We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Bergville, South Africa
1 review
“Honeymoon experience”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lovely place to visit for our honeymoon! Very friendly and help full owners and staff!

Loooooved the view of the ocean. Nice and secluded place... Thank you for a great stay and friendly service!

Enrico and Carla Cronje

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carla5190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    51
    8
    6
    4
See reviews for
23
118
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kampala
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This place was just okay. The beach was pretty but there was so much coral it's not a great place for swimming. We spent three nights in the Hippo room which was billed as being beachfront....and it was, kind of. It was set way back from the beach and there is actually another structure in front and off to the side. The room smelled badly of mildew causing me a headache the entire time we were there, which was in addition to the backache from one of the worst beds I have ever slept in. We could feel the wood slats right through the flimsy mattress.

The hot water was broken for about 50% of the time. We offered to change rooms but the manager said no since he did not want us to pay less. So, we stayed without hot water and paid more: makes perfect sense!

We arranged dolphin watching through the hotel and it was a sad,sad experience. The car that picked us up had "ecotourism" written on it but the experience was the opposite. They chased down the dolphins then screamed at us to get into the water. Hands down the saddest nature experience ever and I would STRONGLY encourage Zanzest to identify proper tour operators.

The food, was amazing. The best we had our entire trip. Everything was freshly prepared and on time. Their chef is spectacular!

The owners were gone and the manager on site was,well, a little on the shady side. Upon departure he basically screwed us over on the exchange rate and we lost about $20 on it then he begged me to get on here and provide a review. So, here it is, hope he enjoys!

Room Tip: NOT the hippo room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abwooli_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davilis2013, Proprietario at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear customers,
and very sorry we could not have been those 3 days, we are always at the Zanzest because we want to personally follow and check that everything is ok for our customers, but sometimes we also have other personal proble from resolve.Zanzest is located at the end of the village of Jambiani, we have a piece of the beach depending on the tides varies, sometimes it is covered with sand sometimes there is coral but this is a feature of the high sea coast.When there is access to the sea is directed and you can even swim obvious that at low tide you have to walk along the beautiful strip of white sand in order to make the swim. As the holiday period you have chosen the period of the rains and this causes moisture in the rooms, then this year it rained time.This' true that we have 2 other rooms with sea view the Hippo is the 3rd bedroom with a view central. Often have problems with water, and try as quickly as possible to resolve the problem, the technicians who have been called I have personally heard and they told me that the problem was in 1 hour resolt.Su one thing I want to point out a lot, we work with drivers and captains of trust, we organize excursions and offer them before we made, we love animals very much and respect the nature, unfortunately our captain of trust was not available and the manager called other persone.Se this and the result would have preferred to avoid, and i'll try to read up on these people who obviously with us for our principles can not work for the Zanzest.
greetings
annalisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elze, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2014

During my holiday on Zanzibar, I stayed in several hotels. The Zanzest satisfied me more than any other hotel. The hotel is small and remote, allowing its guests easily to relax. The rooms are basic, but clean. The restaurant provides local and Italian food of high quality. All hotel employees are really helpful and friendly. Especially the hotel manager is dedicated to his guests. That is, he helps you in planning any trip you want to go for.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On the southern end of Jambiani, you will find Zanzest, located right by the beach -- it almost has a little private bay. Walking to central Jambiani is almost a bit far, but who needs to walk if you can spend the day relaxing in this beautiful sandy beach paradise, with a bunch of bungalows to stay in. It was recently renovated by an Italian couple, and is well maintained. Staff is friendly and responsive, and food in the restaurant was very good too. We really enjoyed a lazy and relaxing holiday at Zanzest.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fahrenheitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at Zanzest for 9 nights in january and really enjoyed our stay!
Its a small place that was renovated by an Italian couple in late 2013. They did a great job and do now have a really lovely place.

Pro:
- lovely staff
- very good Food (don't miss the Seafood bbq on sunday and the special seafood soup)
- only around 10 rooms/bungalows so its very informal and quiet
- very good value for money
- very nice chill out "area", perfect for a sundowner

Cons:
- wifi is expensive
- sometimes the dishes are a little small


During and before our stay we did most of our communication and organization with sharif. We had some last minute changes which he incorporated very quickly. (If you read this, thanks and hakuna matata ;))

We had a great time and would recommend it to anyone that is looking for a relaxed place!

Room Tip: The lion room does have the best view but is smaller than most of the other rooms and has the smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Howie206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juba, South Sudan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I’ve stayed 4 nights in Zanzest and it’s the perfect place to relax and this for different reason. First of all the location is great, in a creek with its own private beach, it’s at the same time at short walking distance from Jambiani. Secondly the view on the sea is just amazing; the accommodation is very nice and friendly as well. The restaurant is incredible. First it has an amazing terrace with view on the sea. During my first breakfast I’ve got the surprising visit of Monkeys on the terrace (unfortunately they didn’t come back in the next few days). Secondly the food. Zanzest has a lot of advantage but the most important one is the food. If you like seafood, Swahili and Italian food it’s the place to eat. It was just so good, I tried many different place in Zanzibar and no one reached the level of Zanzest. Finally the manager (Sharif) and the owner (David and Analiza) are very friendly. They will make sure you are fine and satisfy all your request. One of the good thing is it’s a small place, so you are not only a client but you are a guest as well. Do not hesitate, book to Zanzest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuillaumeMathieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We had a great time here. Italian owned - with an emphasis on great food (which it was) at reasonable prices. Amazing desserts. All the staff were great, and the manager Sharif ensured a very smooth trouble-free stay. The breakfast, compared to other places we stayed in Zanzibar, was by far the best - plenty of fresh fruit, eggs anyway you want it..and the most amazing avocado smoothies!

Very relaxing chill-out atmosphere, and away from the busy resorts.

Would definately recommend and go again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinzaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zanzest, Direttore at Zanzest Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear guest, thanks for your review and thanks for choose zanzest , Always you are welcome.
Asante sana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.3 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
46.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.3 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
439 reviews
30.1 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 11 in Kiwengwa
1,536 reviews
15.6 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zanzest Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zanzest Beach Bungalows

Property: Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani | Mfumbwi, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Zanzest Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zanzest a resort with 11 rooms renovated in july 2015 run with love and passion for Italian, located at the end of the village of Jambiani, a corner of paradise where you can relaxing enjoying the turquoise color of the sea, and the nature of the show with 2 strips of sand white. Restaurant with selection of typical Italian, with attention to detail, pizza at noon, and Swahili dishes cooked by qualificated chefs. Area with sun beds, bar where you can enjoy cocktails or smoothies fresh fruit enjoying the quiet tranquility and colors of the African land. An ideal place to relax and enjoy a good cuina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zanzest Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zanzest Beach Bungalows Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing