We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“well priced, cute, comfortable, clean and next to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tandamuki cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
vineyard view from the deck
Old kangaroo resting under apple tree
Our mini horses Casper & Coda
Fantastic crop of cherries
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Moonambel, Grampians, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
locosfc
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
304 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“well priced, cute, comfortable, clean and next to a private vineyard.”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Tandamuki is a well appointed and clean self contained 2 bedroom cottage. It has air conditioning mounted in the living area, however it is not enough to cool the 2 bedrooms so try and avoid staying when the mercury is in the high 30's which made it difficult to sleep. This was the only thing that stopped the rating from excellent. Having said that it was well priced, the breakfast hamper was delicious specially the organic eggs from local chooks and the beautiful home made jams. The cottage also has a combustion fire place which would make it very nice indeed in the winter season. The owners were friendly and attentive and it is located only minutes drive away from the famous pyrenees wineries. We would recommend staying at Tandamuki without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allan T
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You want the full nature experience? Here you have it!”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Where do I even start?

I have been to many road-trips to Rye and Phillip Island with large luxury homes but I can honestly say that this house has been my favorite road trip house.

It is cozy and cute and it has everything you need for a very affordable price. The house was so clean and organised which made finding everything to easy. From the utensils to the board games and magazines in the cabinet of the table. The windows also plays such a huge role in embracing the nature around the house. There are windows on the walls of the lounge room/kitchen that provides different types of great views, including the alpacas!

The endless stretch of the vineyard and the mountains in the background really nails that 'nature' craving that I had before I stayed here. The cute little patio in front of the house serves as an amazing place to eat and just to chill, especially at night where you can just sit down and look at the endless stream of stars.

The hosts Barry and Toni were also amazing. They were nice and welcoming and also provided us with complimentary wine, milk, eggs, juice, and bread! Like who does that anymore? I didn't even get any complimentary stuff while paying for huge houses.

This was an amazing place to stay, I'm very disappointed that I couldn't say bye to the hosts since they were out while we checked out.

Thank you for the stay, will definitely drop by again during autumn/winter time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We are happy that you had a good time and enjoyed the country. Look forward to seeing you in the cold weather for a very different experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gizmish
Richmond BC, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful overnight stay”
Reviewed 30 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I only have one complaint about our overnight stay at Tandamuki . It was too short! Toni and Barry are generous, welcoming and considerate hosts. The kitchen was stocked with everything you could possibly need, including home made jams and free range eggs from the Tandamuki chickens. The cottage is spotlessly clean, and the fire, already set for lighting made for a lovely cosy evening, enjoying our complimentary bottle of Barry's delicious Shiraz. We enjoyed seeing the kangaroos, who come into the vines right at the foot of the veranda morning and evening. This is an idyllic spot, and next time we visit, we'll be sure to stay longer so we can truly enjoy the peace and quiet of Tandamuki.
Thank you so much Barry and Toni!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful setting and the kangaroos, shetland ponies and alpacas
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFB
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Charming. Peaceful. Great Hosts.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed for cold winter 2 nights, having travelled up for the Dalwhinnie Lomg Lunch. The cottage is located on a small vineyard a short walk from the Moonambel pub. Lovely setting for this compact, lovely cottage. Barry and Toni are your hosts and in a thoughful gesture, had turns on the heating before we got to the cottage. The cottage has 2 bedrooms and a shared bathroom. Extremely clean and the kitchen has everything you're going to need for your stay. The fridge was stacked with breakfast goodies. The cost is modest for the quality and you're a short car ride to some wonderful vineyards. Do try Barry's Shiraz. It is a quality red and a steal at the price Barry will charge. Enjoy the wildlife as well. Shetland ponies, kangaroos and Llamas. Wonderfully peaceful and highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The peace.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks Micheal , its good to know people appreciate what we are trying to do here . Keep the Shiraz a little quiet , only 40 cases left of 2010 And I am enjoying it .

Barry & Toni
Tandamuki
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohnK446
Moonambel, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A gem of a cottage with excellent owners”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We have stayed at Tandamuki a few times now - often as a couple , sometimes with family members or friends. The cottage has everything you need for a relaxing stay and is close to a number of excellent wineries. Tandamuki also produces an excellent Shiraz that you can taste and purchase at the property

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the wonderful feeling of relaxation
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne E
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic B & B”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Thankyou for a beautiful cottage and all the breakfast provisions. Unfortunately it was such a quick overnight stay and didn't get to know the owners. Will definitely be back and would recommend others to stay there. Very clean and comfortable, couldn't ask for more. Thanks Leanne and Glen Western Australia

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We hope that your next visit will be a longer stay, just to relax and go home feeling rejuvenated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fen H
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A beautiful self contained cottage with stunning views- it was hard to leave.”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Quite simply, Tandamuki Cottage is one of the best self contained cottages we have ever stayed in. The views all around the cottage are stunning and sitting on the verandah, with a glass of the excellent Shiraz made from the vines outside the front entrance, is so relaxing. Inside every consideration to the guest's needs has been made. Breakfast provisions are generous, the wood burning stove is cosy in winter, the air con very welcome in the summer heat,the bed is comfy but it is the sense of peace and contentment that you get spending time in such a magnificent setting that remains with you, even after you get home.This is our second trip and we will be back to say hello to welcoming hosts Barry and Toni, the ponies, alpacas and the beautiful views again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Honestly......we were happy with everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing