We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than a safari” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Paperbark Bush Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lydenburg
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Paperbark Bush Retreat
bristol, UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“More than a safari”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2009

We spent two weeks holiday, part here, part on safari. Our second African holiday but we wanted more this time than maximal animal numbers. We learnt a lot about tracking, recognising spoor and scat, camera trapping and more. Will and Carol were excellent hosts and our accommodation was fantastic. Anton was a great guide, very knowledgeable, he could even call owls in at night! Our safari with Gerrie was unforgettable and was no 3 hours morning/evening standard game drive, we only managed 6 hours sleep in 2 days and boy was it worth it! For something a bit different you will not be disappointed, we're planning a return next year!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
169 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2009

If you are looking for a place to de-stress, and is away from the hustle and bustle, then this is the place. My husband and I arrived here fresh off an overnight flight from London. We were bowled over on arrival. It is set in a stunning location, the accommodation is top class, and the food, great. It was perfect for us, to chill out for a few days, catch up on sleep and generally get into the holiday mode. There are optional activities, such as bush walks, birding, etc.. that you can do but all in a non dangerous game area (except for the Leopards, which are quite elusive!). We would highly, highly recommend this place and certainly look foward to going back.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kckaceykc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2009

Paperbark is a tranquil spot from which you can appreciate what Africa has to offer. Surrounded by beautiful scenery, you can get involved in nature walks and learn how to track animals. The eco accommodation is faultless with full attention to detail with luxury thrown in and the food absolutely delicious. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a truly memorable one and we left feeling like one of the family.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricaLoverLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2009

We saw, heard and learnt about an enormous variety of insects, birds, herbivores and carnivores including the ‘big five’, as well as vultures and eagles, spiders and butterflies. We tried our hand at ‘camera-trapping', went on game drives and bush walks with guides who shared their enthusiasm and knowledge with us. Great hospitality, and expertise from hosts and guides who became friends and enhanced all other aspects of the holiday. Lots of flexibility in the trip with every opportunities to see/hear wildlife taken. We met great people, saw beautiful landscapes and an enormous variety of wildlife as well as learnt so much about everything we saw and the history of this part of South Africa. Much more than listing animals and birds - our identified, explained and interpreted what we saw. Accomodation ranged from quite luxurious to more basic but always spotless with good food and all the necessary facilities. Overall a fantastic holiday.
What we liked most Great people and wildlife viewing
What we liked least: Nothing

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggiePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2009

Absolutely unbeatable holiday. We did the two week "On Track Sabi Sands and Kruger Safari" package and found everyone involved in the trip was extremely good, our guides had extraordinary knowledge of South Africa's wildlife.
We had so many special memories including: tracking a leopard for 2 hours at night, watching dwarf mongoose playing for an hour, seeing two male giraffes fighting for the rights to a female, walking in such a pristine environment (Paperbark bush retreat area) where butterflies, dragonflies and all kinds of birdlife seem to fill the air, and watching wild dogs (an endangered species).

  • Liked — Setting in a pristine location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank squizzling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, UAE
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

This safari was everything I wanted and hoped it would be. Paperbark Bush Retreat is an oasis in the bush, and the staff there are thoughtful, courteous and always willing to help. The game viewing was tremendously enhanced by Gerri Camacho's knowledge, experience and expertise. If I never go on another safari I won't feel as though I will have missed out on anything as this was the ultimate safari!

  • Liked — It was like being on the set of Out of Africa
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2008

We have just returned from a fantastic safari with Back on Track safaris. We started the trip at the beautiful Paperbark Retreat - it was lovely - set in beautiful mountain scenery and incredibly relaxing.

The Paperbark retreat is run by Will & Carol Fox and they were brilliant - they made us very much at home. We had a lovely stay there. The ranger, Anton, was also great. He took us on numerous walks around the estate and taught us how to identify animals from their tracks, and highlighted different wildlife, flora and fauna to us throughout our stay.

We spent 5 days visiting different game reserves (including Kruger and Sabi Sands) with an amazing guide - Gerrie Camacho. He was an excellent guide - extremely knowledgeable, had vast experience of wildlife and he was great company throughout the trip.

There were so many memorable and exciting parts to the holiday - far too many to list - probably the most memorable was our first sighting of a leopard - we saw 2 leopard cubs during a game drive. We spent ages watching them as they ate an antelope which their mother had killed. It was fantastic and we got the opportunity to take many special photographs. Our next sighting of a leopard was also fantastic - on another game drive we spent over an hour following the movements of a female leopard. It was amazing - there was just us 2, a guide and driver and we felt so privileged to spend so long observing such a beautiful creature. It was a proper wild experience - not like some of the other game drives/safaris we observed where you queue up amongst many other vehicles for a quick glimpse. Instead we were able to spend so long and had real quality time observing the wildlife.

The whole holiday was fantastic from start to finish - definitely a trip of a lifetime!

  • Liked — Very relaxing, great scenery, hospitality and delicious home made meals!
  • Disliked — Nothing - couldn't fault it at all
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lydenburg hotels
1.7 mi away
Black Leopard Camp
Black Leopard Camp
#2 of 14 in Lydenburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.0 mi away
Gethlane Lodge
Gethlane Lodge
#5 of 14 in Lydenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
11.3 mi away
Aqua Terra Guest House
Aqua Terra Guest House
#1 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Villa Afriq
Villa Afriq
#2 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
16.9 mi away
Stonecutters Lodge
Stonecutters Lodge
#1 of 14 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.6 mi away
Manor Guest House
Manor Guest House
#4 of 18 in Lydenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Paperbark Bush Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paperbark Bush Retreat

Property: Paperbark Bush Retreat
Address: On Track Safaris, PO Box 3065, Lydenburg 1120, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Lydenburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Speciality Lodging in Lydenburg
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing