We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice views and kind staff”
Review of Uhuru Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uhuru Beach
Catalunya
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice views and kind staff”
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Shehe bungalows is a very basic lodge with no luxuries. I think it's important being aware of that before going because you are not going to have hot water or air conditioning (but this is Africa!). However, the views from the bungalows are amazing, infront of the sea, and the staff is very kind. The rooms have fans and perfect mosquito nets.
If you are looking for some luxurious place you should look for the hotel resorts in the north of the island, not in Jambiani.
If you are looking for a cheap and basic accomodation, this is the perfect place! Breakfast is included on the price and is quite good. The restaurant is very limited, but there is a lot of places to eat in Jambiani, near Shehe, with good prices.
By the time we were there, they were doing some reforms on the bungalows.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, infront of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catalaneta_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    46
    13
    7
    14
See reviews for
15
60
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I left Vancouver, Canada, on the 24th of November, 2010, and traveled to Capetown to begin an overland tour into several Southern African countries over the next 5 weeks - My trip ended in Stone Town,Zanzibar, on January 1st, 2011 - I stayed on for a couple more days, then set out to travel east and south to Jambiani, not really knowing what to expect - In October I had phoned Fassi Ali, and also sent a couple of emails, but I still wasn't sure if I had secured a bungalow for the rest of my time in Africa - As soon as I arrived at Shehe, and met Fassi, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had a fine bungalow of my own, right on the Indian Ocean! It was exactly what I was hoping for ...... simple, clean, spacious, affordable and right on the beach! The setting was gorgeous and I loved it that the Village itself was just behind us, and that I was able to go there easily and interact with the local people. Jambiani is a well organized Village with a Seaweed Industry, mostly taken on by the women, and a healthy local Fishing Industry, along with a great selection of fresh fruit, coconuts, and vegetables which grew the area - An impressive self sustaining Village - There was also a very enthusiastic group of soccer players of all ages, often training in the centre playing field, near the school.
Each morning, I had a healthy breakfast, at Shehe's restaurant : egg, 3 different fruits, bread or chapati, and tea or coffee - I usually planned my dinner early, and ate it over- looking the Ocean, in the evening - Sometimes I tried other local places in the Village with other Shehe guests. There is no shortage of places to go for meals all along the beach.
The staff at Shehe were really wonderful - Mama Time was present from dawn until dusk, in the centre courtyard/bar area - She would always greet us and make sure that we were alright - She is lovely, and has some of her own important charitable projects on the go - The Ladies kept the place really clean, each day. The Gentlemen were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant - Part of the charm at Shehe was that the power would go out from time to time - This was a wide spread problem with the infrastructure in the area.
I should mention that any attempt at speaking Swahili was always appreciated - Everyone in the area was friendly and welcoming to the travelers - I hope to go back, and spend more time in Jambiani, one day - Shehe Bungalows would be a really good place to stay.
This was a very peaceful and fulfilling experience, and for someone who loves to walk on the beach for hours and hours, I was in Heaven!
Thank you, everyone, at Shehe Bungalows! bjh

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjharrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday staying at Shehe Bungalows, we were planning to travel around a bit but ended up staying for 3weeks and using Shehe's as a base as it was just perfect for us!

The people who ran the bungalows were all amazing, Ade was the main man and was very helpful. From the moment we went to the restaurant for breakfast (or you can collect breakfast and have it outside your bungalow) Kashim,Aliza and Fassi always greeted us with smiles and "how was your sleep?" Which always was great! The breakfast was simple and delicious,a selection of fresh fruit followed by an omelet and chapati. Every morning housekeeping would be sweeping the sand from the path's and the area's around each bungalow making every where look lovely. Gloria was really nice and again everyone was very friendly. If you wanted someone to clean your bungalow then they would but we are tidy people and feel just because we are on holiday doesn't mean we are incapable to make the bed up or change our sheets! If the tide was out Alan would rake the beach for seaweed which always made it look really good.

Mama Time.... well where do I start? Such a wonderful women, everyday making sure everything was OK,that we were happy, enjoying ourself and any problems (not that we had any!) to let her know. Mama Time would always be running the garden beach bar from early till late all the drinks were pretty much the same price as anywhere else along the beach but Mama Time can with a difference.....Profit from Mama Time's Bar went to a village outside Stonetown where she provided food and clothing for local not so fortunate children. Mama Time is doing a real wonderful thing and has touched us so much that we are sending to her children's clothes and things she needs.

Shehe Bungalows is right on the beach at the quieter end. At the beginning of our holiday we had people come up to us trying to sell fruit,goods and tours but as soon as they knew we were not interested people just came along to say hi and for a chat which was another factor why our holiday was so great. Jambiani locals are so friendly and welcoming, we had dinner a few times at (he is known as Mosquito) house where we met his beautiful daughters and the rest of his sisters and brothers. We felt safe anytime day or night , we caught the local dala dala into Stone Town which ok took about 2hours and a very squashed bumpy ride but it only cost a $1 compared with $30 in a taxi.

The restaurant at Shehe's is run by lovely women who really do cook wonderful tasty food, yes you do have to wait a while for your food but you have to remember where you are and the kitchen isn't exactly a state of the art, stainless steel all mod con's fitted. We did find that everywhere we went for dinner we experienced a wait but took it as a way of life and enjoyed another cold Kili...or 2 before dinner! Other restaurants we would recommend are Stone Fish - cheapest on the beach for food and drink, Coco Coco's, Alhapa, One Stone and just down from the post office is a local restaurant that sells the best passion fruit drink, beans and chapati for breakfast, really good spicy rice at lunch and yummy chicken skewers (be careful of bones!)and chips, everything for cheapest price around!

We hired bikes from Songa, he is the artist next to Shehe Bungalows doing Tinga Tinga art. We cycled all the way to the Colobus Monkeys 3hours each way! Brilliant to see the monkeys, a long bike ride on straight roads as far as the eye can see but we had a great day! We also hired snorkel gear and walked/swam out to the reef, unfortunately a lot of it is dead coral but the amount of fish,star fish and other fantastic sea creatures is amazing. We just floated with the tide and then walked back along the beach.

Dolphin Tour - Best thing we have ever experienced, went twice! Organised by Ade at Shehe's. We were really lucky both times, swam with around 30 Dolphins and only one other boat at sea. Totally amazing!

We paid $35 a night for a beach bungalow at Shehe's it wasn't luxury and yes the electricity and water wasn't always available but it wasn't that Shehe turned it off, it's just what happens! So we really feel it was worth every dollar, it was clean, tidy, had towels provided and a mosquito net. All the staff were wonderful and it was in a perfect spot in Jambiani. We fully recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for having taken your valuable time to have written this positive feedback regarding your stay at Shehe bungalows! We will definitely put in more efforts to make sure We keep providing a better services.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I wouldn't recommmend this place. Great location right on the beach but very badly maintained. Our first room had a broken ceiling fan (the door had also been bashed in and had been poorly repaired). We asked to be moved to a much better room. Loo didn't flush. Neighbours room had drains which wouldn't drain - raw sewage in your shower? Service in the restaurant is very, very slow. I became very ill after eating their breakfast - ended up in bed for 2 days feeling very unwell and throwing up. Staff well meaning and do their best but we had such a poor experience I think people should avoid this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thank you for having taken your valuable time to write the feedback about your stay at shehe bungalows that without doubt it real means a lot to our team.
However we do like to take this opportunity to clarify some negativity that you raised regarding our place.
as we do remember during your stay you were not pleased with the room that we provided to you and immediately on the following day as soon as other room became available we offered to you, then We had some power not just our place but in the whole village which caused some damage to the fans in the room but then we did provide some other fan to you , regarding the toilet flash problem , i am sure it did not last for long as soon as the power came back and the water began to operate normal.
Regarding on the food poison issue that you have raised to be fair on us as far as we do remember apart from the breakfast you did not use our restaurant for anything else ,We are 100% sure you was going to others restaurants or village for lunch/dinner where possible you could have caught some food poison from there, as we are sure all our breakfast preparation is done under good care by our team .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2010

nice place, right on the beach

food in the restaurant is lovely but order mid afternoon if you want to avoid waiting for 2 hours for dinner

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thanks very much for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We paid $35 a night for a fairly spacious, white washed, coral-rag bungalow right on the beach front. Our room, B9, had a double and single bed with mosquito nets, fan and private bathroom with cold water shower. The room price also includes breakfast which consists of tea/coffee, fruit, eggs and chipatti.

During our stay the electricity and water supply were a bit erratic. However, this is probably more to do with the local infrastructure than anything else, after all this is a fairly remote part of Zanzibar. Just be prepared to not always have lights or running water.

We thought that the rooms felt a little bit overpriced as they are fairly basic. However; it appears that all of the accommodation in Jambiani is overpriced and this is no worse than the others.

The other plus points are that each bungalow has a little seating are out the front which overlooks the beach and the guys who run the place are really friendly. The restaurant also does lunch and dinner which have to be pre ordered earlier in the day. Other than breakfast, we always ate out so can't really comment.

We also tried Kimte Beach Inn which has worse rooms, that are smaller and dirtier, on the road rather than the beach and cost more ($40)

In summary - probably the best budget option from Jambiani's choice of overpriced accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaverman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Manager at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
thanks very much for the positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at Shehe after Stonetown at the beginning of our Tanzania trip. We spent 12 nights there, and the location and the staff made it a stay of a lifetime. We were blown away by the kindness of the staff, who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Although there was no power on the island we didnt mind, we were brought paraffin lamps at night, and the staff still produced beautifully cooked meals at very reasonable prices compared to many other restaurants we tried.
When my boyfriend became ill and spent a night in Stonetown i was moved by the genuine kindness and concern shown to me, for which i am very grateful.
One day we lost a bag with cameras, passport etc, and everyone could not have been more helpful in trying to get our stuff returned, which it was, with just a couple of things missing- camera was still there, testament to the honesty of the Zanzibarian people.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelleZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#9 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Del Mar Hotel Jambiani
0.1 mi away
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uhuru Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uhuru Beach

Property: Uhuru Beach
Address: | East Coast of Zanzibar, Fishing Village of Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Shehe Bungalows)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uhuru Beach (formerly Shehe Bungalows) is situated on the lovely coastlines of Zanzibar island at Jambiani village on the east coast of the island. It is a beautiful, intimate place, is perfect for those looking for relaxation on an idyllic tropical island, based in whitewashed, thatched beach bungalows, the spacious, airy rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Uhuru Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehe Bungalows Hotel Jambiani
Uhuru Beach Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing