We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection”
other travellers have booked this property
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
A beautiful peaceful evening at Wombat Bend
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Dixons Creek, Yarra Glen, Yarra Valley, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
John L
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection”
Reviewed 21 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

The Burrow is at Dixon's Creek. The accomodation is a generous, one-bedroom house with all the amenities one could want. The supplies are generous and thoughtful and there is a wonderful supply of booklets on the activities of the area, wineries, art galleries, outstanding bush walks and hot-air ballooning for starters!

The proprietors, Bill Molyneux and Sue Forrester have developed the site from plain farming land to the outstandingly beautiful treed billabong beside which The Biurrow sits. They are experts in land care and knowledge of native flora and fauna. If that is an area of interest the The Burrow is THE PLACE you must stay. My wife and I will never forget the beauty there.

It is recommended without reservation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jan 2018
Thank you for your very generous review of The Burrow, and for making it clear how very much you enjoyed your experience here. It was such a pleasure engaging with your enthusiasm and keen interest in our environment, and to talk further on topics of mutual interest.

We loved having you, and congratulate your family in knowing just how perfect a Gift Voucher to The Burrow would be for your birthday gifts.

We hope too there may be an opportunity for another visit and more exploration of the Yarra Valley and its other treasures.

warmest wishes
Sue & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex M
1 review
“Peaceful dog-friendly writers' retreat!”
Reviewed 7 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

We spent a lovely night at The Burrow last week. Sue and Bill were so helpful and accommodating and really made us feel welcome. There was a lovely spread of food we could make for breakfast and we picked up our dinner from the local Dixons Creek grill. We spent a very peaceful morning and afternoon writing on the veranda and went on many walks around the beautiful re-vegetated property and dam which is full of waterbirds. It was no issue at all to bring our dog who had a great time trying to herd the ducks and got on so well with Angus and Beckham, the host Airedales! We would love to return in future - definitely highly recommended for writers in need of a bush getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Thank you so much for your great review ~ you managed to pack a lot in to a combination that fell into place so nicely .. a Gift Voucher from friends who clearly know you well, to The Burrow 'Writers' Retreat' that also welcomed your gorgeous canine pal !

We love knowing that our writer guests find their capacity for productive work is doubled, not diminished, by being surrounded by nature. I'm sure it's because as the body relaxes, and breathing slows, the creative senses rise to the top like cream.... and suddenly the words flow without effort.

We do look forward to your return .. plus a dog named Finn.

warmest regards
Sue & Bill, Beckham and Angus (yep, he can come back anytime)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barb W
Blackheath, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Calling all bird lovers!”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

My friend and I have travelled thousands of kilometres around Australia and we can say without question that our stay in "The Burrow" at Wombat Bend was the best holiday we have had. As a passionate "amateur" photographer it was a delight to be able to sit under a huge gum tree next to the Billabong and have the most magnificent bird life come and visit. The Burrow itself is a fully self contained cottage attached to but very private from the main home. It took no time at all to feel like you were in your own home with all the comforts.

Sue and Bill are the most generous of hosts and that doesn't just include the incredible gourmet food provisions that greeted us on arrival. We stayed over Christmas and New year and when our family visited from Melbourne they were also made to feel very welcome.
They are both extremely knowledgeable with respect to the wild life and the flora and we just loved the fact that they were so willing to share their knowledge with us.

We don't have pets but notice that pet lovers are welcome to bring theirs, however as dog lovers we did enjoy the company of the beautiful Airedale Terriers who reside at Wombat Bend and who were most discreet and happy to visit us from time to time.

We can highly recommend Wombat Bend as a place to unwind and totally relax. We've never experienced anything quite like it. As I said to my friend as we were driving home yesterday to the Blue Mountains - "We arrived at Wombat Bend as guests of Sue and Bill and left as good friends". We just can't wait to visit you again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you for your wonderful comments and warmth .. one of the privileges we have of welcoming guests to Wombat Bend is that we find new friends have suddenly entered our lives. We loved knowing you were happy and comfortable in The Burrow, and with the perfect weather we had over Christmas and New Year, you were able to spend so much time outside enjoying the birds, their antics on the billabong, their close-up visits to your veranda .. and immerse yourselves in the peace of Wombat Bend ... not to mention your evening ritual of bubbles by the water.

The many photographs you captured and shared are treasured; Wombat Bend is a paradise for photographers who are seeking 'wild nature' but because the birdlife is accustomed to our presence, they are not so shy and will allow a closer contact.

We were very sad to wave goodbye but we know you'll be back. Thank you for being such perfect guests and friends !
cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales (we love visitors!)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goodybyte...
Melbourne
2 reviews
“...and breathe”
Reviewed 3 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Smashing place! Was perfect for a sample of nature. Amazing hosts with a lot to offer. We were well fed and well rested. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2018
Thank you for your enthusiastic words ! it was great to have you stay and we are delighted that you found everything you wanted. We hope the memories stay for a long time ... cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kreimer20...
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Perfect Writer's Retreat”
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in September 2017

I booked for two nights, needing a quiet getaway to work on some book chapters. Wombat bend is just ideal - a cozy retreat in the most serene setting. It has everything a writer might need - high-speed Internet, desk, all the fixings for tea, quiet except for the vast array of birdsongs. Sue and Bill were generous hosts - providing thoughtful and yummy local treats and ensuring that I had everything I could possibly need. I was more productive in my writing than I had anticipated and will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
We are so pleased you discovered that Wombat Bend wears another hat .. as a Writer's Retreat. And delighted that you achieved all and more, so productively ... in spite of distractions of nature and wildlife just outside your windows.

What's even nicer is that you have booked again ! The pages will be flying off your printer ! we look forward to your return in the very near future.

cheers, Sue & Bill and the (quiet .. shhhhhh) Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
butchyau
melbourne, australia
1 review
“An inviting Aussie hideaway B&B treasure!”
Reviewed 8 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

A stay at Wombat Bend, Dixons Creek offers genuine Aussie comfort and hospitality in a homely mud brick and timber cottage. Located in the heart of vineyard country in the Yarra Valley, The Burrow is a self-contained one bedroom B&B overlooking a beautiful bird sanctuary lake, surrounded by rolling hills of farmland and grapevines, and only a short drive to Healesville and soaring forests, but only an hour and a half from central Melbourne. Sue stocks the kitchen more than generously with delicious breakfast provisions, and ensures that every comfort is catered for. If you want to know about Australian flora, fauna and birds, Sue and Bill are an enthusiastic and endless source of knowledge. We just keep going back for another perfect getaway.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your great review ~ we love that The Burrow is your favourite getaway and that you keep coming back. It's always such a lovely experience for us to welcome you back, and catch up on news and travels since last time.

Your appreciation of Wombat Bend is always so generous and warm, and you settle back in as though you'd never been away. It's like welcoming family home again.

We'll be looking forward to next time.
Cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
terrancej...
Rosebud, Australia
1 review
“do yourself a favour stay with Sue and Bill @ The burrows”
Reviewed 30 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017

"Real World" experience, connect with this beautiful place and relax, unwind. Warm very cosy ,well equipped and catered for all your needs. Sue and Bill will make your stay a great experience They sure did for us Thank you both

Terry and Rhondda

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Oct 2017
what a lovely review and thank you so much for taking the time to send it. We so enjoyed having you here and seeing how much you felt at home and were able to relax ~ thank you for the great chats too. You really understood the nature of Wombat Bend beautifully.

We hope to see you again,
cheers, Sue & Bill and the Airedales
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;