We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The good choice!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Visitor's Inn Hotel
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Paris
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The good choice!!!”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

Hello,
Lover of Jambiani, it makes 6 years that I stay every year in July and in August in this hotel and I am delighted.
Spacious room and bathroom with all the comfort (AC, ventilator, mosquito net, fridge) renewed this year.
Pleasant and very helpful staff, in the reception as in the restaurant.
Very clean Hotel, ideally situated in Jambiani, in front of the ocean.
Cheap for an excellent service.
On activity practised with the hotel: Snorkelling, city tour, jozani forest, everything was perfect.
In brief, a paradise for those who want to discover this village.
If you do not want you deceive, Visitor' sinn is the choice to be made.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank albinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    19
    18
    7
    10
See reviews for
3
17
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aarhus
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

This place is not hell at all. People who write such negative comments, has either had very false expectations of the place, or has not been at the place at all, but just wants to do it harm.
It is a quite cheap hotel, and like everywhere else, you get what you pay for.
But for this budget, Visitors Inn is a very good deal!
Some of the rooms are brand new, some older, but all of them are quite clean.
You cannot expect hot water all the time, that is a general problem in Zanzibar.
When I was there, there where no problem, and if something was not working, the staff was very helpful.
Anyway, you dont go to Jambiani jo stay in a fancy hotel, you go there to enjoy the beach, and this IS one of the very best beaches on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmolkjaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This hotel is a friendly,family run bed and breakfast hotel providing good quality...
Great value for accommodation for tourists and Business travelers.
Rooms have compact (small) en-suite facilities and are equipped with a colour Tv.
Reasonable price,very helpful staff ,cleanness and Quiet place..

I'm pretty sure to say this hotel ensure quality efficiency and reliability for the ultimate satisfaction of their customers...

The only bad thing was my debit card never worked to make payment in this hotel and I had to go to the cash machine every single day which was a joke really..but apart from that fantastic holiday to remember..

If you want a sandy beach hotel just one minute from your room...this is the right place for you..
Many thanks
Frank Bruce
UK

Room Tip: I like the room more close to the sandy beach/Indian Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankbruce86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Österreich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

If you like....
... to ask every evening at the reception, somebody to come, to fix the problem of no water in the shower!
... to pay different prices at the restaurant then your neighbour do!
... waiters at the restaurant, which english level is good, as long as there is no problem.
... to pay 4 times more for a spice tour when booking tours at the hotel, then somwhere on the beach.
... roosty old water inventory.
... to sleep in super cheap beds which good times are long gone!
... a dirty hotel areal.

Then you will be happy w/ the Visitors Inn! All others please book somewhere else!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AustrianMango78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jambiani hotels

Europe
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2009

This hotel is a complete NO-NO !!

To fly so far a way as Zanzibar in order to stay in 1-star conditions is the worst mistake one can make.

The rooms are extremely basic and cheap. They lack any ambience and everything is extremely cheap. All bathroom amenities are rusty or oxidised. Everything is damp and stinks because of mildew.

The walkways between the bungalows and the beach are old, dirty and extremely decrepit.

We didn't have the chance to eat there, as when we saw the conditions, we immediately moved to another hotel.

I would not consider it even for a youth hostel, because the whole place was empty, only about 5 tourists.

The worst thing is that you cannot realize the "quality" of the place from the website. On the site, it looks OK but when you get there, the reality is totally different.

BEWARE and DON'T GO!

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — the smell in the rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricks_4_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

In all fairness to the management of the Visitor's Inn, I have to admit that this wasn't our first choice, so our expectations might have been too high for this price category. However, all other options were fully booked, so this is where we ended up.

What's most striking about the Visitor's Inn is the speed with which word travels to the local hawkers and touts about new arrivals. Of course, this comes as no surprise when you find out that they're being updated by the Inn's staff. Accordingly, service quality declined in direct proportion to our stubborn refusal to fall for any of the peddling that rendered a quiet day on the beach absolutely impossible. Once you leave the confines of the hotel grounds, you won't spent a minute alone.

Another unpleasant surprise was the proximity to our rather damp and mouldy 'bungalow' of what appeared to be Jambiani's communal TV room set out on an open space in front of the reception desk. Assorted staff members and some of the local youth decided that 6 o'clock in the morning and after 11 at night are appropriate times to blast bad 80's pop music and prayer calls all over the place. Our repeated pleas for mercy on what amounted to the Tanzanian equivalent of Chinese gong torture were met with only lukewarm response and had to be repeated on a daily basis. Oh, did I mention that this is a Muslim-run establishment? So, no booze to ease the pain...

Other highlights of the Visitor's Inn include a stunningly uninspired cuisine at the on-site restaurant (the more so as Zanzibar prides itself in being the 'spice island'); a rather spartanic breakfast consisting of juice, bread, margarine, and the same watery strawberry jam every day; and a 300m ocean walk dodging sea urchins, sea weed, and other assorted gunk to have enough water under the keel for a swim.

To end on a more conciliatory note, the place has potential. Wall paintings by a local artist add a certain charme to the reception area and restaurant, and some guests appeared to be enjoying the attention afforded to them by aggressive beach vendors. But, as always, it's the people that make the difference, and the people of the Visitor's Inn just don't seem to care.

  • Liked — Architectural flair
  • Disliked — Excessive beach hawking.
  • Tips/Secrets — Try 'Andy's Karibuni Bungalows' further up the beach.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
0.0 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
557 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
0.0 mi away
Sunset Kendwa
Sunset Kendwa
#140 of 169 in Zanzibar Island
361 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Visitor's Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Visitor's Inn Hotel

Property: Visitor's Inn Hotel
Address: Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 291
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Visitor's Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Visitor's Inn Hotel Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing