We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic fish somosas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Sea Horse

The Sea Horse
Ranked #15 of 38 Restaurants in Jambiani
Cuisines: Seafood, African
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Local owned and run fish restaurant. All fish Caught fresh and cooked by friendly staff. Calamari was has to be eaten to be believed.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic fish somosas”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

we enjoyed all dishes here, but the fish somosas were incredible. well worth the wait. great staff, very friendly small cafe

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meglondon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    22
    4
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Authentic culinary experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had dinner at Sea Horse and very greeted by really lovely staff (the following day, we were even given an impromptu Swahili lesson on the beach!).

The menu is concise and the food fresh and very tasty with local flavours. Romantic atmosphere in the evening with paraffin lanterns on the tables. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Char3137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Local Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

This place is really cool. As other reviewers have said, it's a very small restaurant right on the beach. The food and drinks are both great-I particularly enjoyed their calamari and the fresh fish was to die for. I also tasted a curry that one of my friends had and it was fantastic. Having said that, its important to keep in mind that when you're here, you're on African time. It took a little time to get our food, but that's something I experienced throughout Tanzania. My recommendation would be to grab a table, get a cocktail, place your order and spend some time on the beach or in the water while your food is being prepared. You can't go wrong with this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious local food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

It’s a really tiny restaurant with only 2-3 tables and with a nice atmosphere. The food is great. You can get local dishes and fresh caught fish, the food is prepared with typical Zanzibar spices. Because everything is freshly prepared you should tell them in advance what you like to eat and when you plan to come; doing so we had not to wait longer than 10 minutes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Good cocktail list and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

This restaurant had a stocked bar and excellent cocktail list when we were there, not that common on this stretch of beach. I had a good thin crust pizza and my husband enjoyed the 4 cheese pasta. Service was friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HojasRojas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sea Horse also viewed

Jambiani, Zanzibar Island
 

Been to The Sea Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing