We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic guesthouse with warm and caring staff”
Review of Stonehouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jambiani
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Stonehouse
Ranked #15 of 41 Jambiani B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed at Stonehouse for a couple of weeks, and truly enjoyd every single day of the time spent there. It's a simple house with nice rooms and a small bar, nicely lokated directly on the beach. A lovely place to wake up at. There is a kitchen were Juma makes absolutely wonderfull dishes (whole grilled fish wiht spiced rice and Jumas pizza are my favourites). The staff took so good care of us, helped us in every kind of way.

I highly recommend everyone who's looking for a place to stay, with a warm and caring staff, to contact Stonehouse! I'm most definitely coming back! Whitout a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Public Relations Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2013

Dear mrs/mr,thank you very much for your feedback and time. We are very much grateful to receive your humble satisfaction. look forward to se you again! Thanks that you chose to stay with us. we se it as opportunity.
WELCOME!!!
Kind regards/Stonehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 24 December 2013

A modest guesthouse with a fantastic location on east coast of Zanzibar (just south of Paje). We booked online with the manager Peter who lives in Sweden and also experienced some confusion after we settled in as the staff had put us in the wrong rooms (upstairs) and then wanted twice the rate cited. All was solved by next morning, but bottom line for any place is to make sure you take a print out of your booking details with you. Staff friendly and made us a snack of veggie samosas - they started from scratch - no fast frozen food here - and were the tastiest ever! Although the samosas were good we checked out local restaurants for dinner - places where there was a bit more variety to the menu.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have more wind whistling through them (good) and are brighter than the downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank g r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Public Relations Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 December 2013

First of all,we would like to thank you for your time,feedback and your choice of staying with us.
Secondly,we would like to say sorry,cause we could not make you satisfy 100%.
From the beginning,they asked us If we could help them to rent a car and find a driver who could drive them arround the Island few days before they come to Stonehouse. We did it, with one heart and we did it for free of charge.Normaly,another guest house charges for more services. We did not ask them for single dollar. It become as another part of our services. it tokes us many hours and days to find a nice car and driver. They can`t even say thanks!
Any way,our guest they made first,a reservation throw our mail address for one night only for the room with two double beds. And we asked them to pay 60usd for the room per night with breakfast for four of them.Normaly this room cost 70usd(family room). After few days before they check in,they asked us again if we could reserv the room for two nights instead,and we sayed yes. The day when they cheked in, the guest house was almost empty and becouse, they did not like the room which they made reservation,(down floor) we showed them another rooms. But the price of this rooms are different. The price for a double room with breakfast cost between 60 and50usd. They prefered to take two double rooms, which is upstair rooms and we decided to give them offer. we asked them to pay 35usd for each room including breakfast. This price is more cheaper then the low season price.They made their own choice to take it and we did not push them. Normaly we do not charge our guests before they check in or when they make their reservation . People they can still say no, we do not want to stay here and we do not charge no body nothing. We want people to make their own choice before or even efter they check in. You still havethe right to say no, I do not want to stay here. Sometime comes some geusts who were already made their reservation here,and efter they arrived here, they tel us no we do not want to stay here becouse your rooms has no toitet inside. We say okey to guest,but remember that, we said no to the other peoples becouse of your reservatio and now you tel us no I have to go and I do not want to stay here. it hurts a lot special efter,when we say no to the other guest becouse of them .Many people they make their reservation here,and when they come here they say no we do not want to stay here becouse your rooms has got no toilets incide. We let them go ,even if they did not ask us about the toilets before.Thats why We recommend people to read our home page care fuly befoer they make their decision, just to avoid some miss understanding. RIGHT NOW OUR ROOMS HAS NO TOILETS INCIDE,IT MEANS WE HAVE AT THE MOMENT ONLY SHARE TOILETS . Our hope is to make every one satisfy. That why we would like each and every one to give us a fair feedback. Your feedback is very important for us.
Kind regards/Stonehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

All started well, we had good email contact with the manager and were picked up at the airport. Then it turned out that the manager was not on site - he lives in Sweden or something. The onsite staff, while being friendly were simply not up to the task. We were asked for the money before we had the chance to unpack our bags. We paid 3 nights up front. As it turned out, this was smart on their part but not smart on ours. We would have left after the first or second night but the guy who we paid was no longer around. This was the problem, the staff simply came and went and we didn't know who to deal with. It ended up that the taxi we had booked (through the staff member we dealt with on the second day but never saw again) to get to Stonetown didn't arrive and we had to wander around the village looking for someone who could help. luckily we found the cook and he organised a taxi for us. So why did we want to leave? It was the start of June which is the start of the main season and they were whitewashing the place. The wind was blowing the fumes right into our room so in the late afternoon we asked the the senior staff member (the third in 3 days) if the painter could stop and resume the next day. He said he'd deal with it but the painter refused point blank to stop saying he wouldn't get paid if he didn't do a full day. This was the problem - if a proper manager had been there he would have dealt with the situation easily. Another thing we had a problem with was that other guests arrived and negotiated a price that was the half of what we had paid (as we had booked in advance). Yes i know this is africa, but it still hurts when that happens. We sent all our time (lunch and dinner) at another guesthouse down the beach owned and operated by the same person and holy cow, what a difference. On the plus side, the location was great - but i'm sure you could say that about Fawlty Towers as well.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hikeopath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Now if you are looking for the party scene, Jambiani is probably not the place to go, as it is a lot more quiet. However for a chilled out "rest" you can't beat stonehouse. The staff are very friendly and attentive, the rooms are modest but clean and the shower is awesome. The food too is simple but tasty and well priced. The beaches are tidal in jambiani so it pays to check when high tide will be to avoid a large walk to the water.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phil1111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2013

Dear Mrs/mr/
Thank you very, very much for you helpful feedback. we will continual work forword to keep our rooms,service,cleaning more attractive.
We thank you ever so much!
Best regards/Stonehouse team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for a week at Stonehouse in Jamiani, what a great decision! Everything was arranged for us - we were picked up at the airport by Zion, the manager, who even arranged dinner and drinks for us on the road in another village. The staff were great, Elias was a fountain of information and so friendly, and James, in the kitchen, was a great cook. His chapatis are sensational, and the breakfasts and dinners were super. The house is lovely and quiet, any noise on the beach didn't disturb us at all. We had thought to travel around, and Elias drew us maps and laid out places to see in Stonetown. The price was perfect for us, and there were plenty of restaurants around for variety. The diving and the snorkeling in the area was great, comparable to most I have seen other places in the world. Sailing, swimming, shelling, terrific days relaxing on the beach under some trees, sipping a drink. Heaven! We stayed upstairs for the breeze, though downstairs rooms have fans. The view was great!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gallinacanyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Dear Mrs/mr!
We thank you very much for your feedback and Stonehouse is very happy to see that your vacation becames wonderful .
Hope to see you in the future.

Kind regards
Stonehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

We had come to Jambiani without making prior reservations, so we went ahead and checked a couple of places out before deciding on where to stay. Stonehouse was the first place we saw, and we were foolish enough to waste time looking at other places only to return to Stonehouse because it was just the best! Imagine this: azure and turquoise waters, sparkly white beach, waving palm trees, all in your back yard.

Immediately after arriving we were given a warm welcome by Zion, and we later met the other super friendly staff members like Elias and Maraka. This is once of those places that is not just a hotel or guest house, but actually a home away from home. It's the people that make it so special. Stonehouse is small scale so after a day you'll know everyone around here and you'll find out how friendly and accommodating they are. To give some examples, they prepared vegetarian meals on request for us, got a hold of fresh coconuts when we asked for some, and when Zion spotted us far out somewhere on a walk he offered us a ride back home. You'll be sure to make new friends here. The place appears to be mainly run by men (I've only seen women come in to clean every morning) but if you are a lone female traveler please don't let this put you off. You're in good hands here.

Other than this welcoming atmosphere, Stonehouse has some other major pros:

- Location right on the beach: at high tide you step from the garden right into the warm Indian Ocean, at low tide the beach is just at your door step. In your backyard, you find the wonderful village of Jambiani. You can walk right into the village and observe the locals in their daily life. This does not feel like a beach resort aimed at westerners, but simply as a great place to relax right in the middle of Zanzibar life.

- The house is spacious and breezy, with pleasant (if simple) rooms and shared bathroom facilities which are kept very clean. The warm showers were also very enjoyable. Besides the garden it has two big common terraces / balconies with sofas and beds and books and a spectacular view on the ocean.

- The garden is a wonderful place to hang out, to enjoy your breakfast (included in the price, and very yummy with fresh fruit, juice and chapati) or a drink. It has a small bar on site where you can order drinks and snacks and you can also have lunch and dinner here on request (don't expect swift service, ingredients usually have to be collected before they are cooked so have patience like anywhere else in Africa, or order well in advance)

- It won't hurt your budget! We found this a very good deal considering what you get. Of course you must keep in mind that this is not a luxury resort but a simple guest house, but it had everything we needed and more.

Nearly every night the owners would make a camp fire on the beach and position logs, chairs and couches around it to create that perfect island feeling. If you are lucky, their acquaintance Yahya will come over with his guitar to complete the picture.

When we were here the tides were pretty extreme: the water went out really far at low tide. This however created a spectacular variety of colours of the beach and ocean, and when the tide is out the local women come to gather sea weed and small shells/clams which is interesting to watch. The best times for swimming here are at sunrise (around 6 am, and of course this is also very beautiful) and around 4 pm when the water is fully back again. I understood from a local that the extremities of the tide depend on the season; in other months the sea does not venture out so far at low tide.

In the neighborhood are plenty of simple restaurants to choose from and while the beach is fantastic, just make sure not to miss out on a walk through the village. You'll meet lots of cheerful kids who are definitely not camera shy.

The owner Elias is in the process of building a second Stonehouse, more inland. From the looks of it, it will also be wonderful.

Originally, we had planned to spend most of our time in Jambiani in a low budget place like this one, and then splurge on something luxurious and more expensive during our last 1 or 2 nights. In the end, we didn't go anywhere. We gladly stayed in Stonehouse, because why would you go anywhere else but here? Perfect island bliss is what you'll find here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank due_passi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Mrs/mr!
Greetings from Stonehouse.
Thank you ever so much for your warmly feedback. We are very gratful to se that your vacation/dream cames true here at Stonehouse.
Kind regards/Stonehouse team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We just spent 2 and a half weeks at stonehouse and had an amazing relaxing stay. Zion and his staff became family with personal and friendly service continually striving to assist and provide you with anything you needed. Breakfast was good with a selection of fresh fruit egg and chapati or bread. we had intended to travel around the island but stonehouse soon became our home. We look forward to going back. If you are looking for a quiet laid back vacation this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Islandtimetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter F, Manager at Stonehouse, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Dear Mr/mrs.
Thank you ever so much for your positive feedback, you are giving us so much more energy.
We are very happy to hear that your vacation become wonderful and you did enyoy to stay at the Stonehouse.
WELCOME AGAIN!
kind regars/ Stonehouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
3.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
1.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
577 reviews
1.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#6 of 13 in Jambiani
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spice Island Hotel & Resort Zanzibar
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonehouse

Address: Jambiani:East Coast | Kichakanyuki, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range: £28 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Stonehouse Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing