We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homey comfort, hide-away serenity and wetland...”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Barbara B
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Homey comfort, hide-away serenity and wetland bird life in the beautiful Yarra Valley”
Reviewed 17 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

If you're looking for a hide-away in the Yarra Valley only about an hour from Melbourne, you couldn't find a better B&B self contained cottage than The Burrow at Wombat Bend, at Dixons Creek near Yarra Glen. The accommodation for two provides rustic homey comfort overlooking an extensive lake wetland which attracts many varieties of birds and other unique Australian wildlife. Breakfast provisions are delicious and more than generous, and full kitchen amenities enable self catering with ease. Sue and Bill offer warm and gracious hospitality, and are an amazing source of knowledge about the Australian bush and wildlife. Visit wineries, beautiful gardens, a chocolate factory, and a quick trip to Healesville sanctuary - there are copious things to see and do and places to eat. We love returning to The Burrow to rest and recharge in this lovely Aussie bushland setting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2016
Thank you for your truly lovely review and thoughtful comments ~ you've encapsulated everything and more that our guests love about The Burrow. We feel very lucky that you choose to come back so often, and on this occasion to celebrate a special anniversary.

We are glad that you were able to catch your breath after a seriously busy year, and we thoroughly enjoyed the chance for conversations on our many mutual interests, books included !

We'll look forward to seeing you again when city life gets a bit too much.

Happy Christmas ~ Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby_Scot...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Stunning location, wonderful stay”
Reviewed 29 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Stayed there for one night with my wife to celebrate our anniversary. One night simply wasn't long enough, the property is so beautiful and peaceful you really need more than one night to unwind properly! We had a wonderful stay though, Sue was absolutely lovely (even gave us an anniversary card on our arrival), the grounds were stunning and the food was delicious we honestly couldn't fault a thing if we tried. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking to get away from everything for a few nights.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
We were charmed to have you stay at Wombat Bend, and to have you celebrate your first wedding anniversary here was extra special ~ and we hope it will hold a special place in your memories. Thank you so much for your lovely comments, and I can assure you we'd love to welcome you again .. so would the King Parrots ! Our very best wishes for all your future years and lots of happiness to come. Sue, Bill and the Airedales (and the King Parrots)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S...
1 review
“A Perfect Sanctuary”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We stayed at The Burrows for a couple of days to celebrate our birthdays. The cottage is cosy, warm, inviting and the view overlooking the cottage is magnificent. Sue and Bill are wonderful hosts that put in much effort to see to our comfort and needs. We had a wonderful time lazing around in the cottage, walking around the beautiful grounds, feeding the birds and ducks, and playing with the two adorable Airedales Chili and Beckham. It is a sanctuary of peace and tranquil - a perfect getaway! We left the place feeling relaxed and refreshed. We could not ask for more!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Nov 2016
Thank you for such warm and lovely comments, and for enjoying your time here so thoroughly. It was such a pleasure to welcome you as our guests and to know that your special birthday celebrations were so memorable ~ and that your own lovely family had organised some surprises for you both. We feel very privileged that people choose to have a celebration of a special occasion here at Wombat Bend, and that your take-home memories stay in your hearts for a long time. Thank you for sharing time with us and for loving Chilli and Beckham too. They love being included! warmest regards, Sue & Bill, Chilli and Beckham.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggie L
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We came back from Hong Kong, truly a real Retreat again!”
Reviewed 11 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We kept missing this homely cottage since last visit in December 2015. With no regret in making the come back in 10 months, and wholeheartedly feeling stay at home sweet & relaxing home. We stayed 2 nights again this time, which is never enough for the reunion moment in seeing Sue, Bill and Airedale Terriers again. They always give you 5 stars warmest welcome gesture and provided all we needed for our stay. The cottage offers beautiful landscape view from inside, sound of nature music like hearing rain drop from the super comfortable bed at night, and birdsong wake up call in every morning! We hope to come back soon again.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The genuine Human Touch from Owners & Homely Cottage
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2016
It is such a great joy for us to know how much you love being here at Wombat Bend, and to welcome you home again to The Burrow is the icing on the cake. You are like precious family to us, and the Airedales are nodding in agreement.

To make the long journey once from Hong Kong to the Yarra Valley is amazing enough, but for you to choose it again in less than a year is just incredible. We do truly hope to see you once again at Wombat Bend ~ that will be wonderful.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKAbbott
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A true Australian sanctuary.”
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

If you’re looking for accommodation that will make you feel as though you’ve finally returned home from a long and arduous journey, then The Burrow at Wombat Bend is the place for you. The guest cottage is warm and inviting, the food generous and delicious, and the treed property, with its tranquil billabong, is a testament to a long-held vision and thirty years of hard work by hosts Bill and Sue, who are both genuine and welcoming. We couldn’t have picked a more perfect retreat for a quick getaway, the only regret being that it was quick, and we very much look forward to another visit. Just beautiful. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting, the tranquility, and meeting owners Bill Molyneux and Sue Forrester
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
There must have been some good spirits abroad that sent you our way, I think .. .. or the stars were aligned perhaps. Either way, it was a great pleasure to welcome you and, within a few moments of chat, discover layers of empathy in so many topics. To know that you felt immediately at home gives us even greater pleasure, and the icing on the cake would be to have you stay a little longer next time so you can immerse yourselves in the sanctuary that is Wombat Bend. Come back soon .... Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RafaelaGu...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Relaxing and cozy Nature Sanctuary”
Reviewed 4 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The first thing I told Sue when we arrived at The Burrow was "I could live here!"... Everything is so perfect! The place is beautifully decorated, with everything you need to cook, the bed is very comfortable and shower is good, with heaters all over the place, even in the toilet.
Just few minutes by car from many wineries and Yarra Glen restaurants, this is a perfect location, in the middle of the beautiful Yarra Valley!
There is an amazing view to the lake and you feel in the middle of the nature, waking up with birds having their breakfast on the balcony. Sue and Bill are amazing, they make sure to make your stay even more perfect. And there are 3 lovely dogs!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, but most about the nature.
Liked least: Nothing, everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2016
We did so enjoy welcoming you to The Burrow and to see how much you loved everything at Wombat Bend was a great pleasure for us. Your love of Nature and your sensitivity to the natural world is very heart-warming and very real. Thank you for choosing to stay with us ~ we would love to see you again, and of course so would the Airedales.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G
1 review
“Absolutely Magnificent!!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I LOVE staying at The Burrow!!! This was my second visit within a short time and I will definitely be back.
I recently went with my husband for a couple of days and then stayed on for the week by myself.
It is warm and cosy inside the cottage and has a magnificent view out over the lake.
Bill and Sue have created a haven. The birdsong in the day and sound of frogs at night is just wonderful.
And of course their adorable Airedale dogs are a complete delight!
It's the perfect retreat.
As well as enjoying walks around the property - I loved walking in the surrounding area - lots of cows, sheep and horses to say hello to!
Plenty to do in the Yarra Valley - but I preferred to just hang quietly at The Burrow.
Looking forward to returning soon.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2016
And you know just how much we love having you stay in The Burrow. Each time you come, you have immersed yourself in Wombat Bend, learning its light and shade, absorbing its ever-changing life, and finding all the quiet places in which to connect with the deep peace of Nature.

We are very much touched that you have connected in such a spiritual way with the soul of Wombat Bend ~ a 'retreat' in the best sense of the word, a place of restfulness, calm and quiet that strengthens one's own spirit.

We look forward to your call to say that you are coming back soon.
Sue, Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing