We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

This review is long overdue but time goes by fast! My boyfriend and I stayed at Mamampambo after we had spent time in Tanzania climbing Kilimanjaro. We were so pleased we had chosen this hotel, it was the perfect place to relax, very chilled and away from the busy hotels in the North. The Italian owners were extremely welcoming and friendly but not too in your face. Our room was modern with 4 poster bed and nice little touches like chocolates on the beside table and candles, the shower was also great and powerful enough. The owners are happy for you to walk around in your swimwear and no need for footwear as you can walk straight from your room out into the terrace to sunbathe and lounge on the sunbeds. Breakfast was served pretty much when you were ready to get up, tables were already laid out ready for the chef to serve fresh fruits, orange juice and coffee, followed by eggs and toast. The menu for the evening is displayed on a chalk board and evening meals need to be ordered by 11am, the food was amazing, fresh fish everyday and pasta dishes and all delicious, wine and beer also available! The beach is down a few steps and the local children wil always stop by to say hi but if you ignore them they soon leave you alone. Ensure you take enough cash to settle up as there are no cash machines anywhere near by! The owners can also arrange trips if you fancy going snorkelling or to see the mangroves, I would stick with just the snorkelling as the mangroves are a bit of a walk in the baking sun. I would defintiely stay at Mamamapambo again if I ever return to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: If you want A/C there are only two rooms which have this so make sure you request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JXLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    44
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
208
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We have been in Mamamapambo 4 nights, end of the year/start of new year and it has been a great experience. It was our first vacation in Zanzibar and we likely selected Jambiani and Mamamapambo to start our trip thanks to Tripadvisor suggestions.
It is a small hotel of 6 rooms front of the sea and very well integrated in the village of Jambiani. Seaside is beautiful with long tides which allow you to freely walk for kms and discover starfishes, white sandbanks and corals on your walk.
This was already above expectations (and note we start from an high benchmark being Italians with many vacation spent between Sardinia, Sicily, Salento etc).
But the most pleasant surprise was to discover how it is life in an African village. Jambiani is still not a very touristic location so this allows you to have a good balance between good infrastructure and the authentic African village life.
People in Jambiani is wonderful, you can walk safely in the village even overnight, talk with people see how the local live (and we learnt all the economy is based on women work), enjoy local food and make a real African immersion and life experience.
The hotel is very good quality, room is spacious, well equipped, clean and nicely decorated with African style and included a great quality breakfast. Finally the hotel owner and staff it is always present and available to help.
Hotel is located seafront, it has a private small beach where you can relax and from there go for long walks with low tide or a bath when the tide go higher. If you choose room see front (which I would recommend) you also have a nice terrace/balcony private outdoor which offers amazing views (while the 2 standard rooms on the back are a bit dark).
And as said, it is very well integrated in the village as from the back door of the hotel you are literally in face of the local houses in the middle of the village.
what else? just few remarks, 1) the hotel extras (dinner, renting bike etc) are a bit overpriced vs what you can find outside in the village or other hotels we visited 2) you need to get used to the sea waves during high tide you may hear overnight 3) you don't have fridge in the room (I guess the capacity of the hotel electric power system don't not allow) and sometime even in the bar drinking water bottle is not exactly cold, but please realize you are in Africa and the hotel staff is very available in helping you deal with this.
Overall great experience and we do recommend it

Room Tip: Choose sea front room- it will cost you a bit more but all worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giovanni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Mamamapambo felt like a home, and Jambiani was stunning. We had a wonderful stay. Paolo and Cristina, the owners, are very thoughtful and the staff are so hospitable and kind. The rooms are beautifully appointed and spacious, and the beachfront is gorgeous. All in all, Mamamapambo is an incredible place to stay and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Everyone at Mamamapambo was so accommodating. Paolo and Cristina were so helpful from the first email to the final goodbye. All of the staff were so friendly and helped us with anything we needed or any questions we had. The location was wonderful. We are right on the beach that is quiet so we had privacy. There is a village across from the resort, so we often saw children running around the beach and greeting us.
The food is phenomenal, very fresh seafood. The staff arranged for a cookout two of the nights that we were there (we stayed four nights). They had everything from lobster tail, crab legs, kebabs, fresh fruit and salads.
When it came to excursions, I could not ask for an easier experience. All we would do is tell reception where/what we wanted to do and it would be arranged for us. We could decide the days and times that we wanted to go. The Stone Town tour was very informative and interesting to walk around the main city in Zanzibar. I definitely recommend the Spice Tour. The guide is amazing and at the end the workers give you fresh fruit picked for the trees and there are fresh spices to buy for cheap. We also swam with the dolphins. It was a lot of fun seeing the dolphins. Just know that these dolphins are wild and not the kind that let you hold on to their fins and pull you or push you by your feet. You basically follow them on a small boat and jump in the water and swim like crazy to follow them, then hop back in the boat. repeat. We thought it was worth it though.
The rooms were nice and clean. There is a small lockbox in the room, but honestly there is no need for it. The sheets were always clean, but smelled a bit musty, which makes sense being so close to the water.
The electricity would cut out sometimes, but never lasted too long. Once the water ran out, but Cristina and Paolo were able to quickly bring some into the resort. Neither of these were issues in our minds, as we came to sit and relax on the beach, not sit in our rooms.
I would definitely return and recommend this resort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skruege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed just one night at the Mamamapambo, I chose it based on top Trip Advisor reviews in my price range in the area. It was really lovely - big pretty room, huge bathroom with plenty of hot water, dual sinks and a porch with armchairs and a hammock over the beach. The staff was so nice, considerate in letting us keep our room well past check out time to shower and pack after snorkeling. We had a swahili dinner under the stars (nice but as with all meals/drink a bit pricy). Our snorkeling excursion in a dhow with sail - can't remember name - was the highlight for me, not the fish viewing but the sailing, amazing! Prices are listed in Euro (I think because owner is Italian?) they let us pay our bill in a combination of dollars and shillings, which was helpful. Food was really good. Beach was thronging with locals and both picturesque and interesting. At high tide, water is fantastic for swimming, at low tide you won't be able to swim, so keep that in mind.

Room Tip: Room one - excellent, on the beach. HOT at night with only an overhead fan. ROCK HARD bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_Torres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We spend just 3 nights with couple friends. The view from the rooms 5 and 6 is amazing, although it's a bit too hot during night.
The owners pay a lot of atantion to food quality, we tried almost everything and it was always perfect. The drinks were also very very good and reasonable size. Pinacolada was the best in my life.
Cristina and Paolo - thank you once more for your hospitality

Best regards
Pawel

Room Tip: First floor with see view, no A/C but the view amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pawel12345O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Mamamampambo for 5 nights in November 2013 during our Honeymoon and that experience was even better that we could ever imagine, really!
We stayed at the room # 6 (Deluxe Room with sea-view) on the second floor with our own sea-view veranda. I could spend hours there watching breathtaking view of high and low tide changing, watching local people everyday life: men fishing on theit traditional boats - dhow, women picking and drying out seaweeds, children playing and sailing toy boats.. The hotel is located in the middle of Jambiani village so be ready to experience the local colours of runnung village life with all the accompanying smells and noices. Nevertheless, that don't bother you at all because as soon as you get there you feel as a part of this strange interesting world. Local village people are friendly, especially children who are curious, mischievous and never miss a chance to speak to tourists and ask for some treats.
Food was oustandingly delicious for reasonable prices, plentiful breakfasts, rich choise of dishes for dinner. 2 times a week special dinner is served in the garden for all guests: swahili food dinner and BBQ dinner. We were lucky to experience swahili dinner and my husband and I concurred that it was the most delicious dinner while in Zanzibar.
Hotel is located rather far from StoneTown and other touristic places so that's the best place for those who are looking for relax and quietness, romantic location on the beach makes it perfect for honeymooners. We rented a car for the whole period of our stay in Zanzibar so we were free to drive around the island and arrange all the tours and other activities by ourselves. However, if you don't have a car the hotel offers a range of tours and can arrange transfers wherever you need.
The hotel is decorated in African style with impeccable taste, each detail is unique, has its own soul and perfectly fits its place. We were so amazed at the hotel design that asked Paolo and Krisitina to let us bring our photographer (who was coming later to take pictures of our HoneyMoon) to shoot on the background of their awesome hotel. They were so nice to agree though at the moment of photoshooting we already left the hotel moving to the north of the island. Thank Paolo and Kristina so much for that and for the amazing romantic candlelight dinner they arranged for us in the garden. Thay always were so friendly and helpful and made our stay at their hotel unforgettable!
No doubt we would recommend this hotel to our friends and if we come to Zanzibar in the future we'll be glad to stay there again and again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have their own open verandas with fantastic sea-view and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krivetochka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
2.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
43.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 mi away
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
Zanzibar Retreat Hotel
#1 of 6 in Matemwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
27.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
43.4 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Property: Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing