We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“do yourself a favour stay with Sue and Bill @ The...”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
terrancej...
Rosebud, Australia
1 review
“do yourself a favour stay with Sue and Bill @ The burrows”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

"Real World" experience, connect with this beautiful place and relax, unwind. Warm very cosy ,well equipped and catered for all your needs. Sue and Bill will make your stay a great experience They sure did for us Thank you both

Terry and Rhondda

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
what a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to send it. We so enjoyed having you here and seeing how much you felt at home and were able to relax ~ thank you for the great chats too. You really understood the nature of Wombat Bend beautifully.

We hope to see you again,
cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew S
1 review
“Perfect peace as nature intended”
Reviewed 24 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Not far from Healesville but you'd never know it, this 1-bedroom cottage, adjacent to but separated from, the owners' premises, features a wide balcony overlooking a lake that is simply teeming with bird life. Here's where we could both let the world fall away and tune back into nature or stroll around the lake to find a new vantage point. Once inside we were warm and comfortable with a well-stocked kitchen and a fridge generously packed with far more than the requirements of simple breakfasts. A big comfortable bed lulled us to sleep in no time. We've already rebooked. Thank you owners Sue and Bill.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Oct 2017
Thank you for such a warm and thoughtful review of your recent stay. It was so lovely to catch up again after so many years.

It was an extra pleasure and delight for us to see how much you immersed yourselves in the quietness of all the natural life that inhabits our sanctuary .. as much a place of retreat and serenity for humans as it is for our wildlife.

More and more, in a world of stress and anxieties, it is such a clear need we all have ~ to come back into the natural world and be still again.

We wish you could have stayed longer but are delighted that you will be back soon.

Cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stelef
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My husband and I chose to stay at The Burrow for our first wedding anniversary and it was such a lovely, relaxing and perfect way to spend a few days together away from everything. This was our second time at The Burrow and I'm so glad that we returned for another stay. The hosts at The Burrow are very friendly, welcoming and made us feel absolutely at home and comfortable within the beautiful and natural setting they have created. There are many extra touches to The Burrow that make it such a special place; delicious treats to nibble on, candles to light, gorgeous bathroom products, and not to mention the amazing billabong with beautiful birdlife. This is a beautiful property for taking a gentle stroll and breathing in the surrounds. I highly recommend staying at the Burrow whether as a couple or for some 'me' time. We can't wait for our next stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
It was such a pleasure to know that you wanted to celebrate your first wedding anniversary in the same place you began married life a year ago.... that has to be a good omen. We loved seeing you again, and hope that your memories of this weekend will be some of your most cherished. We'll look forward to a return visit any time you can make it!
cheers, Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGAustral...
Mornington Peninsula, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway weekend for all the family !”
Reviewed 1 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Got a few days up your sleeve .... ? Want to take your fury friend ...? Go and see Sue and Bill at their amazing hideaway paradise. We recently visited Sue , Bill and family at their mini eco wonderland with my fury friend Jordi who loved making new friends with all the extra four legged members. Quiet and peaceful with plenty of space for a dog to run around - knowing she was safely enclosed - which included long swims in the pond full of birds.
Also centrally located to a number of great vineyards and a short drive to catch ones own dinner ( Salmon and Trout farm) . We had a beautiful cottage stay with all you could want provided in the homely and relaxing rooms. Thank you Sue , Bill and pooches for such warm lodgings. We look forward to returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
We loved having you and Jordi to stay, and shared lots of laughs as we watched her marathon swims in the billabong ~ she really enjoyed it! Thank you for being such warm and friendly guests and we will be delighted to have you return again any time. Your appreciation of Wombat Bend was very heart warming, and thank you for leaving such a lovely note in our Visitors Book for others to read. We are lucky to have such great guests.
Cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DJBMW4eve...
Richmond, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect escape from the city!”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

From the moment we rode up to the gates we knew we'd found a slice of heaven! Staying at The Burrow was like catching up with long lost friends. Sue and Bill were so open, warm, friendly and knowledgeable. The cottage itself was well stocked, clean, cosy and comfortable with everything we could possibly need for our 2 night stay. Loved the scented candles and all the books! The 2 course meal with a local wine for dinner was delicious as were the more than adequate breakfast provisions and fresh herbs from the garden. The cheese platter, port and chocolates were a delightful surprise. The setting is stunning - a credit to the hosts. Lots of wildlife and picture perfect views An excellent location ideal for scenic motorbike rides. Will visit again - can't wait to see the dogs too!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2017
We loved our visiting 'bikies' ! Your obvious enjoyment and pleasure in exploring Wombat Bend was such a delight to see, and it was sad to say goodbye ... but hopefully not too long till you can visit again and do some more exploring.
So pleased you also enjoyed your Dine In Tonight experience too .. and fitted in some relaxing time as well as adventuring. You were wonderful guests !!
warmest regards
Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camper396...
1 review
“Beautiful Retreat for Couples”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Very cosy retreat for couples, generously catered for by Sue and Bill. Lovely atmosphere, quiet, relaxing and full of nature (birds, wombats and Airedale terriers!). Highly recommended! Look no further!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jul 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your weekend in The Burrow. We really enjoyed having you to stay here ~ and glad you were able to make the most of some rare time-out for each of you.

Just being able to slow the breathing and discover some quiet peace is very good for the soul..... something we find our guests really value here. We'll be looking forward to your return.

warmest regards, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gao P
1 review
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 6 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Wonderful place to stay if you want a lovely and peaceful holiday. It is a hidden gem in Yarra Valley, that can be a good base to explore the surrounding area. The house is very cosy, and the hosts are so considerate and friendly. We definitely recommend this place to others.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2017
It was such a lovely experience for us to have you to stay at the end of your trip to Australia. We hope you will indeed return soon, and also that the memories of The Burrow, the Yarra Valley and Healesville Sanctuary will provide many happy moments till we see you again. Safe travels !
warmest regards, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing