We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pure relaxation, enjoy beach, sun and good food.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zanzest Beach Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“pure relaxation, enjoy beach, sun and good food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

On the southern end of Jambiani, you will find Zanzest, located right by the beach -- it almost has a little private bay. Walking to central Jambiani is almost a bit far, but who needs to walk if you can spend the day relaxing in this beautiful sandy beach paradise, with a bunch of bungalows to stay in. It was recently renovated by an Italian couple, and is well maintained. Staff is friendly and responsive, and food in the restaurant was very good too. We really enjoyed a lazy and relaxing holiday at Zanzest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fahrenheitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    48
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
21
110
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at Zanzest for 9 nights in january and really enjoyed our stay!
Its a small place that was renovated by an Italian couple in late 2013. They did a great job and do now have a really lovely place.

Pro:
- lovely staff
- very good Food (don't miss the Seafood bbq on sunday and the special seafood soup)
- only around 10 rooms/bungalows so its very informal and quiet
- very good value for money
- very nice chill out "area", perfect for a sundowner

Cons:
- wifi is expensive
- sometimes the dishes are a little small


During and before our stay we did most of our communication and organization with sharif. We had some last minute changes which he incorporated very quickly. (If you read this, thanks and hakuna matata ;))

We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a relaxed place!

Room Tip: The lion room does have the best view but is smaller than most of the other rooms and has the smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

I’ve stayed 4 nights in Zanzest and it’s the perfect place to relax and this for different reason. First of all the location is great, in a creek with its own private beach, it’s at the same time at short walking distance from Jambiani. Secondly the view on the sea is just amazing; the accommodation is very nice and friendly as well. The restaurant is incredible. First it has an amazing terrace with view on the sea. During my first breakfast I’ve got the surprising visit of Monkeys on the terrace (unfortunately they didn’t come back in the next few days). Secondly the food. Zanzest has a lot of advantage but the most important one is the food. If you like seafood, Swahili and Italian food it’s the place to eat. It was just so good, I tried many different place in Zanzibar and no one reached the level of Zanzest. Finally the manager (Sharif) and the owner (David and Analiza) are very friendly. They will make sure you are fine and satisfy all your request. One of the good thing is it’s a small place, so you are not only a client but you are a guest as well. Do not hesitate, book to Zanzest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumeMathieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a great time here. Italian owned - with an emphasis on great food (which it was) at reasonable prices. Amazing desserts. All the staff were great, and the manager Sharif ensured a very smooth trouble-free stay. The breakfast, compared to other places we stayed in Zanzibar, was by far the best - plenty of fresh fruit, eggs anyway you want it..and the most amazing avocado smoothies!

Very relaxing chill-out atmosphere, and away from the busy resorts.

Would definately recommend and go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sinzaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzest, Direttore at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your review and thanks for choose zanzest , Always you are welcome.
Asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

I spent 4 days at Zanzest and enjoyed every minute. The service was thoughtful and attentive and the food was excellent. The menu has a wide range of choices, particularly for such a small resort and meals are prepared and served with a flair that reflects Zanzest's owner's Italian heritage. The food is prepared in a spotless kitchen. My room (the Leopard Room) has a porch overlooking the ocean. If you like the sound of surf and wind, you'll enjoy restful sleeps and relaxed days. During high tides, the swimming is good. At low tides, there is a very wide expanse of beach to explore The resort is small and rustic with locally made chairs and tables in the outdoor bar and restaurant. Although secluded, it is within 5 minutes' walk (along the beach at low tide or on the road) to other nearby resorts. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzest, Direttore at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thanks ,thanks , this is Zanzest.

Asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We are a family of 6 persons, who stayed at Zanzest 3 nights from 3rd. January 2014. We can highly recommend the place, with nice rooms, an excellent location and good service from the staff.

Niels Andersen and family

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Niels A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzest, Direttore at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thanks a lot ,and was our pleasure to have you here, you were a good company.
Asante sana.........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Zanzest is a good budget option. Their staff worked very hard to ensure everyone enjoyed their stay. The food was very good -- they had wonderful breakfast options (the fresh fruit was wonderful!). Since Zanzest is the last place on Jambiani's stretch of beach, it was very quiet and very peaceful.

My hesitation with the hotel was this: we were in their newest room, that nobody had slept in before. It did not have a mosquito net over the bed, and there was no air circulation in the room because there was only one small window. At night, the power went out, so the fan stopped working. It was stifling hot in the room, so we had to open the door to make it bearable to sleep. With that, all of the mosquitoes and flies came into the room so we were eaten alive at night. I would not have had a problem with having to open the door, but there was no mosquito net. We discussed our issue with the staff and asked to move rooms, but they did not move us and they did not give us a mosquito net. The room was very nice, but I would have preferred to stay in an older bungalow with more windows and a mosquito net. Hopefully they have plans to make the new room better - maybe add an AC unit? I'm not sure how else they would make it better.

You can't really beat the price when you're in Jambiani, but honestly I would have been happy to spend a couple more dollars a night and stay somewhere else down the beach. We are giving the hotel 4 stars instead of 2 or 3 because the staff were really wonderful and worked very hard to make sure everything went smoothly for their guests.

Room Tip: I would avoid their newest room - the hippo room, unless they have a mosquito net and have added mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzest, Direttore at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for having stayed at Zanzest, we proceeded to put the mosquito net in the room, it was in anticipation before the opening here but unfortunately the timing is always the longest because they had to change the bed.
Asante sana.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
15.3 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
30.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
46.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
2.1 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzest Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzest Beach Bungalows

Property: Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani | Mfumbwi, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zanzest Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzest a resort with 11 rooms renovated in july 2015 run with love and passion for Italian, located at the end of the village of Jambiani, a corner of paradise where you can relaxing enjoying the turquoise color of the sea, and the nature of the show with 2 strips of sand white. Restaurant with selection of typical Italian, with attention to detail, pizza at noon, and Swahili dishes cooked by qualificated chefs. Area with sun beds, bar where you can enjoy cocktails or smoothies fresh fruit enjoying the quiet tranquility and colors of the African land. An ideal place to relax and enjoy a good cuina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Zanzest Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzest Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing