We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 days in Jambiani”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Coral Rock although not that cheap was a nice place to stay a few days in Jambiani. Staff is very friendly, room conditions are ok maybe the toilet needs a little restoration only. I had some sort of tiny private beach in front of my room which was very nice especially to watch sunrise. Restaurant is also ok however beer could be a bit cheaper :-) There is bike rental available and you can book some trips directly from hotel. They also do transfer from/to airport which is convenient and not that expensive. The surrounding is also nice, beach is super beautiful. There is this low/high tide thing so if you wanna swim in the morning you have to do it before 10am or then after 14pm. Or in pretty nice however small swimming pool :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macio77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JambianiNeil, Owner at Coral Rock Zanzibar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at Coral Rock and for sharing your experience with other travelers. Your feedback is much appreciated. Potential guests should be aware that the timing of the tides changes by an average of 40 minutes every day and sometime completely switch over during spring and neap tides. A low tide on one day can arrive between 11 and 110 minutes later the next day. The cycle takes roughly 15 days and therefore the tide times one guest experiences can be totally different for a guest arriving during another period. To get accurate tidal information (times, heights etc) simply type "zanzibar tide table" into google and get up to a years info from the mobile geographics site. It is important to mention that the real star of the show at Coral Rock is precisely this movement of the tides over the sandbar that creates the ever-changing scenery loved by our guests. It's Coral Rock's unique location that offers an unparalleled panorama of this wonderful phenomenon in action.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

196 - 202 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed at Coral Rock for a week, travelling solo. From the first day I felt welcomed from everybody working there, but most of all from Neil, the owner, and Paul who was the man for everything.
The view is simply breathtaking, photos can't do it justice. The scenery changes during the day, so it can be low tide in the morning when you can walk on the white sand watching the locals going fishing,farming the seaweed and collecting shells, and high tide in the afternoon when you just jump in the water and swim right infront of the hotel! The small swimming pool is great, since you can cool down in the water when there is low tide.The bar-restaurant offers a panoramic view (and good food..) as it's on a rock that splits the coast into 2 beaches.
The room I got was nice and comfortable, A/C and wi-fi included. The ones around the pool and the bar are more noisy, if you prefer it quiet and private go for a beachfront room.
As Coral Rock states on its website, it's located in the village of Jambiani, meaning kids are playing on the beach and the moment you step your foot out of the hotel you are amongst playing kids , locals that chill out infront of their houses, goats and anything else that you expect to see in an african village. There are some guards but it doesn't have the feeling of a resort isolated from the suroundings, it's like a part of the village.
Keep in mind this is not a luxury resort, but a laid back place which still provides some comfort and amenities (in a place where few years ago was difficult even to visit..), and it's made and operated by people who have taste and obviously like what they do. As I said already, I felt welcomed, I met other people that were on holidays but expats as well, since the expat community in Jambiani is small and Coral Rock is one of the places to hang out. Neil was always happy to have a drink with me, as well as with other guests, same for Paul. Saying that, the place is ideal if you're travelling solo, you'll never feel alone.
If I go back to Zanzibar, I know where I'm staying..

Room Tip: Rooms close to the restaurant are more noisy and social, the beachfront ones are more quiet and priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tassosGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

An absolutely stunning property, set in the best location in Jambiani. Private and peaceful days, with weekends livening up with their weekly Saturday Night Party* Staff are friendly and welcoming, rooms are beautifully decorated and exceptionally clean, food is delicious. There is a generally good and comforting vibe to this property...you suddenly feel safe, at home, and at peace once entering the gates* I have been over and over, and will come back time and time again. I fell in love*

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laylaherbst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We were working near by so became regular visitors to coral rock throughout our 5 week stay. The staff were amazing and it was a fun and welcoming atmosphere. Ideal location with a pool overlooking the sea. The food was great but be warned, it can take hours to arrive! Saturday night parties can be good fun.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my two friends only stayed for two nights but everything was lovely from the friendly and welcoming staff, great food and amazing view.. The room was really good, lovely and clean with everything we needed. I would love to stay at Coral Rock again...

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annahajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Let me start by saying that the location is fantastic. The water is pristine. Just like the website says though if you are looking for a traditional resort experience this location isn't for you. It is located in a village and as a result there are lots of locals around. My boyfriend and I are learning swahili so we really loved having lots of people (especially kids) around to talk to but if that's not your thing then you don't want to stay here.
The food was good but we were there for six days and it got a little old after awhile because we are both vegetarians and there was a very limited selection for us. I think if you ate meat you would have been fine there. The prices, I thought, were a little high but they pretty much have you because there's not a ton of places around.
We stayed in room 13 which was nice and had a private sun bathing area but there was an issue with the hot water the first few days we were there. Don't be afraid to ask to see several rooms. We looked at a couple and though 13 was the best.
We also liked having the sea kayaks to use for free. Overall a nice place.

Room Tip: Room 13 is fantastic; make sure the AC and hot water work
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Coral Rock Hotel between 9-12th May. The location is amazing, the views are STUNNING, the room was beautiful and very clean, the food was delicious and the staff were very attentive and helpful. They even organised for two local women to give us a massage and a henna tattoo the day we arrived!

We didn't have much hot water for the shower, but everything else was so perfect that it didn't bother us.

We would definitely recommend staying at Coral Rock hotel - we had an idyllic 3 days and didn't want to leave!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annasambell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
29.8 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,681 reviews
46.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
267 reviews
2.2 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
5 mi away
Cristal Resort
Cristal Resort
#3 of 8 in Paje
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Rock Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Rock Zanzibar

Address: Mfumbwi, Jambiani 4125, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: £54 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coral Rock Zanzibar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coral Rock is one of the most popular small to mid-size hotels in Zanzibar. We offer incredible views and an authentic Zanzibari experience that encourages local and cultural interaction within a functioning Swahili fishing village. Our aim is authenticity & value for money. The unrivaled view and location has been home to international fashion shoots by the likes of Sports Illustrated and FHM, as well as almost half a dozen reality TV shows on account of the striking and unusual natural beauty and panoramic vistas that can be enjoyed from every room and facility at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Coral Rock Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Rock Jambiani
Hotel Coral Rock
Coral Rock Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing