We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice for our Wedding Week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Choice for our Wedding Week”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My husband and I got married in Zanzibar in October 2013 and were joined by 30 friends and family. We had guests traveling from the USA, Europe and Africa and we wanted to find the perfect place that would be comfortable for all guests, non touristy, private, affordable and that had enough space to fit us all and had a/c, a pool, spa and beach frontage. At first it seemed like a lot to ask for to find that perfect place, but after months of extensive research over a year prior to our wedding we decided on Spice Island. My husband and I were in Zanzibar in 2012 and stayed just down the beach from Spice Island at a small bungalow hotel and had gone for a walk one day and came across Spice Island and were blown away by how beautiful it was. When we were doing all of our research it dawned on us to find the place we had come across and low and behold Spice Island met all of our requirements and then some.

Upon initial correspondence with their General Manager, Tina, she was extremely prompt and answered all of my questions. After hundreds of emails and over a year of correspondence she was the absolute BEST to work with. She was beyond just my contact at Spice Island, but became a friend and second wedding planner. She was extremely accommodating to all of our requests and went above and beyond with little details to make ours and our guests have a once in a lifetime experience. She helped coordinate all of our rooming, dinners, special activities at the hotel, off-site activities, transportation, custom menus, decor, etc. When we finally got to meet in person it was like meeting someone I have known for years. She was around the entire week we were there and made sure everything was taken care of and everyone was comfortable and having a great time. Her husband Alex was also incredible and we were fortunate enough to have him be our guide for our Safari Blue trip and he was awesome! A trip not to be missed and one we will remember forever.

Spice Island is the perfect choice if you are looking for amazing service, your own private luxury bungalow, beach access, a stunning Jetty Bar, a massive pool, spa, great selection of food and drinks and if you want pure relaxation and a beach front that is exclusively yours. And with all of this it still only has 17 bungalows (34 rooms total) all very spaced out, so it feels extremely intimate. We love the Southeast part of Zanzibar for a more authentic experience without loads of tourists. Stay here, you won't regret it. And for any future brides and grooms, we highly recommend you choosing Spice Island for your wedding week and don't forget to ask for Tina!

Room Tip: Choose rooms 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 32, 33, 34,35 for a Sea View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monkspeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    51
    17
    10
    5
See reviews for
56
86
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I was staying in spice island with my wife after wonderful safari and it was just perfect for us to relax on the beach and this wonderful pool. the food was very nice ( maybe more fish options or changes) wine list was good ( staff have no idea about wine) but wine service was very nice. Rooms are ok, very clean and mosquito net was working perfect. the water sport center was perfect, if you like boat trips go for it.
The management looks very professional except smoking and drinking alcohol in public. (Maybe is just me see this small things). In general the hotel is very nice, save and friendly. Go for it !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank internationalholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

The Spice Island Resort, near Jambiani Village is quite Remote. 1 hours drive from Stonetown and a further, from the airport. This means transfers for tours such as the spice farm, and stonetown tour are expensive. I would highly recommend doing the rainforest tour/walk, which is relatively close by (20mins drive) where you can see the local wildlife.
The reception staff were friendly and professional. Room and restaurant staff however spoke little English which made communication of our needs difficult. Resulted in long waits for drinks and incorrect orders.
The mosquito net in on my bed was ripped, but this was repaired upon request. I would have appreciated insect spray available in the rooms for guest use. This was standard in most of the hotels we stayed in, on our holiday in Tanzania.
Food was passable, meat at the restaurant was tough. I contracted food poisoning from the BBQ dinner served by the pool. I believe it was the cold octopus salad. Other guests were ill too. The hotel showed their concern and did provide me with a ginger tea to settle my stomach which was appreciated.
The ocean tide goes a long way out, at low tide, making swimming not really an option. The brief paddle we did have at high tide, resulted in being stung by jelly fish. The private pier and bar at the end are delightful. When we stayed, early January, it was blowing an absolute gale. Possibly the fabled 'trade winds'?
The pool is lovely and kept spotlessly clean. Not many sun lounges, and people leave towels on them to reserve them for full day use, even though they have gone for a walk. I don't think this should be allowed.
Through no fault of the resort, there are frequent power cuts. The electricity usually comes back on within the hour, but on one occasion whilst I was ill with food poisoning, it was off for most of the afternoon, which made being bed ridden in the villa very uncomfortable (with no AC).
On the whole a pleasant stay, but I would stay somewhere else if I were to return to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Lower number lodges (single figure) will be closer to the restaurant and pool. Less of a dusty walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brillgilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

After problems at another resort, the Spice Isle came to our rescue in a heavily booked period. They prepared a room (had been out of service for want of a mozzie net and lamp shade - both of which were found) that could accommodate five of us (we were used to camping on safari so this was no problem) and ensured that our last two nights in Tanzania were relaxing and enjoyable. Staff are great, the pool is fantastic (mildly salty but that is better than chlorine). Food delicious, and though a little pricey ('though wine very reasonable), there's loads of other small local restaurants nearby to help manage costs. Their fruit juices are heavenly. The beach is admittedly not a great swimming beach (expanse of rocky pools at low tide and necessitating shoes at high tide), but the pool makes up for that. Thanks to the team for helping us out.

Room Tip: Lower number rooms are nearest to the pool and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Spice Island Hotel and absolutely enjoyed it. Rooms are very clean and very spacious. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The beach in front of the hotel is not the most ideal for swimming or snorkling but we did not feel that as a problem, as you can snorkle at other places nearby. The swimming pool is very nice (never swam in a pool which such hot water as this one - lovely not to be freezed when you get in the pool), the food is very good. We never take half board while traveling and did not do it here either because we prefer eating out in the village or town when staying in a hotel. However, it is not a bad option to book half board here since the food is good and the restaurant by night is most charming whereas the restaurants in Jambiani do not really offer a dining experience. We would definitely recommend this place for a stay on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent 4 nights at this resort and we loved it. The restaurant was nice, the BBQ amazing. The portions were huge. Rooms were clean and the service impeccable. For us, this hotel was booked as an all-inclusive but the only drinks that were included in our package were the beer and the house wine. This was clarified one the first day but we had to read about. At reception it was not made clear. We went for a massage during our stay and it also was good. It was a nice way to end our trip to Tanzania.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Nice restaurant area with good food, their pool barbeques are amazing. Clean roons with good service and a personal touch. very friendly personnel. Location is a bit far out, you have to travel quite long to get anywhere. The transportation they offer at the hotel is pretty pricey.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.3 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
43.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
3.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,511 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
249 reviews
42.7 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar

Property: Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
Address: Paje-Jambiani Road | P.O. Box 2484 Jambiani, Jambiani 2484, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Life`s the beach, enjoy the people, feel the culture ofZanzibar!Enjoy the sophisticated island cuisine, fresh seafood and fish as a combination of Indian, Arab, Indian and African dishes; here finds itsperfection. What could be more romantic than a dinner under the starry sky of Zanzibar with accompanied by the full moon of the Equator or aperfect breakfast on the beach with the rising morning sun of the Indian Ocean?Our oriental lounge gives you a breathtaking view over the Indian Ocean. Seated on cushions, you can read here, listen to the music or just simply relax and let your soul flow. Over the sea pier youare reaching our Jetty bar and the water sports center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing