We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice nice nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Mamamapambo is located directly on the beach in Jambiani, as soon as we arrived we had the impression of being welcomed in a special place and we were not disappointed. Everything was special for us, who were on honeymoon, and there was organized a wonderfull private dinner in the flowered garden, lobster, prawns, crabs and giant great champagne. Unforgettable.
спасибо

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yuri k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2014

The 6-room hotel is located in Jambiani, a very quiet and untouristy place in the southeast of Zanzibar. Perfect location at the beach, very personal setting. Nice food, friendly stuff and wonderful atmosphere made it one of the best places we have ever been to!
Highly recommended for people who just want to relax and discover a bit from typical zanzibarian way of life.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My stay at Mamamapambo was a real treat. I spent just a few days there but wish I could've stayed longer! It truly was heaven on earth and the perfect ending to my safari adventure. The staff were extremely accommodating and made my stay really special. As many of the reviews mention, staying at Mamamapambo is like staying with a friend -- so much warmth, hospitality, and personalized touches.

The food was also excellent -- fresh and tasty! The homemade jam is incredible!! The cocktails were quite good as well, but can be expensive. They offer a variety of different tours and activities (e.g. snorkeling, swimming with dolphins, etc.) - lots of options for those that want to explore the island a bit more. I spent most of my time laying around in the sun beds which was delightful. :) It's very peaceful but it's also situated in a neighborhood with families and children so sometimes you will encounter children selling sweets but nothing too disturbing.

I stayed in Room 6 with a perfect little veranda overlooking the beach. There's no air conditioning, only a fan - so it can get warm at night. If you open up the windows you can get a nice breeze going. The room was very spacious, with a waterfall shower in the bathroom -- really fantastic! I also loved the decor of the entire place, so charming.

My only regret is not staying longer, I would definitely go back and stay there again! A big thank you to the Mamamapambo staff for such a lovely holiday!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ezrah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

If you feel like ACTUALLY getting away to a cozy, friendly place this is probably a great choice, great food, comfortable rooms (no air conditioning though) but fans are good. The food is specially great and the people who help around the house are a trip.

Room Tip: There are two great choices depending on what you want. If you want privacy and a great ocean view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catalina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

If you prefer a big resort with a big swimmingpool and distant from the local community - dont go to Mamamapambo. But if you prefer a cosy, personal and quite place with good food and neighbouring a local village - go here!

Beware that it can become very hot and humid on Zanzibar in rainy seasons, we thought that it would be cooler but it was the opposite, almost unbearable in the nights.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Draken67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We are delighted to have found this secluded, intimate and uniquely beautiful hotel.

It is a small hotel, with only 6 rooms, and is located in a peaceful, local village. The hotel’s interior is adorned with beautiful ornaments; each carefully selected to create a typical African ambiance blended with the romance of paradise. The exceptional hospitality of the staff invites smiles from every guest while enjoying a wide selection of deliciously prepared foods in the intimate restaurant every night. Each room is spacious and beautifully decorated; some with a view of the ocean and others with a view of the village. Our room (Room 4) looked out on the ocean and was completely secluded, with a private veranda and two hanging beds, where we spent hours relaxing and reading while sipping on delicious cocktails. We also had our own little private beach-garden with sunbeds, where we sometimes preferred to enjoy private breakfasts and romantic dinners. But what we loved most about this hotel was that the owners treated us like friends and made us feel like guests at their home.

If what you’re looking for though is a big resort with lots of people, a swimming pool and a huge white beach, you won’t find that at Mamamapambo Hotel. But if you wish to break away from all that and experience romance in absolute serenity, beauty and seclusion, alongside the local village life of Zanzibar, then this is the place for you. We would recommend this lovely hotel any day.

Room Tip: All of the rooms were nice, but we thought that Room 4 was the best because of its total privacy. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeandiPaulitsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We enjoyed the friendly people, the good service and the food in Mamamapambo Hotel. It's a good place to relax. We liked the silence and the amazing blue ocean (unfortunately big difference between ebb and flow).

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
2.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
2.7 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
2.4 mi away
Zanzistar Lodge
Zanzistar Lodge
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.3 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#4 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
534 reviews
27.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,707 reviews
4.8 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 695, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
#1 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: £74 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mamamapambo Boutique Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing