party - you'll be glad you stopped by at Dixons Creek Cafe.
1 review
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Great food, large servings and great prices! Really nice deck out the front and very friendly staff. Will certainly return many times!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TurboDave07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments, we always strive to be consistent with our food and service and hope your future dining experiences are just as good.as this time. Best regards Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    110
    14
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't feel this lived up to the reviews”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were in the area after visiting the Healsville Sanctuary and wanted a nice place for a light lunch and some wine. In hindsight I wish we'd looked more closely at the vineyard restaurants in the area, but the reviewing for this restaurant were so good that we decided to give it a try.

I don't want to make it seem like we had a poor experience, but I didn't feel like the food was anything special and our server completely forgot to bring an order of wine we'd made at one point. The food was good but not spectacular, and the prices were pretty good.

It might have just been an off day, but if we're ever in the area again I feel like we're likely to try some place else.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Strangebrewfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our venue with others, we have always promoted ourselves as a more casual and less expensive alternative to the fine dining wineries in the area. As you suggested we may have had an off day or a new staff member on who forgot your drinks. We will share your comments with all our staff members to ensure our service improves as we value all feedback both good and bad. Thank you Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great dining experience”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly service. Price is affordable. My hubby ordered the mixed grill/steak and the meat were cooked to perfection. I also enjoyed the atlantic crispy skin salmon that I ordered. We also ordered the prawn cutlet which was good. The only criticism that we have would be the dip that came with our prawn cutlet and salmon. The mayo was ok but would have been better if this was tartare sauce.
But overall, our dining experience was great. I could say this is a good alternative to the pricey winery restos in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cri-t-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Hi and thanks for the feedback, I'm not sure what happened in the kitchen as you certainly should have received tartare sauce with any seafood meal and not mayonnaise.I am pleased your overall experience was positive with us and thank you for taking the time of sharing your experience with other Trip Advisor members. Best regards Kristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Steak and good prices”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Steak cooked to perfection, nice wine from the area, what a great little spot, ate outside on the deck was just beautiful, friendly attentive staff topped it off.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rob0203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you, we are really pleased to hear you enjoyed your meal and our service, I appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with others. Regards Kristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good bar and grill”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Food was lovely, we had lunch and dinner here. Service very good. We stayed nearby and were able to walk home after a bottle wine!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Hi Debra B,
I'm pleased you enjoyed both lunch and dinner here. Sounds like you had a wonderful time in the Yarra Valley enjoying everything it has to offer. Thanks for sharing your experience with others. Best regards Kristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing