We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a comedy of errors”
Review of Uhuru Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uhuru Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2012

After an exhausting trip through southern and eastern Africa, my husband and I were hoping to relax on the beach for just one day. We chose Jambiani because we'd seen a documentary on the seaweed farmers and thought that it looked absolutely beautiful; we also typically enjoy places that are off the beaten path and not overrun with tourists. When we got to Shehe, we were immediately overcome with the feeling that it's heyday was long past and it hadn't been updated or properly cared for in awhile. We were shown to our room, which was fine, save that the lights flickered, the plumbing didn't work, and there was no toilet paper. We changed and went down to the beach, where we were harassed by a non-stop flow of locals looking to sell us things, who could not take "no" for an answer. The beach in front of our bungalows was dirty and full of seaweed - aka, not maintained at all. I got up to go back to the room and saw the chef in the garden with his pants down.

My husband and I spent the rest of the afternoon at a tiki bar about 10 minutes down the beach from Shehe, which was part of another bungalow development. This place was just what we needed. The beach was clean, the staff was friendly, and the locals didn't bother us much.

We returned to Shehe for dinner, cooked by the same chef I saw in the garden earlier, and it was actually surprisingly good, briefly making us feel better about our choice to stay there. We were exhausted and decided to get an early night. The mosquito net above our bed was attached to a very solid, heavy, wooden frame, which was attached to the ceiling with nails. When my husband very gently tried to take the mosquito net down, one side of the wooden frame, nails and all, fell, hitting him in the head and landing on my legs. The other side was still precariously attached to the ceiling, right above my head. Luckily, there were no bodily injuries. Jambiani is in the middle of nowhere. We briefly thought about trying to sleep in the other bed, which was a twin, but when we pulled the sheets back, bugs ran out in every direction.

We went to find a staff person to get a new room. It was 8:30 p.m. The place was deserted.

That was the final straw. We packed our bags and headed down the beach to the tiki bar from earlier in the day. They had a room; it was perfect. The End.

Room Tip: Go down the beach a ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmercier311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for a week, and found it to be poor value for money, with staff who are complacent and food that was just edible. We were very disappointed, and if we hadn't booked and paid for the week would have moved to another place- there are better value lodges and bungalows nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilburygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Don't go if you are into luxurious hotels. It is very basic and definitely could use a generous renovation. The location is perfect if you prefer to experience the local essence of Zanzibar. i hope that they have a generator by now, because we had to stay for 3 days without power.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Jambiani is Paradise! Its just about the most relaxing place on earth. Yes, the Shehe is basic, but its clean and the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is great. Some people complained about the electricity failing but that just happens in places like Zanzibar, and its almost part of the charm.. its such a peaceful safe relaxing place that nothing should really worry you.
The Shehe is right on the beach so you open your door onto the sand and at night can hear the beautiful sound of the sea. Breakfasts were amazing, and fresh fish and curries for dinner.. just perfect!
For around us$10 we went out on a dugout fishing boat so we could snorkel as the men fished (for lobsters)... an awesome experience.
I just wish we could get enough time off work to get out to Jambiani again.. and if we do, we will definitely be staying at Shehe!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

For a basic, budget stay on the beach: we think the best in Jambiani.
The bungalows are on the beach, , no rocks, no stairs ...just open the door and there is: sand, see,beautiful nature, coulors, dayly life from the village people on the beach.
Location : super
Catering : minimum
Remember : this is a budget ( no Resort, no Hilton) in Afrika.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita188650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Very clean, great location and helpful staff. Had a wonderful time. Will definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: I will suggest staying in one of the garden rooms. The hawkers are not allowed in the resorts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrouVrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Shehe bungalows is a very basic lodge with no luxuries. I think it's important being aware of that before going because you are not going to have hot water or air conditioning (but this is Africa!). However, the views from the bungalows are amazing, infront of the sea, and the staff is very kind. The rooms have fans and perfect mosquito nets.
If you are looking for some luxurious place you should look for the hotel resorts in the north of the island, not in Jambiani.
If you are looking for a cheap and basic accomodation, this is the perfect place! Breakfast is included on the price and is quite good. The restaurant is very limited, but there is a lot of places to eat in Jambiani, near Shehe, with good prices.
By the time we were there, they were doing some reforms on the bungalows.

Room Tip: All rooms have nice views, infront of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catalaneta_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
571 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
0.5 mi away
Villaggio Seconda Stella a Destra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uhuru Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uhuru Beach

Address: | East Coast of Zanzibar, Fishing Village of Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Shehe Bungalows)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range: £24 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uhuru Beach (formerly Shehe Bungalows) is situated on the lovely coastlines of Zanzibar island at Jambiani village on the east coast of the island. It is a beautiful, intimate place, is perfect for those looking for relaxation on an idyllic tropical island, based in whitewashed, thatched beach bungalows, the spacious, airy rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Uhuru Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehe Bungalows Hotel Jambiani
Uhuru Beach Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing