We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
Review of Adara Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adara Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Good value hotel code to the city - 10 min tram ride to centre of Melbourne - so nice and quiet but close to everything. Staff were friendly, rooms very clean and modern. More like serviced apartments - mine had a washing machine and dryer. Great cafe's just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review our property online.

It's great that you found our staff to be friendly as we always aim to provide outstanding customer service.

All of our apartments have private laundry and cooking facilities, which make for a stay that is convenient and "stress free". This is a great option for families (not to mention cost effective) in particular as our guests do not need to dine out every night of their stay.

The location of our property is fantastic in relation to Bridge Rd and close proximity to trams that commute directly into the CBD.

Looking forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Kirsten Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    89
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
36
82
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
The world
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We stayed at Quest Richmond for 4 nights. Self contained accommodation is difficult to find in Australia but Quest is a reliable provider and the standard of our 1 bed apartment was pretty good. Comfy bed, good cooking facilities, washing machine and dishwasher. The location was great, very close to shops, restaurants and to transport links to the City. There is parking available but it is limited and at an extra charge
What really makes the place however is the staff who were unfailingly helpful and friendly.
Not the cheapest by any means but worth it!

Room Tip: Go for a room on the second storey to help reduce traffic noise. Book parking when you book your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Magsnmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quest R, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 28 April 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review Quest Richmond online, this is one of the key factors in finding ways to improve our business.

I’m happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, hopefully you had time to soak up all that Richmond has to offer. The team members of Quest Richmond pride ourselves on providing our guests with outstanding customer service, to ensure a ‘home away from home’ feel is provided. This is also reflected with the facilities of our apartments. As you mentioned your apartment (as all our apartments) are equipt with private laundry and cooking facilities. If you don’t feel like cooking, there are is plethora of eateries within close walking distance to our property.

It’s wonderful that you found our staff members friendly and helpful as we love to work in such a great place. It’s good to know that it’s displayed in our actions/services towards our guests.

Looking forward to welcoming another regular of Quest Richmond back with open arms.

Many Thanks
Kirsten Wheeler
Front Office Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ouyen, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Several members of my family stayed here while my son was a patient at the Epworth Hospital.
The location of the Quest Richmond is in a very convenient location and the Quest and surrounding businesses provided us with all that was needed.
The housekeeping staff were particularly helpful, polite and friendly.
There were two things which we found quite annoying though........one was that there is a 1.5% surcharge added for the use of a credit card, and this mounts up when you already have a large bill........and the second was when we were contacted the day after we had checked out to ask if we had used a cereal pack which was apparently missing from the fridge(?). I didn't realise that one of the other members of my family had used it before the rest of us had arrived.
I realise too that one has to pay for what you use, but I paid out almost $4000.00 in accommodation for the twelve days we were there, and this query over a $10 (plus 1.5%!) breakfast pack seemed nothing short of trivial and greedy!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taurus54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you for providing feedback to Quest Richmond with relation to your stay with us. We appreciate guests feedback to our property as we can continue to imrpove our services and ensure you leave with a great impression.

I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

The 1.5% credit card surcharge has been a hotel standard since 2011 and is in place at all major hotels and hotel chains around Australia. This is not stricly a hotel surcharge, unfortunately it's more so a passed on fee that we incur from financial institutions. There is no surchage on EFTPOS payments, or on cash payments, which again is consistant in hotels around the country.

It may not have been evident to the team member that had contact you, the value of your stay with us. Please contact me personally on 03 9267 1000 as I would like to discuss this further.

Thank you
Renee Gramsbergen
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

If your looking for a place to stay where you can go to the footy, go shopping, have a great meal then you would be staying at the right place. The hotel isn't fancy, but you get what you pay for. It is clean and has everything you need.We stay there several times a year to visit family. With a family the 2 bedroom suites are fabulous. The trams are 200 metres away which takes you straigt to the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 20 March 2013
Many thanks for your review of our property. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the fantastic sights and sounds of Richmond. As you mentioned, we are just a hop, skip and jump away from the entertainment and sporting precinct.

As serviced apartments, we pride ourselves on offering a place suitable for families, as well as being cost effective. As all of our apartments have private laundry and cooking facilities, this a great option for those who want to save a little extra by cooking their own meals, particularly families.

It’s fantastic to see our guests return year after year and are looking forward to welcoming you back next time you are in the area.

Kindest Regards
Kirsten Wheeler
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
50 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

This is probably one of the best located properties in Melbourne, outside of the CBD itself. It's a half mile walk to the MCG and Rod Laver Arena; a mile through beautiful Fitzroy and Treasury Gardens into the city proper; at the top of the street is the cafe strip of Bridge Road, and half a mile north is the Vietnamese strip of Victoria Street. There are some lovely pubs nearby (two massive thumbs up to the fabulous Kingston Hotel around the corner).

The rooms are typically high-quality Quest rooms - larger than most hotel rooms, furnished in clean lines to look neat but not impersonal. Spotless bathrooms, laundry, do-it-yourself kitchen (and with what Melbourne's cafes are charging for breakfast these days you'll halve your budget if you buy some stuff to cook in the apartment...). Quest properties are - almost - always good value for money, good for families (esp those with kids) and fine places to stay, either short-term or long. (if you're travelling through Aus and NZ, they also have a handy directory to the many properties in each country, so grab one of those).

This property loses a point for its incredibly weak wi-fi. I bang on about wi-fi a lot, but in this day and age, I consider connectivity to be a basic part of any accommodation's service, and here the Quest Richmond fails. They also share a lost point for the vaguely disinterested front office staff member (no names), who was reasonably functional without ever being truly welcoming. Again, I bang on about this a lot, and no-one wants to be met at the door by someone who's going to jump all over you and lick you on the face. But truly, it costs nothing to be a little welcoming - and if you're not, I'm going to write about you on Tripadvisor for all the world to see. Enough said.

Room Tip: Front facing balcony room was good, but if it's on street level, make sure you keep the sliding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peekay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
I'd like to thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor. I'm glad that you chose Quest Richmond based on our convenient location to bridge road shopping and cafe precinct.

I hope that you were able to enjoy some of the glorious food that Richmond has to offer!
As mentioned by yourself, our self contained apartments are fitted with private laundry and cooking facilities and are a great option for many travellers (especially families).

Quest Richmond strives to meet and exceed guest's expectations and ask for feedback if we have fallen short. This is to ensure that we can continue to develop all areas of the hotel and guests relations. Thank you for highlighting to us the issue that you experienced with the wifi, this information will be passed on to look into.

I apologise if you felt as though our reception staff did not make you feel 'at home' during your stay. Your feedback has been used as construction information for all of our front office staff to ensure that the next time you do stay with us, you feel welcome.

Again, Many thanks.
Kirsten Wheeler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bad homburg
Level Contributor
111 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

located close to the center of melbouren, if you intend to go to the sport centers like melbourne park at the austrlien open, best location to hde the traffic
quite new renovated suites, junior suites for great prices, specially in melbourne the best you can get for your money
in the hot time of january i booked a 2 bedroom appartment, with means,
one room with own door with bathroom, quite big, equipped with washing machine, bedroom, living room, kitchen and terrace and another junior suite room with kitchen, living and leeping room, very big, and each appartment has his own balcony, and this for together like 290 aus dollar, really a good price, the service personcal is very friendly, best choice in melbourne for me

Room Tip: i like rooms with balcony because i like to smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misterxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G, Guest Relations Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your feedback.

It’s great to know that you chose to stay with us for sporting events, as you mentioned we are within walking distance to both Rod Laver Arena and the MCG.

We pride ourselves on being modern, comfortable and offering good ‘family friendly prices’. As Quest Richmond, wants to be able to accommodate as many different guests as possible. Be it, a family holiday, business travel or even a night close to city we like to accommodate.

I will certainly pass on the feedback to our team that you found us to be professional, as this is something that we certainly strive to maintain within all interactions with guests.

Again, many thanks and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Kirsten Wheeler
Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Usually we stay in the CBD but last time we visited Melbourne we needed accommodation in Richmond and decided to rely on a well-known chain like Quest to avoid disappointment. Having previously stayed in Quest apartments in Sydney at Mascot Airport, in Melbourne CBD (2 different properties), we sort of knew what to expect.
We have stayed in both 1-bedroom and 2-bedroom apartments and find they both offer the same standard of modern decor, up-to-date bathrooms. This time we stayed in an Executive room which included wireless Internet in the room rate.
However even though the location was excellent with a wonderful Organic grocer around the corner and great coffee shops/cafes, we didn't sleep well because of the noise from the road. The street where Quest is situated looks like a side street but is really quite a major road car volume wise in this location for crossing Bridge Rd to get to Swan Street and the Monash freeway. If there was double glazing on the windows it would help enormously.
We probably wouldn't stay here again but if we did we would request a room away from the road, although I suspect the view from other aspects might be of a brick wall!

Room Tip: Perhaps choose a room that doesn't overlook the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieEggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Renee G, General Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for passing on feedback to Quest Richmond with relation to your recent stay.

We are glad to hear you have enjoyed your recent stay with Quest Richmond. Quest as a whole strive to exceed guests' expectations and are always asking for feedback if these expectations are not met. This is how Quest are able to ensure they keeep the trustworthy brand reputation.

We would like to welcome you back to Quest Richmond, in potentially staying in another apartment type as we have other areas of the property that may be suited for you.

We look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Kindest Regards
Renee Gramsbegren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#73 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Richmond

Property: Adara Richmond
Address: 185 - 191 Lennox St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Quest Richmond)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adara Richmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adara Richmond is the epitome of contemporary and spacious inner-city serviced apartment living. Located along the Bridge Rd fashion and cafe strip, and only a five minute tram ride from Australia's premier sporting precinct and the CBD, you will be immersed in true Melburnian culture. Directly opposite the Epworth Hospital, Adara Richmond is the accommodation of choice for hospital guests and visitors. We have studios, one and two bedroom and executive apartments with full kitchens, washers and dryers, and high-speed WiFi in every room. Our highly trained staff are on call to arrange pantry shopping, fax and photocopying services, and car and taxi hire. Got a special request? All Adara Richmond apartments can be configured to suit your specific living requirements. We're proud to show off our newly updated gym to all Adara Richmond guests, and business travellers will have access to our exclusive corporate lounge and conference room. Adara Richmond has everything you need for business and leisure, allowing you to create your ideal home away from home. As many of our guests are corporate travellers we provide exclusive services to help you do business. With fast WiFi and easy-access power points in every apartment, our rooms were created with contemporary business needs in mind. Adara Richmond features a conference room and corporate lounge which can be booked upon request and customised to suit your needs. Meetings and events Adara Richmond can cater for events of all types and sizes. Our large, light-filled conference room can be set up in boardroom, classroom or theatre style, while accommodating up to 70 people. We can assist in your event planning by providing fresh, high-quality catering options and by supplying AV equipment, in addition to the in-room projector and screen, upon request. The adjoining business lounge is open for breakfast between Monday-Friday 7am-9am for corporate guests, and can be booked at all other times. The lounge features several sofas and a large screen TV, and is the perfect place for sports and business groups to unwind. Hotel Features Getting around is easy when you stay with Adara Richmond. Stroll through the Treasury Gardens, take a short taxi ride, or jump on the 75 or 48 tram to travel into the CBD. Make sure you purchase a Myki public transport card at reception prior to using trains or trams in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Richmond Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing