We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Uhuru Beach
Nearby Hotels
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mbuyuni Beach Village(Jambiani)(Great Value!)
US$54
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zanzest Beach Bungalows(Jambiani)(Great Value!)
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Ifa Beach Resort(Jambiani)(Great Value!)
US$56
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zanzistar Lodge(Jambiani)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
74
51
14
8
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
51
14
8
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperb locationcommon areas arelocal musichealthy fooddogs and catsmain buildingsea swimmingchocolate cakekite schoolprivate bathroompower cuthotel is perfectunique placewhite sandpure relaxationyour doorstepbeautiful spot
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Shehe bungalows is a very basic lodge with no luxuries. I think it's important being aware of that before going because you are not going to have hot water or air conditioning (but this is Africa!). However, the views from the bungalows are amazing, infront of the sea, and the staff is very kind. The rooms have fans and perfect mosquito nets.
If you are looking for some luxurious place you should look for the hotel resorts in the north of the island, not in Jambiani.
If you are looking for a cheap and basic accomodation, this is the perfect place! Breakfast is included on the price and is quite good. The restaurant is very limited, but there is a lot of places to eat in Jambiani, near Shehe, with good prices.
By the time we were there, they were doing some reforms on the bungalows.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, infront of the sea.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalaneta_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2011

I left Vancouver, Canada, on the 24th of November, 2010, and traveled to Capetown to begin an overland tour into several Southern African countries over the next 5 weeks - My trip ended in Stone Town,Zanzibar, on January 1st, 2011 - I stayed on for a couple more days, then set out to travel east and south to Jambiani, not really knowing what to expect - In October I had phoned Fassi Ali, and also sent a couple of emails, but I still wasn't sure if I had secured a bungalow for the rest of my time in Africa - As soon as I arrived at Shehe, and met Fassi, I was pleasantly surprised to find that I had a fine bungalow of my own, right on the Indian Ocean! It was exactly what I was hoping for ...... simple, clean, spacious, affordable and right on the beach! The setting was gorgeous and I loved it that the Village itself was just behind us, and that I was able to go there easily and interact with the local people. Jambiani is a well organized Village with a Seaweed Industry, mostly taken on by the women, and a healthy local Fishing Industry, along with a great selection of fresh fruit, coconuts, and vegetables which grew the area - An impressive self sustaining Village - There was also a very enthusiastic group of soccer players of all ages, often training in the centre playing field, near the school.
Each morning, I had a healthy breakfast, at Shehe's restaurant : egg, 3 different fruits, bread or chapati, and tea or coffee - I usually planned my dinner early, and ate it over- looking the Ocean, in the evening - Sometimes I tried other local places in the Village with other Shehe guests. There is no shortage of places to go for meals all along the beach.
The staff at Shehe were really wonderful - Mama Time was present from dawn until dusk, in the centre courtyard/bar area - She would always greet us and make sure that we were alright - She is lovely, and has some of her own important charitable projects on the go - The Ladies kept the place really clean, each day. The Gentlemen were very friendly and helpful, especially in the restaurant - Part of the charm at Shehe was that the power would go out from time to time - This was a wide spread problem with the infrastructure in the area.
I should mention that any attempt at speaking Swahili was always appreciated - Everyone in the area was friendly and welcoming to the travelers - I hope to go back, and spend more time in Jambiani, one day - Shehe Bungalows would be a really good place to stay.
This was a very peaceful and fulfilling experience, and for someone who loves to walk on the beach for hours and hours, I was in Heaven!
Thank you, everyone, at Shehe Bungalows! bjh

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjharrower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2011

We have just come back from a wonderful holiday staying at Shehe Bungalows, we were planning to travel around a bit but ended up staying for 3weeks and using Shehe's as a base as it was just perfect for us!

The people who ran the bungalows were all amazing, Ade was the main man and was very helpful. From the moment we went to the restaurant for breakfast (or you can collect breakfast and have it outside your bungalow) Kashim,Aliza and Fassi always greeted us with smiles and "how was your sleep?" Which always was great! The breakfast was simple and delicious,a selection of fresh fruit followed by an omelet and chapati. Every morning housekeeping would be sweeping the sand from the path's and the area's around each bungalow making every where look lovely. Gloria was really nice and again everyone was very friendly. If you wanted someone to clean your bungalow then they would but we are tidy people and feel just because we are on holiday doesn't mean we are incapable to make the bed up or change our sheets! If the tide was out Alan would rake the beach for seaweed which always made it look really good.

Mama Time.... well where do I start? Such a wonderful women, everyday making sure everything was OK,that we were happy, enjoying ourself and any problems (not that we had any!) to let her know. Mama Time would always be running the garden beach bar from early till late all the drinks were pretty much the same price as anywhere else along the beach but Mama Time can with a difference.....Profit from Mama Time's Bar went to a village outside Stonetown where she provided food and clothing for local not so fortunate children. Mama Time is doing a real wonderful thing and has touched us so much that we are sending to her children's clothes and things she needs.

Shehe Bungalows is right on the beach at the quieter end. At the beginning of our holiday we had people come up to us trying to sell fruit,goods and tours but as soon as they knew we were not interested people just came along to say hi and for a chat which was another factor why our holiday was so great. Jambiani locals are so friendly and welcoming, we had dinner a few times at (he is known as Mosquito) house where we met his beautiful daughters and the rest of his sisters and brothers. We felt safe anytime day or night , we caught the local dala dala into Stone Town which ok took about 2hours and a very squashed bumpy ride but it only cost a $1 compared with $30 in a taxi.

The restaurant at Shehe's is run by lovely women who really do cook wonderful tasty food, yes you do have to wait a while for your food but you have to remember where you are and the kitchen isn't exactly a state of the art, stainless steel all mod con's fitted. We did find that everywhere we went for dinner we experienced a wait but took it as a way of life and enjoyed another cold Kili...or 2 before dinner! Other restaurants we would recommend are Stone Fish - cheapest on the beach for food and drink, Coco Coco's, Alhapa, One Stone and just down from the post office is a local restaurant that sells the best passion fruit drink, beans and chapati for breakfast, really good spicy rice at lunch and yummy chicken skewers (be careful of bones!)and chips, everything for cheapest price around!

We hired bikes from Songa, he is the artist next to Shehe Bungalows doing Tinga Tinga art. We cycled all the way to the Colobus Monkeys 3hours each way! Brilliant to see the monkeys, a long bike ride on straight roads as far as the eye can see but we had a great day! We also hired snorkel gear and walked/swam out to the reef, unfortunately a lot of it is dead coral but the amount of fish,star fish and other fantastic sea creatures is amazing. We just floated with the tide and then walked back along the beach.

Dolphin Tour - Best thing we have ever experienced, went twice! Organised by Ade at Shehe's. We were really lucky both times, swam with around 30 Dolphins and only one other boat at sea. Totally amazing!

We paid $35 a night for a beach bungalow at Shehe's it wasn't luxury and yes the electricity and water wasn't always available but it wasn't that Shehe turned it off, it's just what happens! So we really feel it was worth every dollar, it was clean, tidy, had towels provided and a mosquito net. All the staff were wonderful and it was in a perfect spot in Jambiani. We fully recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank justbirnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thank you for having taken your valuable time to have written this positive feedback regarding your stay at Shehe bungalows! We will definitely put in more efforts to make sure We keep providing a better services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2010

I wouldn't recommmend this place. Great location right on the beach but very badly maintained. Our first room had a broken ceiling fan (the door had also been bashed in and had been poorly repaired). We asked to be moved to a much better room. Loo didn't flush. Neighbours room had drains which wouldn't drain - raw sewage in your shower? Service in the restaurant is very, very slow. I became very ill after eating their breakfast - ended up in bed for 2 days feeling very unwell and throwing up. Staff well meaning and do their best but we had such a poor experience I think people should avoid this place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thank you for having taken your valuable time to write the feedback about your stay at shehe bungalows that without doubt it real means a lot to our team.
However we do like to take this opportunity to clarify some negativity that you raised regarding our place.
as we do remember during your stay you were not pleased with the room that we provided to you and immediately on the following day as soon as other room became available we offered to you, then We had some power not just our place but in the whole village which caused some damage to the fans in the room but then we did provide some other fan to you , regarding the toilet flash problem , i am sure it did not last for long as soon as the power came back and the water began to operate normal.
Regarding on the food poison issue that you have raised to be fair on us as far as we do remember apart from the breakfast you did not use our restaurant for anything else ,We are 100% sure you was going to others restaurants or village for lunch/dinner where possible you could have caught some food poison from there, as we are sure all our breakfast preparation is done under good care by our team .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

nice place, right on the beach

food in the restaurant is lovely but order mid afternoon if you want to avoid waiting for 2 hours for dinner

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joyceeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

Thanks very much for the positive review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews