We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SheHe Hotel: enjoyable relaxing”
Review of Uhuru Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uhuru Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My daughter and I spent four delightful days — reading under the thatched bonda, dipping in tropical blue ocean, walking white sands, viewing colorful sunsets through palm trees, enjoying the SheHe Hotel breakfasts, trying out beach restaurants, exploring the village and trying my limited Swahili at little dukas... I think people who rate this hotel low (even after they haggled the hotel down to $9 per night!) should go pay for a more luxurious tourist hotel and quit complaining. Our shower was not so hot but it's so warm in Zanzibar -- even in "winter" -- why care? Our bathroom and room were quaintly rustic (certainly way fancier than the village, or our recent Kilimanjaro climb!) but with such a beautiful beach and ocean, why would we mind? People living there were quite friendly, hotel staff also. Only one disagreeable incident: was a spoiled young beauty's loud and redundant complaints to the waiter, nearly ruining breakfast for everyone else (including her husband or BF). We would definitely return -- if I am so blessed as to travel to Zanzibar again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boni7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2012

I stayed in Shehe with a couple of friends last October. Jambiani is a gorgeous area, but the hotel itself was not great! In fairness it was pretty cheap - I think in the end we paid about $9/night each for a room with 2 single beds & a large double.

On the plus side, it was in the perfect location right on the beach, & it was cheap. Good breakfast & lunch. The bedroom is fairly basic, but comfortable enough beds, with a pillow and a thin sheet (which is all you need as it gets quite hot).

OK - the negatives: The shower was freeeeeeeeeeezing, and the owners did not admit that the water heater was broken until we noticed it ourselves, having earlier handed over the money for a weeks stay. (They did allow us to use a shower in another room, but we had to let them know half an hour before we wanted to use it so they could turn on the hot water). The toilet in our room also smelled really bad. The fan in our room worked but was so noisy we couldn't keep it on when we were trying to sleep. There was often no power - but i think this was the area, not just the hotel. We didn't enjoy the dinner at Shehe, ate there once - had a fish curry or something and it was just awful! Thankfully, there are lots of other restaurants along the beach to eat at, although you do need to order about 3 hours in advance of your meal (Recommend the Rainbow restaurant - a little way into the village!!!!!)

I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Haggle to get a cheaper room price, and check that there is hot flowing water in your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

After an exhausting trip through southern and eastern Africa, my husband and I were hoping to relax on the beach for just one day. We chose Jambiani because we'd seen a documentary on the seaweed farmers and thought that it looked absolutely beautiful; we also typically enjoy places that are off the beaten path and not overrun with tourists. When we got to Shehe, we were immediately overcome with the feeling that it's heyday was long past and it hadn't been updated or properly cared for in awhile. We were shown to our room, which was fine, save that the lights flickered, the plumbing didn't work, and there was no toilet paper. We changed and went down to the beach, where we were harassed by a non-stop flow of locals looking to sell us things, who could not take "no" for an answer. The beach in front of our bungalows was dirty and full of seaweed - aka, not maintained at all. I got up to go back to the room and saw the chef in the garden with his pants down.

My husband and I spent the rest of the afternoon at a tiki bar about 10 minutes down the beach from Shehe, which was part of another bungalow development. This place was just what we needed. The beach was clean, the staff was friendly, and the locals didn't bother us much.

We returned to Shehe for dinner, cooked by the same chef I saw in the garden earlier, and it was actually surprisingly good, briefly making us feel better about our choice to stay there. We were exhausted and decided to get an early night. The mosquito net above our bed was attached to a very solid, heavy, wooden frame, which was attached to the ceiling with nails. When my husband very gently tried to take the mosquito net down, one side of the wooden frame, nails and all, fell, hitting him in the head and landing on my legs. The other side was still precariously attached to the ceiling, right above my head. Luckily, there were no bodily injuries. Jambiani is in the middle of nowhere. We briefly thought about trying to sleep in the other bed, which was a twin, but when we pulled the sheets back, bugs ran out in every direction.

We went to find a staff person to get a new room. It was 8:30 p.m. The place was deserted.

That was the final straw. We packed our bags and headed down the beach to the tiki bar from earlier in the day. They had a room; it was perfect. The End.

Room Tip: Go down the beach a ways...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gmercier311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We stayed here for a week, and found it to be poor value for money, with staff who are complacent and food that was just edible. We were very disappointed, and if we hadn't booked and paid for the week would have moved to another place- there are better value lodges and bungalows nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilburygang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

Don't go if you are into luxurious hotels. It is very basic and definitely could use a generous renovation. The location is perfect if you prefer to experience the local essence of Zanzibar. i hope that they have a generator by now, because we had to stay for 3 days without power.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yiannis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Jambiani is Paradise! Its just about the most relaxing place on earth. Yes, the Shehe is basic, but its clean and the staff are friendly and helpful and the food is great. Some people complained about the electricity failing but that just happens in places like Zanzibar, and its almost part of the charm.. its such a peaceful safe relaxing place that nothing should really worry you.
The Shehe is right on the beach so you open your door onto the sand and at night can hear the beautiful sound of the sea. Breakfasts were amazing, and fresh fish and curries for dinner.. just perfect!
For around us$10 we went out on a dugout fishing boat so we could snorkel as the men fished (for lobsters)... an awesome experience.
I just wish we could get enough time off work to get out to Jambiani again.. and if we do, we will definitely be staying at Shehe!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsj_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

For a basic, budget stay on the beach: we think the best in Jambiani.
The bungalows are on the beach, , no rocks, no stairs ...just open the door and there is: sand, see,beautiful nature, coulors, dayly life from the village people on the beach.
Location : super
Catering : minimum
Remember : this is a budget ( no Resort, no Hilton) in Afrika.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rita188650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#7 of 13 in Jambiani
570 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sea View Lodge Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jambiani White Sands Bungalows
2.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uhuru Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uhuru Beach

Address: | East Coast of Zanzibar, Fishing Village of Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Shehe Bungalows)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 37 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range: £24 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uhuru Beach (formerly Shehe Bungalows) is situated on the lovely coastlines of Zanzibar island at Jambiani village on the east coast of the island. It is a beautiful, intimate place, is perfect for those looking for relaxation on an idyllic tropical island, based in whitewashed, thatched beach bungalows, the spacious, airy rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Uhuru Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehe Bungalows Hotel Jambiani
Uhuru Beach Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing