We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, Great Prices”

Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill is located just 46klm from Melbourne in a small township just north of Yarra Glen on the Melba HighwayWe're open seven days a week at midday for lunch and dinner with breakfast available every weekend between 8 and 11:30am. Our comprehensive local wine list has been selected to complement our steaks, seafood, pizza, pastas and salads; choose a Yarra Valley wine you haven't tried before, or sample our local beers and ciders on tap. We're a watering hole for thirsty bike riders, truck drivers, families on holiday, locals and commuters. Whatever you're after - whether you're just grabbing a quick coffee, taking the family out for dinner, or looking for a place to hold a birthday party - you'll be glad you stopped by at Dixons Creek Cafe.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Prices”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Really nice place, lovely fire going in the corner to keep us warm. Pretty busy which is a good sign, but enough staff to keep us attended to.
Food was tasty and well presented, far surpassing what you would expect from a cafe.

Would come here again without a second thought!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TenaciousDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi and thank you for the lovely review. We are always pleased to hear that our food or service surpassed our guests expectations and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other who use Trip Advisor. Regards Kristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    107
    14
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yarck, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great experience”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We had a large group eat here on a Saturday night which i imagine is one of the busiest days of the week. We waited a little longer than we would have liked for our food but otherwise we all enjoyed it very much. Food was really nice and reasonably priced and the service was great. I'd definitely recommend to anyone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Imagen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Hi and thank you for the review. Some times on busy nights the food takes a little long than we would like also, however we do try to serve everyone on the table at the same time which takes extra time to prepare in the kitchen. I'm really pleased that once the meals arrived you did enjoy them and appreciate the feedback as we are always looking to improve our service where ever possible. Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worst pizza I've ever eaten!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We wanted take-away pizza for dinner and unfortunately there aren't many options for this in the area. We considered another place, but at $24 per take-away pizza we decided against it. The price of the pizzas at Dixons Creek Cafe were very reasonable, but we were so disappointed and ended up wishing we'd just spent the extra money. The pizzas were worse than cheap, frozen ones I've bought from the supermarket and cooked at home. They were almost inedible! Maybe some of the other food is good, I can't comment on that. I also don't agree that this place is in any way suitable for formal dining. It looked like it belonged in the outback. I don't have an issue with this. It could actually give you a cute, campsy atmosphere for dinner. Just wanted to mention it so that people aren't disappointed. Again, if you do go, don't order the pizza!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lemaCheT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi, Thank you for your feedback regarding our venue and your takeaway pizza. We agree that we are by no means a fine dining restaurant and promote our selves as a casual alternative to the many wonderful wineries in the region. I am very sorry to hear that your take away pizza was so bad, I not really sure what has happened here but we do value feedback both positive and negative so that we can improve where ever possible. I can assure you that we will be looking into this further and appreciate your comments. Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice Casual place”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Four of us had a meal on Sunday night over the long weekend. It would be a lovely place during the day because the scenery is quite pretty. At night you really can't see anything. The food was nice but really nothing special. However, more reasonably priced than most restaurants in the area. the Yarra Valley is a beautiful place but most wineries charge quite a lot.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pedro_Collins68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Hi and thank you for your review of our venue and food. We have always promoted our venue as a very casual and less expensive alternative to many wonderful fine dining wineries in the area. Thank you. Kristina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Value and Good Food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

A lovely place to dine formally or informally in Dixons Creek. My husband took me here for my birthday and what a lovely surprise it was! The place was full which was a good sign for a Saturday night. The food was lovely and the dessert to die for! Will be definitely go back, maybe this time for lunch and we'll try the pizza. Highly recomended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank remingtonpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina1925, Owner at Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are very pleased you enjoyed your birthday dinner and for taking the time to share your dining experience with others. Kristina.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to Dixons Creek Cafe Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing