We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful and relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Jass Villa

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Jambiani, Zanzibar Island, Zanzibar Archipelago

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Donna H
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
Reviewed 8 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Jass Villa for 4 nights after our successful climb on Mount Kilimanjaro and it was a very good decision to stay in the sleepy beach town of Jambiani. It was only my husband and I but the villa can accommodate up to 8-9 people. It is very well taken care of and has 2 baths, one kitchen and one very fabulous second floor deck where we sunbathed, ate our meals, watched the local kids play soccer in the evening and just relaxed. The beach of Jambiani is a little tricky due to the tide, however if you are willing to walk a km or so toward the ocean, you can get the most amazing white sand and take a dip (see attached photo) in shallow water. We brought our water shoes and found them to be very helpful.
I arranged everything through TripAdvisor and communication was prompt and transport can be arranged prior to your arrival. Issa the manager was very helpful and coordinated our transfers. We hired a cook for our breakfasts and dinners and I can't recommend this service enough. Mubaraka cooked the best and most fresh meals that you would likely pay 3-4 X the price at the restaurants nearby. This was the best decision we made.
The villa itself is charming and is well suited to those really looking to get away from it all. Wifi was not available but you can connect to the wifi next door (which was painfully slow). We were told that Jass Villa will have their own wifi very shortly and will be undergoing minor renovations which would make it the best place to stay in Jambiani. Jass Villa comes highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Beach location
Liked least: Baths need minor updates
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Apr 2015
Thank you for your review and nice words! We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay in Jass Villa. Yes, having a chef is something we recommend especially if you are a bigger group. You can choose exactly what you want to eat for a very reasonable price. We now offer free wifi with the highest Speed internet available in Zanzibar.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dagmar-we...
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have had a great time in Jambiani! If you looking for a relaxing and friendly atmosphere - Jass Villa is definitely a place to go! We recommend a rental car to see other places in Zanzibar.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fannyboni...
Loubes-Bernac, France
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timbernha...
Uberlingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 for a stay in August 2016
Google Translation
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aussicht von der Terrasse
Liked least: nichts
Travelling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Theo67300
Rennes, France
Level 6 Contributor
236 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
walid-mar...
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
Google Translation
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: En famille élargie
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beischa
Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing