We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely going back”
Review of Quan88

Quan88
Ranked #124 of 322 Restaurants in Richmond
Cuisines: Chinese, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Definitely going back”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Will be returning, I suspect many times.

Wide variety of dishes and given the quality of the ones we had last week, I will need to venture further into the menu.

Absolutely delightful service, funny, quirky and smiling all the time.

We had the chicken ribs and just thinking of them makes me hungry for more. We had beef wrapped in mint leaves and that was such a surprising taste sensation.

Truly inexpensive, wonderful quick service, memorable food. What more could you want?

Oh, this is not a flashy, upmarket restaurant. More like the sort of restaurant you want to have around the corner from home.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank heLPlates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    16
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good value fresh authentic cuisine.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

An interesting blend of Vietnamese with Chinese and Malay, with a variety of oddball specials on sheets of paper around the walls. No frills but clean and inviting, and after several visits I can say consistently good food. Fresh ingredients, and highly recommend the lunch specials which are cheap, good and filling. Laksa was outstanding. Great value, quite busy and vibrant on the main nights but very quiet midweek for lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great fresh food”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Great little place that I have wanted to try . Our entrees of crispy duck spring rolls were good , rice paper rolls nice and fresh , but the real jewel of the night was the beef with lemon grass and chilli stir fry ..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spaceboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
248 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Try this one”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Of the several budget Vietnamese I have tried along Victoria Street, this is my favourite. Again, a no frills experience, but pleasant to sit in, a varied menu (with specials) and smiling waiting staff. My prawn dumplings went down well, as did my unadventurous choice of BBQ pork with rice. With its fresh and substantial coleslaw accompaniment, it was exactly what I was after.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
208 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Pedestrian food, poor ambience, give it a miss”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Why there are so many good reviews about this place I just don't know. Sure the menu is large,comprised of 160 items but there is far more chinese food on it than vietnamese, and it really should be marketed as a chinese restaurant. The vegetarian options were poor, and when trying to order satay tofu and vegetables, we discovered that there was chicken soup in all of the vegetable dishes. After sending back my meal 3 times, they finally got it right, but there were a paltry 6 pieces of beancurd in a plate full of chinese vegetables like bok choy and baby corn. My husband had a nice chicken dish with lemongrass and chilli, but that didn't make up for the boring spring rolls, greasy rice and appalling vegetarian dish. I would no more come back here than go to the moon, and there are plenty of real Vietnamese restaurants that far surpass this one. The staff were nice, but big deal, this was a let down.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Quan88 also viewed

 
Richmond, Yarra
St Kilda, Port Phillip
 

Been to Quan88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing