We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Kristinehamn, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one week in feb -14 during our 3 week stay in Tanzania and this was our favorite place, we realy loved it. The only thing we missed was a pool due to the tide and if we wanted to cool down in the middle of the day we had to go so long out go get to the water. But besides that it was good, in particular the girls in the rastaurant. They were realy nice, they could be the nicest persons i ever met, they always had a smile on their lips. And they came with tee to us even if we didnt ask for it, i have never got better service neither before or after then i got here. The food in the restaurant is also very good, tasty food and good prices and a very nice location just by the beach. The manager was also he very serviceminded and friendly. The water here had much lesser seeweed then in Paje.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 17 September 2016
Thank you very much for the time you have taken to write a review, and thank you very much for you very generous words about us. We are happy that you have enjoyed our location and the food. I have passed the message to the staff and they say, “Ahsante Sana” – Thank you very much!

Many thanks for choosing to stay with us.

“Karibu Tena” – You are welcome again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    36
    46
    12
    2
    4
See reviews for
12
49
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at White Sands for 2 nights, and it was the nicest place we stayed in during our trip. Price-quality is excellent, it is very well maintained, and it is situated right on the beach. The food is great too, and the staff is very welcoming and helpful. Unfortunately, our room was probably the worst one in the hotel, since all the other ones were occupied (even though we reserved well in advance). The bed was big and comfortable, but the room was very small, had no closet space, the TV was not working, and we had no terrace. The other rooms looked much nicer, so when you book, make sure you get a good one. Apart from that, no complaints, I would definitely recommend this hotel to people traveling to Zanzibar!

Room Tip: The beach front rooms are $10 more expensive, but well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we are grateful for your generous remarks. I would like to apologize for the error with the room reservation and thanks for your understanding on this issue.

We appreciate the valuable feedback you have given us and I have discussed these issues with our manager to be resolved, which will ensure more comfort for our esteemed guests.

Thanks again for staying with us – Asante Sana (Thank You Very Much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a beach front bungalow for 4 nights. The location, right on the beach, is lovely and we were really happy with the bungalow - comfortable bed and clean bathroom with hot water. No AC but we didn't really need it. Free breakfast was good and varied. The hotel has sun beds and hammocks right on the beach front which was nice. A bit of a walk (30 mins) to the centre of Jambiani and the main strip of bars/restaurants but it is safe to walk (even at night) and there are closer options if you don't want to walk. The only downside was the painfully slow wifi - so slow as to be basically useless. There is no pool, and the tide can go out very far during the day, so it is difficult to swim at times but that's Jambiani. All in all, a good value option in Jambiani.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Thank you very much for the opportunity to have you at Jambiani white sands and for your generous remarks about us!

As for the issue of wifi, we have discussed the matter with our internet service provider, which was due to high usage during the season. We are currently working on upgrading our subscription as recommended by the service provider, which we hope will solve this problem.

Thanks again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

From the moment of booking, we felt very welcome at White Sands. On arrival, we were met by the manager, who was very nice and welcoming. The first room we were shown was a bit shabby with a very dated bathroom, and the tv wasn't working. When alerted about the tv, the manager quickly offered us a new room, which was stunning.
The channels are mostly local, so not great for English-speaking westerners, and the internet barely worked during our stay. Normally not an issue if there's plenty to do. Unfortunately for us, the area and the resort was a bit too quiet, and the fact alcohol isn't served left us rather bored. However, if you're looking for a quiet getaway with not much to do, I would recommend it.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank limeykgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Thanks for the review and we appreciate very much the comments, which will help us to improve the place and the services. Please allow me to respond to the comments as follows:

(1) ROOMS: We have completed phase one of our renovations and have now new rooms, the old room will eventually go, and new one better improved will be constructed. It is ongoing process.

(2) TV channels: We are negotiated with cable service provider to provide more options for our guests.

Thanks again and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centurion, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent 3 nights at Jambiani Bungalows. Rooms are excellent for a 3* resort, the restaurant is great, with a wide variety of local and international dishes. The food is good, reasonably priced! Breakfast is substancial, deliscious. The location is excellent! The resort is right on the beach (at high tide our room was about 5m away from the sea!) surrounded by local villages, and within walking distance of other hotels/resorts all along the beach where you can grab something to eat. You certainly won't be bored! There is allot to do see and do here. Allthough they do not serve alcohol at the restaurant there are a few vibey resorts with bars within walking distance along the beach. We felt very safe walking there at night.

The owner is always around, very helpful, warm and welcoming, and did he's best to help us organise daytrips at the best prices.

I would return there any time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adplessis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and we are grateful for your generous remarks about us.

We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Jambiani and this is what makes our Day!

I have passed your comments to the team here, and they say, “Asante Sana!” – Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We stayed 10 days in White Sands - over the Christmas in 2013. Most of the other resorts were fully booked at that time and we got to know many other foreigners who stayed in Jambiani at that time. By comparison with the other resorts - I can honestly say that this one (White Sands) was the best in terms of the value for money. It is located in the middle of the beach in Jambiani village (everything is close, unlike the other resorts located in the far ends of the village). It is located directly on the beach. It has the reasonably priced restaurant with tasty food - they put the right amount of spices (unlike some other restaurants) and we knew many other visitors coming to eat to our restaurant. And most of all - the owner (who is local) takes care of his hotel business full time, by providing advice to the visitors, being really friendly and proactive - you can always see him around. This makes a big difference and adds a personal touch to this hotel bungalows. The breakfast is delicious, during the day (every day) you get a free spiced tea, you always get some extra salads from the chief. We had a small child with us - we got a baby bed and electric kettle to the room without even asking.
We have visited many countries in most of the continents - and this one is one of the best we ever stayed in.

Room Tip: The ones with the direct ocean view are great (because of the view) but the ones in the back are als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Happy New Year!

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and for your generous remarks about Jambiani Whitesands. This is what makes our day as a team here that our guests have enjoyable their vacation and carry good memory of Zanzibar Island. I will pass the message to the team and thanks again for staying with us.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We have stayed in Jambiani White Sands during our time in Zanzibar. We have checked other places before we took this one, but White Sands convinced us by its nice rooms and surrounding set. The bungalows are right on the beach and have been very well decorated. We spent 3 days in this hotel and were really happy with it. Perfect place to relax and enjoy the beach. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fabi27102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jambiani-Whitesand, Owner at Jambiani White Sands Bungalows, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review and for your kind remarks about our beach location and the rooms. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time at Jambiani Whie Sands. This makes us very happy!

Once again thanks and many regards from us here!

Ahsante Sana (Thank you very much!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.7 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
556 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
2.6 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.4 mi away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jambiani White Sands Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jambiani White Sands Bungalows

Property: Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
Address: Jambiani Beach, Jambiani 254, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Jambiani White Sands Bungalows 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jambiani White Sands is located right on the beach in the quiet tropical village of Jambiani on the South- East Coast of Zanzibar Island. About 30 to 40 mins drive from Zanzibar Airport, the Ferry and the Stone Town. Situated on the picturesque white sandy beach washed by clear azure waters, Jambiani White Sands is the place to enjoy the sun, the sea and the tranquility of nature the Spice Island of Zanzibar has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Jambiani White Sands Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing