We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic place to relax” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango Beach House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mango Beach House
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to relax”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We stayed at the Mango beach house for 4 nights in December 2013 and I cannot recommend this place more for a relaxing stay. The location is amazing, the room we stayed in was great, the service is very friendly and the food was fantastic - especially the dinner and breakfast (I'm not a big breakfast person but Kiddo's pancake and special mango and passion fruit compote was out of this world). Thanks Lisa, Kiddo and Team for an unforgettable trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    3
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
48
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2014

We spent 9 weeks in Zanzibar, the first 6 in Paje, the last 3 at Jambiani Mango Beach Lodge/Kiddo's Cafe, I wish I had found this little piece of Zanzibar first!
When you arrive your welcomed with a cool fresh fruit juice and shown to your room. The rooms are fashioned with African artefacts and beautiful shells collected by Lisa, one of her passions! Your patio leads to the garden which is well maintained, swing loungers, beds with cushions and pillows to relax in the shade, along with the towers for great views of the coast line. There's also a fire pit for special evenings .
Lisa is so knowledgable about Zanzibar that you'll not be lost for things to do, wether it be organised trips or the do's and dont's of local tradition.
Food is authentic, with fresh fish, vegetables, and fruits. Bread fruit chips are amazing, as is all the food. Breakfast is welcoming, large platter of fresh fruit, fruit juice, home made jams and local honey, chose from pancakes, omelettes and muesli. A great start to the day!
The restaurant is on the second floor so you get a panoramic view of the changing colours of the ocean.
Jambiani is quieter than Paje it has a more authentic vibe!
We're planning a trip back in 2015.... We can't wait.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAFYTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
embu
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

this lovely place run by Lisa and Kido is amazing,,, visited there a couple of times, sometimes with a few friends others solo. has always worked well, Kidos restaurant faces directly the sea the cuisine is always amazing... homemade with a personal touch i will say... lisa is an amazing host, always there with a keen ear and definitely an eye for detail.... i think my review of Mango beach house is way overdue but definitely a must go for accommodation, or for the breakfast pancakes, or for a smoothy during a stroll of the Jambiani beach or even for dinner....

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superstarEmbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

Unfortunately we were locked in at another place down the beach a bit but we ate here every night and it was such a great experience. The set up was a buffet style meal where you book and then eat with the guests. It was homely and sheltered, but also with an outstanding view being up on the second storey. The place we stayed turned out to be a bit of a nightmare - Basil Fawlty could have learnt a thing or two from the management - as the management changed every day. At the Mango, the owner is the manager and she is hands on. what a difference. It saved our time in Jambiani.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hikeopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

It's simply one of the best places I have ever stayed in, we couldn't believe our luck. Lisa is great, very nice person, and the food at Kiddo's Cafe is AMAZING. Only three rooms here so you get to know the other guests and are seated with them for dinner, which is fine if you get on, and if you want privacy I imagine they would set up your own table. Good price, great attention to detail in the rooms, and right on a nice beach where you can swim at high tide, but not any other time. All in all this is one of the top three places I have ever stayed...I just can't remember what the other two are yet!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conor C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

What a wonderful place. Only 3 rooms and therefore perfect for relaxation. The host, Lisa, is wonderful and lovely. The location could not be better. 3 wonderful days and definitely a place worth coming back to!

Room Tip: Every room has sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TobyLeupold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012 via mobile

This review comes a bit late as I was just too lazy to get an account. :) we travelled in Africa for a month and ended our long and sporty vacation at Mango beach house. When we arrived we were greeted by Lisa and Kido and from that moment onward we just unwinded. Kido makes some really good fresh fruit drinks, the rooms (3) are very clean and cozy and very beautifully decorated. I especially liked the bathroom and shower which seemed to be built from ecological materials. Mango beach house also takes very good care of the environment which for us is important. The beds are really comfortable.

Lisa is a great host, who makes sure you enjoy your stay. You feel like you are home. The breakfast and other meals you can get are excellent. Be sure to eat at least once or twice dinner that Kido prepares!

The beach is clean and I would say Mango Beach house has one of the best spots on the beach. But you can only use the beach and swim at low tide, it's quite rough during high tide. Its not a problem as the beach house has beach beds inside the yard.

We will definitely go here again when we travel in Africa!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ari-Pekka_fin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
1.6 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Villa de Coco
Villa de Coco
#10 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Beach House

Property: Mango Beach House
Address: Beach Front Location, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Mango Beach House Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing