We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the river walk!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Love the river walk!”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I have stayed here in several occasions when on business in Melbourne. I really like the direct access to the walking path/bikeway along the Yarra River. It is nice to go for a stroll along the river after a long day or to borrow a bike from the hotel and go for a ride.
The hotel doesn't have a gym onsite but makes up for it by offering passes to the local gym up the road.
There is a very nice restaurant onsite or if you are wanting to get out of the hotel there is a really great Italian restaurant across the road (or it your tastes run to a different style of food MacDonald's is next door).
The rooms are quite comfortable and include a full length mirror, ironing board, bath robe and safe. The desk is quite comfortable if you need to work from your hotel room.
My only complaint was that herbal tea was not included with the tea and coffee facilities in the room but that was quickly remedied with a call to housekeeping.
The hotel offers undercover parking for $18 per day.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Susan G,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. I was pleased to read all of your comments.

When you next make your booking, please request the type of herbal Tea that you enjoy & we will ensure that it will be in your room.

Thank you again for taking the time to review our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    404
    107
    22
    27
See reviews for
169
435
49
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

In Melbourne for 2 nights only to attend a wedding all day Sunday & Sunday evening.
Arriving on Saturday at midday, we were given a nice room on the 2nd floor directly above the courtyard. Knowing we would have a big day & night on Sunday, we wanted a good nights sleep on Saturday.
To our dismay, there was a party in the hotel courtyard on Saturday night. The hotel clearly knew that this party was happening at the time of our checkin, but they did not inform us. We were given a written note under our door approx 1hr prior to the party starting. The note said the music would stop at 11pm.
The party was VERY loud, and the room had very poor sound insulation. 11pm came & went. The music did not stop until midnight & the loud guests did not quieten down until 2am. We finally got to sleep about 2.30am.
We had to be up, dressed and at the wedding on Sunday by 9am. We were absolutely shattered with no sleep. Not knowing about the party on Saturday night destroyed our Sunday.

A loud party is great, but the hotel should not have conducted it in an open coutyard that effects EVERY room of the hotel. The party should have been in the large function rooms or bar area, where the noise would not affect every other guest.

The hotel overall was very nice & the service was good. The loud party & how it affected our whole weekend was a huge let down.

Room Tip: On check-in, ask if there are any parties booked in the courtyard. If yes ask for a quiet room awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louwai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Louwai,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I apologise that the function in the courtyard interrupted your stay. We do have a system of letting guests know when events are on. Clearly something went wrong with this communication.

I would like to offer you some type of compensation. Please contact me via the hotel.

We do hope to accommodate you again soon & I am confident that we can exceed your expectations.

Regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed at the Amora Saturday night as was in Melbourne for the AFL. Nice room with an excellent restaurant for dinner. The very professional hotel staff did pre-advise of a function there Saturday night but the music was turned off exactly when i was advised so no issue with that. Helpful staff, and a great location close to the MCG. Would definitely stay at the Amora again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper levels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear John T,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

We were very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Hotel in the near future.

Kind regards


Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here on a trip home to the country. We were made very welcome, staff were courteous, check-in quick and efficient. The room was all we could have asked for, clean, quiet and well appointed. It was a Friday night and there was jazz in the lounge which we really liked. All in all, we will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CitygardensTraralgon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne after your recent stay.

We really appreciate the review & we were very happy to read that you had a great stray. The Jazz on Friday nights is very popular & we also do a Jazz lunch on Sundays.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards



Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Travelled down to Melbourne on the weekend to attend the footy.We got a great deal online that included breakfast and parking..we always stay in town but it was a nice change to stay in Richmond.We purchased Myki cards at reception and it was very easy to get a tram anywhere we needed to go.Our room was very comfortable and clean and breakfast was very nice...very quiet also.We were disappointed that we couldn't utilize the free bikes provided due to the rainy weather.Lots of lovely restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo255061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Jojo,

Thank you for your positive review about our hotel Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. We were delighted to read your review. It seems that you had a great weekend.

We do hope to see you again soon.


Warm regards



Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cohuna, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This is a great place to stay. Although it is situated out of the CBD it is still fabulous to go shopping and eating on Bridge Road. The hotel staff are very helpful and courteous. The room I have is very spacious and is very clean and tidy. The facilities here are more than adequate and the restaurant and bar is great. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen3568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Helen,

Thank you for your great review of the Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne. It seems that you had a great stay.

These reviews mean a great deal to our staff here & we really appreciate you taking the time to post it.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards



Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

This is an interesting type of establishment. I attended this hotel as part of a function. It is always good to stay where a function is held. The service at check in was average, not a person offered to take my bags, clearly obvious I was struggling. The room was clean and tidy. What I did find extremely annoying was there was no guide/ information book about anything. That information I found later on the actual tv. You had to physically turn the tv on to find out the essential things like room service, information etc. the room was spacious and suitable, but once again confusing in regards to what was complementary and paid items. Eg; water bottle $3.50.
I found the cafe had advertised "open till late ", so I went down to get a coffee and some food only to find it closed early, yet there were people around!!
Going outside to look for food is not an option especially on a Saturday night as there is only a servo around and McDonalds. It is definitely not a safe place to be walking alone at night.
The room service menus looked good until you read that the late night service starts at 10pm!! It is not a cheap option and not a great selection. The hotel overall is satisfactory, for the price, I expected more. The overall service leaves a lot to be desired. It is also advertised on the Qantas website, but the staff would not acknowledge that or take my card to add points.
The only real plus for this hotel is it is directly on the tram line, stops directly outside hotel, and the views if you had one, evidently are good.
For my money, I could have stayed further up the road and would have had more value for money. A convenient hotel for a function and sleep over package, but that's about it.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim_bilston, General Manager at Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Karen,

Thank you for your time on the phone today.
As discussed, we do not participate in the Qantas Frequent Flyer programme. This is clear on the Qantas booking page.
Your feedback is very important to us & I can assure you that I review all feedback with my management team here.

The compendium / hotel information is all on the television. Should a guest need, however we do have this information in a folder.

The credit card surcharge is a cost that we pass on. This can be avoided by paying via cash or Eftpos.

We will look into your comments re the after hours room service menu. We continually change menus to improve. Our bar is open until 11.00pm each night. If it was closed before this, I apologise. Coffee is available via the 24 hour room service menu, however it is plunger coffee after 10.00pm.
Again thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tim Bilston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
204 reviews
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#68 of 158 in Melbourne
849 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#34 of 158 in Melbourne
2,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 158 in Melbourne
2,460 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne

Property: Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne
Address: 649 Bridge Rd, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Rydges Riverwalk)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxed and spacious, tranquil riverside oasis just a stones throw from Melbourne's cultural and shopping heart. With 111 guestrooms, townhouse apartments and loft apartments, restaurant, bar\cafe, leisure facilities close by and excellent conference and meeting facilities including a spectacular indoor\outdoor marquee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amora Riverwalk Richmond
Amora Riverwalk Hotel Richmond
Amora Hotel Riverwalk Melbourne Richmond, Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing