We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice spot”
Review of Uhuru Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Uhuru Beach
Certificate of Excellence
manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“nice spot”
Reviewed 16 August 2010

nice place, right on the beach

food in the restaurant is lovely but order mid afternoon if you want to avoid waiting for 2 hours for dinner

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyceeexxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Owner at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
Thanks very much for the positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    46
    13
    7
    14
See reviews for
15
60
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2010

We paid $35 a night for a fairly spacious, white washed, coral-rag bungalow right on the beach front. Our room, B9, had a double and single bed with mosquito nets, fan and private bathroom with cold water shower. The room price also includes breakfast which consists of tea/coffee, fruit, eggs and chipatti.

During our stay the electricity and water supply were a bit erratic. However, this is probably more to do with the local infrastructure than anything else, after all this is a fairly remote part of Zanzibar. Just be prepared to not always have lights or running water.

We thought that the rooms felt a little bit overpriced as they are fairly basic. However; it appears that all of the accommodation in Jambiani is overpriced and this is no worse than the others.

The other plus points are that each bungalow has a little seating are out the front which overlooks the beach and the guys who run the place are really friendly. The restaurant also does lunch and dinner which have to be pre ordered earlier in the day. Other than breakfast, we always ate out so can't really comment.

We also tried Kimte Beach Inn which has worse rooms, that are smaller and dirtier, on the road rather than the beach and cost more ($40)

In summary - probably the best budget option from Jambiani's choice of overpriced accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beaverman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fasiy100, Manager at Uhuru Beach, responded to this review, 23 January 2011
thanks very much for the positive feedback
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We stayed at Shehe after Stonetown at the beginning of our Tanzania trip. We spent 12 nights there, and the location and the staff made it a stay of a lifetime. We were blown away by the kindness of the staff, who went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Although there was no power on the island we didnt mind, we were brought paraffin lamps at night, and the staff still produced beautifully cooked meals at very reasonable prices compared to many other restaurants we tried.
When my boyfriend became ill and spent a night in Stonetown i was moved by the genuine kindness and concern shown to me, for which i am very grateful.
One day we lost a bag with cameras, passport etc, and everyone could not have been more helpful in trying to get our stuff returned, which it was, with just a couple of things missing- camera was still there, testament to the honesty of the Zanzibarian people.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and a great choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmanuelleZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2009

I booked these bungalows because of their proximity to the beach and the low price. While those factors are both true, the state of cleanliness here was appalling. The water was not working-- instead, it had leaked brown liquid all over the floor. When we saw the bed, it was completely covered in sawdust. Meanwhile we could hear the termites biting away at the wood above. Luckily the roof didn't collapse while we were in there. The staff, while being relatively friendly, was unwilling to move us to a different bungalow and didn't apologize for the mess of a room we had, so we grabbed our bags and walked down the beach to stay in a place that cost about 3 times as much but was about 20 times cleaner.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rauscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krakow
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2009

Me and my friends stayed for 4 nights in early Oct,09 . At the end of our overland trip in Africa.
We had 1 big triple room with great sea view ,the place is somehow very basic but We reckon worth every cent,as they have a good rates as well compared to other hostel on Zanzivar coast.
The restaurant services is very very slow but enventualy when the food arrive to us was very tasty!
There are number of good restaurants/bars within walking distance from shehe bungalows,The location is very safe to walk about at all time, We found the villagers are very welcoming and friendly people.
Overal,shehe bungalow has very nice beach location and run by friendly team of locals but the breakfast could be a bit more varied though.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pawelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 October 2009

We booked in advance for a week after reading the reviews here, as we wanted to go for a budget option. The beach and sea itself looked beautiful upon our arrival, however the shortcomings of the place became visible pretty soon. To start off the guy in the reception didn't have change for payment of the room - I acutally had to ask him many times a day for several days before he said I could have it deducted from the lunch bill. First day we had lunch in the restaurant - very friendly girl who worked there - but service was extremely slow. When leaving the managed close to accused us of not having paid which we of couse had - while he still was owing me $15.

The rooms themselves were ok, not very clean though. Most of the staff were sitting around all day instead of trying to fix small things and improving the property. For instance there was a hole in our bathroom ceiling were there would fall down dried mud and branches.

Main annoying thing was however that the water supply was turned off the most of the time. We would complain a lot of times and always got promised it would be fixed permanently. But after 20 minutes the water would be missing again. After a couple of days we found that they actually switched off the pump themselves, we would start going to the switch behind B13 ourselves whenever we needed running water.

We were so displeased with the whole stay that we decided to leave 3 days early. The management has stated as a comment here on trip advisor that they refund money if people choose to leave early, We didn't get any refund tho (reception guy claimed they usually didn't refund any money and that they anyway didn't have any money there. Management was not around). We asked them to give the amount (about $100) to the local branch of Save the Children although I seriously doubt that will be done.

Our cons listed:
- they don't give any or too little change for any amounts paid (applies to most of the places on Jambiani actually - dead annoying and not a nice way to treat their visitors)
- mediocre rooms
- Missing running water
- Nagging massage women (got pissed off when we didn't want it)
- Being accused of not paying meals
- Locals even knocking at your door trying to sell guided tours or fruit, all the time. Never a moment of peace.

The beach and water is stunning, and the place is situated right on the beach. Could easily have been so much better with some friendly staff who knows how to treat a guest.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Globetrottar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berlin
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2009

It is great place if you wish to enjoy the charming of swahili holiday.
We stayed for 3 nights ,half the time We had a place to ourselves,the staff are very friendly and helpful.
their bungalows are well located with great sea view.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabianBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jambiani hotels
0.8 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#4 of 13 in Jambiani
227 reviews
3.1 mi away
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Mbuyuni Beach Village
#8 of 13 in Jambiani
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.3 mi away
Blue Reef Sport & Fishing Lodge
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Uzuri Villa
Boutique Hotel Uzuri Villa
#7 of 33 in Jambiani
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Uhuru Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Uhuru Beach

Property: Uhuru Beach
Address: | East Coast of Zanzibar, Fishing Village of Jambiani, Jambiani, Tanzania (Formerly Shehe Bungalows)
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Uhuru Beach (formerly Shehe Bungalows) is situated on the lovely coastlines of Zanzibar island at Jambiani village on the east coast of the island. It is a beautiful, intimate place, is perfect for those looking for relaxation on an idyllic tropical island, based in whitewashed, thatched beach bungalows, the spacious, airy rooms are decorated in traditional Zanzibar design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Uhuru Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shehe Bungalows Hotel Jambiani
Uhuru Beach Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing