We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our magical week at Blue Oyster”
Review of Blue Oyster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Oyster Hotel
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We spent our honeymoon at Blue Oyster Hotel in Jambiani, Zanzibar. The location is beautiful, the staff extremely friendly and helpful, and the food is great. Kemi Tours, the hotel's sister company, organises tours all over the island at reasonable prices, and our guides in Stonetown, Jozani Forest, the spice farms and the Butterfly Centre were knowledgeable and interesting. We could not have expected more from the experience - a magical week at a fantastic hotel. Well done!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JPCastleden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2011

This was the first of 3 places that we stayed in Zanzibar on our honeymoon and by far the cheapest. While the rooms are quite basic they are clean and have nice balconies with beautiful views and comfy chairs, and the huge semidari bed was very comfortable. There was always hot water, clean beach towels and staff on hand to help.
If you like to see a bit of local life I'd really recommend this location; the beach is busy at low tide with locals gathering seaweed and spear fishing, which makes for some stunning photography. The village is just behind the hotel and so long as you're suitably dressed the locals are very welcoming and the kids love to have their photos taken.
Although there are a few locals on the beach selling their wares there are no hard sells and they don't come up to the hotel sun deck area.
The staff are friendly and accomodating, the food is average - ok for the 5 nights we stayed but would get a bit samey if you're there any longer....oh, and don't hold off until you're starving because 45 mins was the average wait for even a salad...at least you know it's made to order!
All in all, for the price you pay this is an excellent hotel, and the location is stunning.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naomi084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

The Blue Oyster is located on the East side of the island, and it was quite windy while we were there, although the sea-breezes were a welcome change from the humidity of Stonetown. It was also very peaceful, and with nice touches such as staff bringing pillows and mattresses for the sun-beds.
The only downsides is that the tide is out for half the day, so you cannot swim, and the very pushy sales technique form 'Captain Zappy' who takes people out on sailing and snorkelling trips. As two females, my friend and I felt quite uncomfortable with this

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sleuthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2011

An incredible well run hotel with staff that really care about your well being. The rooms are spacious and very clean with large comfortable beds. The first floor location of the restaurant is superb and the food and service excellent with a daily change in menu. Staff are happy to bring you food and drinks to your sunbeds. Don't miss exploring the village. You can walk for miles along the beach at low tide. The hotel will also arrange trips all over the island as well as safary trips to the Selous Game Reserve. We had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelcatsbeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed for 4 nights.

+ price/value (60/70 euro pnpr)
+ beautiful location
+ given the price, good food
+ western run, noticeable
+ friendly staff
+ nice beach(beds)
+ great views from the restaurant/bar

Overall a very recommendable place. Think the best midrange price hotel.
- fighting cats at night
- snorkling is not worthwhile (all dead coral at Jambiani)
- bad coctails
- very expensive internet

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rbrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

We stayed at Blue Olyster for 6 nights.

Here are our impressions:

Pros:
- Friendly, helpful German owners. (Father is the owner, son is the manager)



Cons:
- Very slow service at the restaurant
- Not having the sea all the time is annoying
- Sea is not good for swimming (weeds and stones on the surface)
- Far away from other parts of the island

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travel_reviews10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

The only thing wrong was that they were booked up so we couldn't stay longer! The Blue Oyster was a welcome choice and for the weary traveler, an oasis of relaxation and fun. We stayed 5 nights and they offered different activities for day trips through a local operator, different meals and special dinners for Christmas eve and Christmas. The beach is alive with local villagers living a real African life. The rooms are spectacular and ours had a porch and walk out to the beach chairs. The staff were incredible and friendly and helped at every turn. When one of our kids got a high fever and other symptoms, they quickly called in a doctor. Everyone was so happy there and it was easy to meet others as everone was content and relaxed.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hoflav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
1.8 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
568 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
261 reviews
0.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Zanzistar Lodge
Zanzistar Lodge
#2 of 13 in Jambiani
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Oyster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Oyster Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 007, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range: £57 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Blue Oyster Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Friendly Place Hotel Next To The Beach Offers Rooms With Sea View And Rooms In A Court Yard, Open Terraced Restaurant With An Extensive Menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Blue Oyster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Oyster
Blue Oyster Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing