We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quan88

Quan88
Ranked #106 of 311 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great little place that I have wanted to try . Our entrees of crispy duck spring rolls were good , rice paper rolls nice and fresh , but the real jewel of the night was the beef with lemon grass and chilli stir fry ..

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaceboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
226 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Try this one”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Of the several budget Vietnamese I have tried along Victoria Street, this is my favourite. Again, a no frills experience, but pleasant to sit in, a varied menu (with specials) and smiling waiting staff. My prawn dumplings went down well, as did my unadventurous choice of BBQ pork with rice. With its fresh and substantial coleslaw accompaniment, it was exactly what I was after.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
199 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Pedestrian food, poor ambience, give it a miss”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

Why there are so many good reviews about this place I just don't know. Sure the menu is large,comprised of 160 items but there is far more chinese food on it than vietnamese, and it really should be marketed as a chinese restaurant. The vegetarian options were poor, and when trying to order satay tofu and vegetables, we discovered that there was chicken soup in all of the vegetable dishes. After sending back my meal 3 times, they finally got it right, but there were a paltry 6 pieces of beancurd in a plate full of chinese vegetables like bok choy and baby corn. My husband had a nice chicken dish with lemongrass and chilli, but that didn't make up for the boring spring rolls, greasy rice and appalling vegetarian dish. I would no more come back here than go to the moon, and there are plenty of real Vietnamese restaurants that far surpass this one. The staff were nice, but big deal, this was a let down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anglesea, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“good prices and yummy food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

The food is amazing. When we go to melbourne we try to get some food from this place. Either eat in or take away. We usually order quail, which is delicious. Last time we ordered the vietnamese colesaw and we were a bit reluctant, but it was the bomb. If you are visiting melbourne, it is worth the detour from the CBD.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulinagtzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

Yum! The food was fresh and delicious. There's a huge range to choose from and the prices are really reasonable. I think it cost us about $50 for three of us and we couldn't eat everything we ordered. Quick service and informative staff - a great little spot to drop into for quick tasty food. The vegetable hot pot was to die for : )

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank n0rmie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quan88 also viewed

 

Been to Quan88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing