We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab cheese - forget the wine!”
Review of De Bortoli Winery

De Bortoli Winery
Book In Advance
More Info
US$97.14*
and up
Gourmet Vineyard Lunch and Yarra Valley Winery Tour from Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fab cheese - forget the wine!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We went on a wine tasting day - quite interesting although we are not really wine buffs so it takes a lot to impress us. The last one of the day was De Bortoli and it was by far the best visit of the day. There were some great wines to taste but accompanied by some fab cheeses which actually made the wine tasting sooooo much nicer! We don't spit the wine out so we are not proper wine tasters but if you want a winery that is a bit different, go to De Bortoli's. There is an interesting section in the entrance of how it started which, for those of you like me who like a story!, makes it come alive as an organisation as it has been in the De Bortoli family since the start. There is also a section of memorabilia which was also fascinating but I will leave you to find out about that when you go there........

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    39
    10
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Autumn Day Lunch”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

A very good lunch of wild barramundi fish prepared by head chef Adam Mead.
Side dish of greens was cooked to perfection.
The entree of antipasto platter,just wanted you to have more.
The staff were very friendly and pleasant,made you feel welcomed.
The Cellar has a large selection of wines for tasting and as it was a thursday, I had lunch,no crowds (but still busy) as one expects on weekends.
Great views of the wineries as the autumn leaves on the vines and trees are showing there beautiful colours before winter.
If going to have lunch,try to arrive earlier as you have the "run" of the restaurant (while everyone is wine tasting in the cellar) and you can select where you want to be seated.
If you finish your meal before the others you can always explore the wine cellar tastings and the gardens ...great view of the valley and vineyards.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gene I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prosser, Washington
Level Contributor
125 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Wines”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Delicious wines, cute tasting room with a fun cheese selection. Didn't have any food here, just tasted--all the Estates wines were fab. Highly recommend the Estates Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and sparkling--all terrific values for the quality.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank OSF35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Welcoming, friendly and knowledgable”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We dropped into De Bortoli with a friend from o/s and found that the staff and service were very friendly, helpful and knowledgable. For us, this topped off nicely a great day in the Yarra Valley.
I am no wine expert, but I know what I like when I taste it, and at De Bortoli, they appreciated that.

At so many other wineries there seems to be a pushed and stuffy expectation that one will "love" the wines on offer on the basis of a whole range of technical jargon. How is that fun?

This wasn't the case with De Bortoli, they were informative and relaxed. Our only regret is that we didn't take the time to try out their cheeses. Oh well, we will just have to go back. :-)

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank blazerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great wine, tasty cheese and lots of fun!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

This was by far our favourite winery, having visited a couple of others earlier in the day. Whilst we enjoyed a wine or two at the other wineries we liked a lot of the wine at De Bortoli - and in fact ordered a couple of cases between 5 of us. A perfect match with the wine tasting was the cheese tasting and the staff worked together to make the whole experience so much fun! So armed with cheese platter and tasting glasses we enjoyed the hour and a half we spent there. Tastings are $5 per person, which is deducted from purchases. There are beautiful gardens so you could also enjoy a picnic with some De Bortoli wine.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank TripleMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed De Bortoli Winery also viewed

Yering, Yarra Valley
Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley
 
Healesville, Yarra Valley
Coldstream, Yarra Valley
 

Been to De Bortoli Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing