We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good find”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Gobabis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Kalahari Bush Breaks
Certificate of Excellence
spain
Level Contributor
628 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Good find”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed for one night on our way into Namibia and booked again for one night on our way out again
Our accommodation was the same room on both occasions with a big living area and a big bathroom with a huge shower area.

The views all round were excellent. I think this place is really geared up for the bigger groups.

We had a few guests with us the first night and we were the only guests the second. The food was very good as were the offerings of wine etc.

The wifi was not good but were offered the use of the main computer in the office.

I see not good reviews in this lodge new found the owners and their children and staff to be very nice and helpful. Sure you cam always find fault but we have a great time on both stays and well done to the owners for that.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexanderSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    26
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
40
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mariental, Namibia
1 review
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I've stayed at Kalahari Bush Breaks over New Year's and again in February. I've experienced excellent service consistently throughout my time being there. The picturesque scenes when the sun goes down are the best. Also, the owner of the lodge were very attentive and all employees were professional. Wouldn't go anywhere else but to Kalahari Bush Breaks.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarietteLouw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This was my 2nd time that I overnight at this campsite as it is close to the border on my way back to JHB via Botswana. Never again!! I will have to find another overnight stop. Campsites are mostly overgrown, braai stands broken and ablutions are dirty and full of bugs and spiders. We drove up to the lodge only to find a yawning person (I think this was the owner) not very interested in me pleading for some ice since my fridge broke on my trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed over for, luckily, one night only on our way back to Gauteng after a magnificent trip to Namibia. Location close to botswana border post which is fairly comfortable if travelling by car. However the hospitality was non-existent, unfriendly and unwelcoming. We were booked in the 'main' house/ lapa where the owners also reside together with their dogs and felt 'in the way'. As we checked out early the next morning in order to catch the border post, we stumbled through the dark without any greetings, dogs barking without the the slightest possibility of coffee. The food was to say least stingy and basic. We had a tablespoon size helping of dessert, after asking for something sweet (take note we paid for a three course meal) for the same price that we had a stunning unlimited buffet in a perfect surrounding at a 4 star lodge earlier that vacation. When one pays the price of good quality one expects it and this is not at all the situation with Kalahari Bush Breaks. Very dissapointed.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne_Hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed at Kalahari Bush Breaks for a night on our honeymoon in December 2013. Our room was beautifully laid out and the bed very comfortable. The dinner, comprising of locally hunted kudu steaks and vegetables, was utterly delicious. The grounds are lovely, and the pricing competitive for the level of accommodation we received. We have no complaints, and would definitely go back next time we're in eastern Namibia!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoogerheide
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

After reading the reviews we were glad already on this accommodation our last evening in Africa. Only that the lodge was beautiful for the rest was not good. A small list:
-no receipt was no one present (we only recieve the key)
-very dirty rooms with hundreds of dead bugs and a dirty toilet
-service was very bad
-food was not bad but had to be eaten after a 30-minute closed the lodge. The prices are high for the food you get.
We think it came because the owners were absent 3 weeks but then close the lodge. What could be a nice end of our trip should be terrible. It was throughout the whole lodge very messy and dirty. Was probably longer as 3 weeks.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rianne en jan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Good overnight stop on the way from Gauteng to Namibia. Comfortable rooms, well equipped for a lodge in the middle of nowhere. Nice 20 km 4*4 trail with lots of stones and one very sandy stretch. Great for star-gazing.

But when you enter the reception / office, you are greeted by chaos. Files everywhere, including on the floor. Which should not affect the quality of your stay, naturally - or does it? It does, to a degree, since organisation is not a strong point.

We were terribly out of luck with the food, but this might just have been one of those nights. All in all, a good stopover.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gobabis
0.0 mi away
Hakusembe River Lodge
0.0 mi away
Namushasha River Lodge
Namushasha River Lodge
#2 of 4 in Caprivi Region
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
Ndhovu Safari Lodge
#1 of 4 in Caprivi Region
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
West Nest Lodge
West Nest Lodge
#2 of 11 in Gobabis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harnas Wildlife Foundation and Guest Lodge
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Onze Rust Guest House
#11 of 11 in Gobabis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalahari Bush Breaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalahari Bush Breaks

Property: Kalahari Bush Breaks
Address: Gobabis, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Omaheke Region > Gobabis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Gobabis
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing