We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms were out dated stained linen small cold we booked for 16 nights Booked for 16 nights stayed one stayed one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Richmond Hill Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms were out dated stained linen small cold we booked for 16 nights Booked for 16 nights stayed one stayed one”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Not a very nice stay at all. The rooms were very small outdated stained linen and the bathroom was dirty.The windows rattled and the up stairs were smelly and dark and small. The staff were nice and down stairs was nice but I would not stay ever again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieracic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    99
    37
    16
    12
See reviews for
40
77
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We really enjoyed our overnight stay at the Richmond Hill Hotel. Great location within walking distance of what we wanted to do. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Only one downside was perhaps the size of the room, but as we were there for only one night, the room was fine for our needs. Lovely front reception area and lounge. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a good place to stay if you're after something cheap, basic, and don't mind being away from the CBD. I stayed in a private room which served me fairly well during my two nights, although I was a little disappointed that there was no heating in the room, and the rear corridors of the building where my room was situated felt a little dark & lifeless. The front end of the hotel had quite a nice atmosphere though, with a bar that was open late and breakfast included. There's a tram stop for the North Richmond to Prahran / St Kilda tram just outside the hotel entry (it doesn't get you to the city), but it's a short 5 minute walk to Bridge Road for a city-bound service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danschaumann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This is quite a pleasant place to stay. The majority of the staff are friendly and helpful. Stayed there for three nights. It was quite noisy on two of those three nights which was a bit of a pain. There is a nice lounge with a fireplace downstairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rathin_PeaceRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin,Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was very disappointed in our room at this hotel. Downstairs was quite nice with a fire and coffee and tea available all day. The receptionist was very friendly and checked us in early as we had come on an overnight flight. Things went downhill when we saw the room. It was tiny and freezing cold with NO central heating The small double bed filled the room leaving no space for luggage or anything else. It was sparse with no headboard and flimsy curtains. The cold wind whistled in the patio doors from the balcony. One very small plug-in radiator for the bedroom but nothing in the bathroom. I tried leaving the bathroom door open to let the heat in but it didn't work, I also tried leaving it on but the maid plugged it out every day so we came back cold every night to a freezing room. The bathroom was tiny and very scruffy, not somewhere you would want to linger. Breakfast was meager and hardly worth the effort, basically toast and poor coffee. I would definitely not recommend this hotel. The staff are doing their best but the room was old, shabby, tiny and freezing cold.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else......
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DEBBIEDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Sale, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We had a pleasant stay being our third stay. The onsite parking is convenient and the front desk service is friendly and efficient. The rooms are basic, yet comfortable. I have no hesitation in staying there again. The hotel is perfectly located to be within walking distance to the Bridge rd shops and restaurants. Trams also available virtually out the front.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirdson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My wife and I stayed for three nights at the price of two, and that price included a (very) full breakfast. The room was well-appointed, clean, comfortable and quiet. There was a bus around the corner, and a lovely walk into Richmond itself.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#101 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#119 of 159 in Melbourne
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Melbourne on the Park
#75 of 159 in Melbourne
910 reviews
Magnolia Court Boutique
#144 of 159 in Melbourne
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hill Hotel

Property: Richmond Hill Hotel
Address: 353 Church St, Richmond, Yarra, Victoria 3121, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Yarra > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Richmond Hill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richmond Hill Hotel is a 45 room B&B style hotel, offering a range of accommodation options. We offer value and friendly and efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hill Hotel Greater Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing