We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel in village setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Hotel Zanzibar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Art Hotel Zanzibar
Ranked #14 of 34 Jambiani B&B and Inns
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel in village setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2013

We stayed at the Art Hotel for three nights and had a great time. Yahya was a great host and really looked after us - he was so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms are brand new and are really lovely and comfortable. We really liked the traditional touches such as sarongs instead of towels and flowers on our bed when we arrived. The food was really delicious and we ate there every night because Rajup (sorry if I spelt your name wrong!) was an amazing chef. As with most places in Zanzibar the food does take a while but we just ordered our meal early evening so that it was ready when we wanted to eat - no problem at all! The hotel is in the village so staying here is a different experience to staying directly on a beach - but that's exactly what we liked about it and why we decided to stay there.

For us the highlight was definitely Yahya and Rajup (and Victoria and Saida) - they were all amazing and really looked after us - I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamhannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamilahKabelele, Owner at Art Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 15 November 2015
Thanks a lot for your time writing here , i hope this will help other travelers to choose the right place.

We are doing our best to increase our services.

We are very happy to welcome at Art Hotel your next visit Zanzibar.


With kindest regards


Jamilah and the Team Art Hotel Zanzibar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    15
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
16
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Hotel is clean enough (but shower evacuation is not clean, remove it if you do not want to flood your room), breakfast OK.
For all the rest, it is quite BAD, we usually had to request to open the water then you need to wait 10min, hotel is in the village but there is not even a wall to hide the pool, so it is a bit strange to ask ladies to cover their shoulders in the village but to have an open view in the same time. The hotel is not really in front of ocean, there is a road quite dirty with buses on the morning, and lot of animals also visiting the garden of the hotel...
Beds are absolutely AWFUL, you can't make it harder, curtains are very transparent, no privacy at all. Rooms do not have safe, neither tea/coffee maker as advertised. Forget also their towels, it is more kind of bobo rag, so it is nice and fashion but you are still wet... But it must be what they call "touch of luxury".
Staff is really young and lot of their friends are coming to visit them, so you do not really feel like in a 4 rooms hotel. Also the pics from the hotel are not showing the part of the ocean really in front of the hotel with all the algae, delivering an horrible smell at low tide... this is the "ocean breeze" mentioned in advertising. Also, the staff is not proactive at all and if you still want to stay there, order your food 1h30 before you want to eat (not joking). And if you do not like to sleep with light switch on, forget it as there is big spotlight always switched on at night outside. One good point, it is nearby a good restaurant on top of a rock with good food at right price.
And the hotel is really far from Stone town & airport, not 45km but more 70/75km and at least 1h15 to go to the airport.
Last point, after I booked the hotel, I have contacted them by email (from their website) to ask few recommandations, I am still pending for their answer.
At this price, it definitely does not worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LDK_3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamilahKabelele, Inhaber at Art Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
After three days without wind to kitesurf, our customer moved out with out any information in advance. He just asked to pay him the money for 10 nights back. He booked over christmass and new year. We offerd him to pay him the nights back which we were able to resell his room, but he didnt accept our offer. He just went straight back to the Airport.

We had only one customer from Hong Kong. We don't know 9eorge and we dont know LDK_3122 our customer travelled alone. We spent a lot of time and kindness to him. We answered alll his questions and believe, he asked a lot. We dont like to clarify each point from him, these are his personal feelings and showing his personal perception, which we can't share with him.

Art Hotel wants wants to be an antithesis to mass tourism by beeing a part of the fishermans village Mfumbwi. We like to offer you the possibility beeing a part of it during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

my wife and I spent 3nights Feb 2013. i believe the hotel has only just opened so with abit of experience it could be excellent.
I was looking for a locally owned hotel in jambiani. and this was the closest i found. (although the owners live in Switzerland) the family do run the hotel.

there are only four rooms. during our stay only one other room was in use for one day, and then we had the palce to ourselves for the rest of the stay.

the staff are nice. Yayah who was running things was very sweet and helpful. he found us a decent tour guide for some activities.

The food at the hotel was VERY nice! lovely breakfast! and the chicken curry!!! was the best chicken curry we ever had! and we are from pakistan! But please remember this is zanzibar! so book your meal at least 2 hours in advance!!!!

I think it is a little overpriced for what it is. but this is zanzibar so i understand. but for more than a few nights its expensive.
the location is fairly decent. but it is VERY local. which we liked, but not everyone will like.

basically it is run by locals, so dont expect western standards.

it was clean and comfortable with a nice breeze.

I think this place can do very very well...but at the moment its price should reflect its experience level. i would say -$80per night is ok.

the swimming pool was lovely.

Room Tip: all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank khosseini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamilahKabelele, Owner at Art Hotel Zanzibar, responded to this review, 15 November 2015
Thank you very much for enjoying your holidays.
We are working hard to increase our services

-We now do actives and excisions by ourselves and advice our guests not to make business with beach boys.
-Free wifi
-Towels in the rooms instead of Kikois
-Safe boxes
-New website with more and open informations
-We fixed sculptures around the area
- New beach restaurant on the front of the hotel

Welcome again !

Kindest regards

Jamilah and Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Spice Island Hotel Resort Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Uzuri Villa
Boutique Hotel Uzuri Villa
#7 of 34 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Hotel Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Zanzibar

Property: Art Hotel Zanzibar
Address: Village Road, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Art Hotel Zanzibar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the beach in the heart of Mfumbwi, a fishing village, you will have the opportunity to experience Tanzanian daily life at first hand. Our cook will spoil you daily with a modern twist on traditional Tanzanian food and drink. The Art Hotel is run by a Tanzanian family living in Tanzania and Switzerland who would love to give you an impression of Zanzibari culture. Enjoy your holiday in our garden, on the beach and in the village. The team of the Art Hotel is looking forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your Art Hotel Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing