We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Across from Epworth”
Review of Adara Richmond

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adara Richmond
Ranked #1 of 2 Richmond B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Across from Epworth”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Great for a few nights while my partner was at the epworth hospital. Room was nice, had a studio unit. They do deals for epworth patients and families. Staff were nice and they have a decent gym for a small hotel. Downside, bed was awful and I can sleep on anything! Bathroom tiny but didn't bother me.

Overall a good deal and met my needs. Note, need to book a car park on the phone which I did. Was cheap at fifteen a day.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank KiwiArrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us! We are such a short walk to Epworth Hospital and are pleased that we have been able to assist you with our Epworth Benefits Program. Our parking is limited, and it is always advisable that you reserve your space ahead of time with us!

We have almost completed the upgrade of all of our mattresses, next time you book with us, mention this and we can personally discuss options with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back again with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    89
    30
    17
    10
See reviews for
36
82
24
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed for two nights at the Adara Richmond, apartment was clean and well presented. Unfortunately we had requested car parking in our initial booking email. When we followed up with a phone call to confirm we were advised that no parking had been booked. They strictly only book parking following a phone conversation - email is insufficient. We ended up parking in Coles down the road - not too far away but less convenient.

We had also asked for a roll out bed for the 10 year old so we could stay up a little later on the couch only to find out that there was no roll out just the sofa bed, so 9.30 bed times for all of us...

Apart from these two issues staff were reasonable and the location was very good. Would probably stay again but would definitely phone before booking to confirm a parking space.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jax R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We hope that you enjoyed your Birthday Weekend. Our parking is limited, so we do always like to confirm with you personally that we have availability at time of your reservation, giving us the opportunity to provide you with solutions in the area.
We would have been more than happy to assist with a rollaway bed, whilst there is a sofa bed available in the room, we also have roll away beds that we can provide to ensure you are able to enjoy your time with us completely.
For your next reservation, please contact us personally so that we can personally assist.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I stayed at Adara Apartment for 2 weeks for work in a 1 Bedroom room and I would highly recommend. The room is big, clean and thoughtfully designed.
The unit is located about 30mins (2.5km) walk to the city and 20mins walk to the nearby parks.
Also, Chapel street is walking distance away.
There is Coles Supermarket around the corner and lots of boutique eatery within 5min walking distance.
The taxi ride from Federation Square to the apartment cost around $12.
The taxi ride from Airport was around $55
Finally, the staffs are friendly, helpful and cheerful which definitely helps.

Room Tip: ask for east facing 1bedroom room on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us!
You have certainly provided our guests with a wonderful description of getting around the area! We are certainly very fortunate to have lovely spacious apartments, and all the benefits of wonderful Melbourne such a short distance away.
We have just introduced a new service with our Airport Transfer Service, which will also make transfers to the airport more cost effective. Our team are all very happy and balanced and love the opportunity to meet the expectations of all our guests!
We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently stayed for 3 nights with my family in a 1 bedroom apartment, using the pull out sofa for the 3rd bed. The room was a good size, with full kitchen facilities and a small cupboard containing all the laundry appliances.
Check in was easy and the receptionist polite. We had been warned that parking spaces were limited and so order a spot when making the reservation. You have to drive around the block and enter the garage via a laneway at the back. Parking is tight, but at least secure & there is a lift to take you to your floor. Free wi-fi was handy and there are 2 groceries stores within 400 mtrs.
The entry is about 50 metres from a major street in Richmond (Bridge St) which has 2 tram routes running along it to take you to the centre of the Melbourne CBD (15 min ride), with stops near the MCG (a huge sports stadium) if you're in Melbourne for the sport. You can buy the transport card (Myki) from reception or a nearby 7-11 store. Head away from the CBD on Bridge street and you will find it is a great spot for good-value shopping and lots of places to eat.
Although not far from a busy road, noise was not an issue.
We had a great time and found the apartment to be well positioned, clean, not cramped and a reasonable price.
Would definitely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the rear laneway appear quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oznewbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us! Our rooms are certainly spacious, and provide all the appliances and amenities you require, whether your stay be for short term or long term purposes.
It’s wonderful that you had the opportunity to enjoy Bridge Road and all it has to offer, there’s a wonderful array of café’s, restaurants and shopping to explore whilst you are here.
The MCG is only a short walk from our front door, and as you were able to experience, we have just recently introduced the Myki Visitor packs available for purchase from our reception, which have proven to be extremely popular.
We have also just introduced an new relationship with an Airport Shuttle Service, another service we expect to be extremely popular. We look forward to having you back with us at Adara Richmond again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mascot, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I stay here often, usually in a studio apartment as I like the balcony (very small) and its facing the front street. I've since discovered the one bedroom apartments. Very spacious apartment, great layout and my next booking will be one of these rooms. They don't have a balcony but great value. Usually cheaper than the studio rooms.

Room Tip: Do your homework to get the best price for any room and if you have a car, make sure you book that i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are so pleased to hear the you have enjoyed your stay with us, our studio apartments are very comfortable and spacious, and some as you have mentioned include balconies. I am so pleased you have discovered our 1 Bedroom Apartments which are perfectly suited for a longer stay. If you love our 1 Bedrooms, ask us next time you are with us, let us show you our 1 Bedroom Executives. We are currently in the process of upgrading these rooms styles, all of our Executive 1 Bedroom Apartments feature a balcony, some extremely spacious, all facing the front street.

Book Direct with us, this gives us the opportunity to advise of our room styles available, and ensure you are completely satisfied before you arrive! We can also advise of our availability for car parking and provide alternative solutions in the area if our availability is limited for your time frame.

We look forward to hearing from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for a long weekend. I had stayed here before when this property was owned by Quest, and thought I'd go back again as I enjoyed it the first time around.

I would have thought that with new management and branding, this place had the opportunity to improve on the negatives and build on the positives from the previous management, however, it looks as if it slipped back in the other direction.

Check In was a complete joke. I arrived at 3:20pm (1 hour and 20 minutes after standard check in time). Assuming that checking in an hour and a half after the earliest check in time would mean my room would be ready to go, disappointingly it wasn't.

Not only was I made to wait 10 minutes for the check in process even though everything was prepaid and prebooked, but was then given a key and assigned a room which was not the same as what I had booked. After returning to reception to resolve this first issue, I was then reassigned to the correct room type based on my booking. I arrived at my assigned room confronted by 2 cleaners inside it still cleaning it. It took 2 check in staff behind the counter to get this wrong.

Unfortunately, for an executive room you'd expect the standard of cleaning to be well above average. Dust all over the bed head, kitchen walls were grotty, and the sofa cushions had stains on them which looked as if they could have easily be washed out or at worst, replaced.

Hotels are so prompt with making sure that you check out by their specified check out time, in this property that was 10am. Yet, it's acceptable for a guest to arrive and be confronted with these unnecessary issues, even after almost 1.5 hours after earliest check in time.

I did not have the patience to even bother requesting another room again or asking for the cleaners to return.

Reasons to stay here? I like low level hotels and with only 2 floors above ground, this was ideal.
The location is clearly convenient with most destinations within walking, tram or short cab trip distance. Balconies and rooms were decent in size.

Room Tip: Call ahead to ensure your room is ready so your time is not wasted once you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your recent feedback on your stay with us at Adara Richmond. I apologise for the inconvenience you experienced on check in, particularly at arriving after our normal check in time. Your room under normal circumstances would have been ready prior to your arrival, however, we had recently offered and extended our departure time as a promotional offer in the our rebranding process. This unfortunately had an impact on your room being ready.

The allocation of the incorrect room type was rectified once you had notified reception.

Our Executive Room styles are all currently undergoing refurbishments, these refurbishments will significantly set aside the executive experience and expectations and will be completed in the coming months.

We are currently embarking on the replacements of a number of items, including pillows, mattresses, Larger TV’s, Lighting, Furniture and a number of significant differentiation points in the coming months. I do hope you have the chance in the future to see these improvements and provide us with additional feedback.

We receive continuous positive feedback in our Customer Satisfaction Surveys upon guest departures about the cleanliness and size of our rooms, I look forward to you being able to experience this on a return visit to us in the future. Your feedback in relation to the quality of your room specifically has been directed to our Housekeeping team to ensure that standards are high. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your future reservation so that I can ensure that your next experience with us is favourable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night with our 18 month old for the purpose of going to the footy. The location is fantastic for a short walk to the footy, great cafés near by for breakfast and a coffee and shopping on bridge road.

From staying Thursday night at the Quest Werribee, Friday at the Mantra tullamarine then here it by far ranked at the bottom of the three hotels.

For me the mould in the bathroom was enough to turn me off from returning. The grout in the whole bathroom just needed a whole bottle of bleach poured on and left for a day. The drain was just as disgusting, the face washer my daughter had used in the bath was black/brown from sitting over the drain all night.

Apart from the grout in the bathroom it had everything else you could need.

I just expected that for a hotel that had just rebranded itself that things like the grout would have been cleaned.

I know the hotel is claiming to be undergoing refurbishments but this for me is just a matter of cleaning.


Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Hun'ee1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Candy D, Manager at Adara Richmond, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at Adara Richmond. We receive regular feedback through our Customer Feedback Survey’s emailed directly to our guests in relation to their stay with us, and receive positive feedback in relation to our service, size of rooms and cleanliness.

Your feedback is valuable and I can assure you that your comments have been passed directly to our Housekeeping Supervisor to ensure that the expectations in our rooms are of the highest standard. We are undergoing refurbishments, and will continue to strive to ensure that the experience for all of our guests exceeds their expectations. I would have been more than happy to have assisted in providing you with another room had I been made aware of this at the time of your stay.

Once again, thank you, this has certainly been addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Richmond Hill Hotel
#2 of 2 in Richmond
3.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#117 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#73 of 159 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
Mantra on Jolimont
#92 of 159 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Central Business District
Mercure Melbourne Treasury Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adara Richmond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adara Richmond

Property: Adara Richmond
Address: 185 - 191 Lennox St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia (Formerly Quest Richmond)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adara Richmond 4.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adara Richmond is the epitome of contemporary and spacious inner-city serviced apartment living. Located along the Bridge Rd fashion and cafe strip, and only a five minute tram ride from Australia's premier sporting precinct and the CBD, you will be immersed in true Melburnian culture. Directly opposite the Epworth Hospital, Adara Richmond is the accommodation of choice for hospital guests and visitors. We have studios, one and two bedroom and executive apartments with full kitchens, washers and dryers, and high-speed WiFi in every room. Our highly trained staff are on call to arrange pantry shopping, fax and photocopying services, and car and taxi hire. Got a special request? All Adara Richmond apartments can be configured to suit your specific living requirements. We're proud to show off our newly updated gym to all Adara Richmond guests, and business travellers will have access to our exclusive corporate lounge and conference room. Adara Richmond has everything you need for business and leisure, allowing you to create your ideal home away from home. As many of our guests are corporate travellers we provide exclusive services to help you do business. With fast WiFi and easy-access power points in every apartment, our rooms were created with contemporary business needs in mind. Adara Richmond features a conference room and corporate lounge which can be booked upon request and customised to suit your needs. Meetings and events Adara Richmond can cater for events of all types and sizes. Our large, light-filled conference room can be set up in boardroom, classroom or theatre style, while accommodating up to 70 people. We can assist in your event planning by providing fresh, high-quality catering options and by supplying AV equipment, in addition to the in-room projector and screen, upon request. The adjoining business lounge is open for breakfast between Monday-Friday 7am-9am for corporate guests, and can be booked at all other times. The lounge features several sofas and a large screen TV, and is the perfect place for sports and business groups to unwind. Hotel Features Getting around is easy when you stay with Adara Richmond. Stroll through the Treasury Gardens, take a short taxi ride, or jump on the 75 or 48 tram to travel into the CBD. Make sure you purchase a Myki public transport card at reception prior to using trains or trams in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adara Richmond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adara Richmond Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing