We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mango Beach House
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$174
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mbuyuni Beach Village(Jambiani)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$89
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zanzest Beach Bungalows(Jambiani)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$72
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$88
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zanzistar Lodge(Jambiani)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveller rating
101
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
101
4
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmangoperfect place to staypancakesfresh fruit juicecats and dogsrelax atmosphereother guestsindian oceanoverlooking the oceanguest housespanish omeletteevery morningsticky ricelaid backbeautiful gardenfive daysstayed for nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 107 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

I recently spend 3 nights @ Mango Beachhouse and I would happily recommend anyone to stay there. They have 3 rooms which literally look out onto the beach/ocean. Open you doors every morning to sound of lapping waves and you're transported into another world.
Lisa & Kiddo are fantastic hosts - happy to help/advise you on anything.
We rented bicycles for a day and rode them along the beach as far as Bwejuu - wonderful experience.
The village literally behind the guesthouse is a great little venture with happy children running around and friendly local with a warm Jambo greeting.
Swimming is all about timing the tides - otherwise a great 20 mins walk to your right almost as for as Coral Rock and you have a great reef to swim along.
The beach is always buzzing with some form of activity or another and time passes you by sweetly.
Kiddo is a great chef. We ate every meal @ Kiddo's cafe (apart from 1 lunch - a big mistake) and would highly recommend the same for anyone staying there. The juices are magnificent and just leave it up to Kiddo to surprise you.
Room is spacious and clean with mosquito nets.
A truely wonderful stay and I look forward to returning some day soon.
Mango Beachhouse is true gem in Jambiani
Thanks Lisa & Kiddo

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChapmansPeak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

As a long-term volunteer living in Jambiani, I am going to Kiddo's Cafe and Mango Beachhouse every weekend to enjoy a couple of hours of relaxing with deliciously fresh juice and yummy home-made pancakes. The view from the terrace cafe is stunning and invites you to just sit and stare for hours - but if you prefer to socialise, Lisa and Kiddo are there with a wealth of information about tourist attractions and local life.
I have never stayed overnight at the Beachhouse, but I have seen how much effort and care Lisa and Kiddo put into the place - lovingly decorated rooms, a peaceful garden and the Indian Ocean as your front yard. Against the mid-size to larger hotels that you find elsewhere, this little guesthouse stands out with its personalised service and attention to detail.
This is the kind of place everyone always hopes to find on their trip, and whether you are a family, friends, a single traveller or honeymooners, you will sure find your own little place of paradise. I thoroughly recommend you to stay here when you visit Jambiani!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sinerle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

A small group of us wanted to spend some time and relax in Zanzibar so we were recommended by a friend who lives in Zanzibar to stay at the Mango Beachhouse. The hosts were very helpful with arranging us transportation from the airport to the beach house which is about 45 minutes from the airport. We arrived in the evening where the hosts, Lisa and Kiddo had prepared us a wonderful fresh seafood meal that filled us all up. The ice cold beer was a nice touch.

Each room has a bathroom with shower and the beds are comfortable and have mosquito nets. Because its so warm, you only have a sheet to sleep under which is more than enough. My room had a big fan to help circulate some air at night which made sleeping so much easier.

You can lounge in a variety of beach chairs and recliners within a fenced front yard and still see the ocean or venture out into the warm water with the locals. The local sellers and dealers stay away when you are in the yard.

For the more adventurous, you can rent bikes, or arrange a snorkeling trip on a dhow boat with one of the locals. The best part for me was just floating in the warm Indian ocean and searching the white sandy beach after the tide had gone out for one more amazing sea shells that might of washed up.

The hosts are a wonderful couple that work well together, are very friendly and are not intrusive in any way. Kiddo hosts a cafe at the beachhouse and creates a wonderful selection of fresh fruit juice drinks that are out of this world. Breakfast is included and consisted of fresh baked buns, omelets, veggies, fruit and coffee. Dinners were usually fresh fish, rice and veggies. I found that prices for everything was very reasonable.

Thanks Lisa and Kiddo. I hope to be back and see you again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebdak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We stayed at Kiddo’s café – the Mango Beachhouse – last December 2010/January 2011. It was the perfect stay…..

In every way this is the most magical retreat for an authentic Zanzibarian get-away. It’s a true ‘home-from-home’, your own private beach residence. And the picture-perfect white sand beach is virtually private to you too….the most stunning, turquoise-aqua, warmest of warm sea is literally on your door-step.

Because there are just the three rooms available, there is plenty of room for guests to relax in the beautiful, palm-tree garden, which has the softest white sand underfoot, and private shaded areas to escape from the hottest midday sun. Every room has it’s own huge terrace, looking out onto the garden and the sea beyond.

Each spacious room is tastefully decorated in under-stated African/colonial style. Large, comfortable beds with mosquito nets, personal trinkets and shells collected by Lisa herself (she and Kiddo are your hosts), and mango-wood shutters at the windows. At night, because each room is so private from another, you can sleep with your doors flung open to the night air – and fall asleep to the sound of the waves just a few feet away.

The beach at this end of Jambiani feels far more part of local life (and few tourists around) – you will see the little wooden catamaran style fishermen’s boats bobbing about in the crystal clear waters, colourfully dressed ladies carrying their wares up and down the beach as they collect the local seaweed, and little children playing in the sea and calling “Jambo!” to you with big smiles all round. The village is just behind the house, which gives you a connection with the real Jambiani. Borrowing bikes from Lisa and Kiddo, we had the most wonderful, fun rides through the pristinely kept village, and the local people were so friendly and welcoming everywhere we went.

Lisa and Kiddo are the perfect hosts – they immediately make you feel right at home, helping you to relax and chill out from your first day. Lisa gave up so much of her own time, taking us to special places that we would never have discovered otherwise, arranging fishing and snorkelling trips right on your doorstep, always making sure you have everything you could possibly need – and she makes the most heavenly vanilla pancakes at breakfast!

Sit overlooking the ocean in the gorgeous tree-house style café, whilst Kiddo whips up the best fresh tropical fruit juices ever. Your day starts with this and an exquisite tropical fruit platter, along with the ‘heavenly vanilla pancakes’, or perhaps a Spanish omelette – so huge you won’t need to eat again until dinner!

And on that subject, dinner is normally what has been caught fresh from the Indian Ocean that day – the most succulent, perfectly cooked coconut-crusted fish is one example of what might be on the menu….simply delicious! By the end of the holiday we felt as though we’d had the most amazing ‘detox’ ever with all the fresh fruit, vegetables and fish – and everything as organic as you could ever hope to have at home.

We left Jambiani feeling not only as though we’d had the most special adventure ever, but also that we’d made real friends during our stay – Lisa and Kiddo are a wonderful couple. We will never forget our stay with them, and definitely intend on going back one day. If you choose Jambiana, you couldn’t find a more perfect place to stay, leaving you with the most precious of memories. Heaven….

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fergy&emm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews