We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mbuyuni Beach Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mbuyuni Beach Village
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Jambiani
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very friendly and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon from 4th-12th June 2011. We chose the hotel because it looked like it was in a beautiful location, was away from all the crowds and tourist areas, and very reasonably priced- and we were right!

We arrived at the hotel and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the location was paradise. The pool was also a big bonus as that area of sea isn't very easy to swim in due to the coral. The restaurant was very reasonably priced with a good selection of food, and there is wifi in the restaurant too which is brilliant. Stonetown is about an hour away by taxi ($50) and the hotel manager is very good at booking taxis and excursions- a must-see is the Spice Tour in Kizimbani, where you go round a spice farm and they cook a meal for you at the end. It was $35 each for the taxi there and back and the tour as well- very good value. Also walking to Paje is a nice trip, the Supa Duka shop there is brilliant, it stocks drinks, food, ice cream, toiletries etc. and is only a 25 minute walk from the hotel.

There were blackouts while we were there but we were expecting that and it wasn't a big issue, we took torches with us, and the hotel staff put a little kerosene lamp on our porch so we could find our way over to the restaurant. We had hot water every day, but the showers weren't very powerful so had to use a little bucket to tip water over our heads, which wasn't a problem. There were ceiling fans in the room which was great. If we had to pick up on something that could be improved, then it would have been nice to have a TV in the room- but that's the only fault we could find and we didn't really miss it too much.

We did have an issue with ants coming into the room on a couple of occasions but the hotel manager was extremely kind in getting us bug spray to get rid of them (even at 10pm when we had to disturb him!!!)

Overall the hotel was fantastic and very reasonably priced, and would definitely recommend this place to anyone we knew going to Zanzibar!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pigeon87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    107
    27
    5
    11
See reviews for
42
128
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights in June 2011 and greatly enjoyed our stay. Shehe and the rest of the staff were very friendly and helpful arranging visits to Jozani and snorkelling trips. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced and the pool is a massive benefit when the sea can be difficult to swim in. There are also loads of pleasant places to sit and relax.
The room was large and comfortable with a pleasant veranda and hot showers. The only issue was that we appeared to be attacked by dust mites from the bed and ended up with an annoying itchy rash. No-one else staying there seemed to be affected so it may just have been our bed, and the rash did go after a few days so I wouldn't let that affect your decision.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amour100, Manager at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thanks very much for the feedback, We will make sure to put more works on those few issues raised.
Many thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

We stayed there for 6 days. The place is run by a family, the staff is very attentive, nice and ready to help with everything. We haven't seen a place like this in whole Africa! The rooms are clean and well mainianed. There is hot water in showers! The ocean is just outside of the rooms, at night you can hear it clearly! Mbuyuni Beach has its own restaurant with fresh food, decent prices, great waiter Mirage and manager Amour! We'll come back there for sure!

Room Tip: The best are double rooms (with Zanzibar beds)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maartha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amour100, Manager at Mbuyuni Beach Village, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thanks very much for the positive feedback,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

My bungalow was very clean with interesting artwork on the walls. The water was very hot for the shower and the basin. It was wonderful to sit out of an evening and watch the moon rise and listen to the waves pounding the shore. The restaurant food was adequate and reasonably cheap but the service was painfully slow. Breakfast (included)was good despite the free wasps with the jam!

The newly built swimming pool was a huge bonus as the sea was often a long way out and difficult to reach over the stony beach. It is a pleasant walk to the village of Paje where there are some useful shops (Super Duka), wind surfing and more restaurants and hotels.

The cleaners did an excellent job and the staff were ever helpful in arranging trips and taxis etc. The free internet access (with wifi if you have your own laptop) was another plus.

All in all a great place to chill out and enjoy the sun and the peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank schoolinspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hurghada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2011

that was the best hollidays we have had since we travel,a great area,very clean bungalows,hotel,marvellous staff ,very nice swimming pool and the cook mirage was wonderfull,we ordered what we want, we will go back in this very quite hotel.
that was the best for me simple,clean,very good food and the excursions were great with our miki the organizer.
a beautifull souvenir!!!!
thank you so much for everything mbujuni

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herasimba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2011

We stayed 3 nights in January. Two married couples and three single women. We picked this property in hopes of not having a "touristy" stay. we have travelled extensivley in West Africa and wanted the 5 newbies to experience "real africa" not a sanitized resort experience. The resort is not for "all inclusive" travellers, but perfect for ones who want a clean, comfortable place to sleep and unwind. Its not five star but very clean and safe. The service is good for african standards. The cooking was excellent and reasonably priced. Excursions canbe arranged, we reluctantly went to swim with the dolphins and were thrilled it was in the open ocean not in some captive pool. Power outgages were great we hoped our friends would expereince some as it is normal throughout africa, so bring a headlamp. the staff did their best to keep us happy and we would reccommend this property to anyone that enjoys quiet relaxation, without all the western style pampering at a very fair price.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

I arrived at mbuyuni village without knowing what to expect as single traveller,I ended up staying for 4 nights,it was a such fantastic break.
the only problem was a unreliable power in Zanzibar for my 4 nights stay at Mbuyuni ,I experienced a power cut almost every evening for about 15 minutes or so which was kind annoying to be honesty, but this had nothing to do with the hotel it was much of the poor infrastructure on the Island,A part from electricity issues, The beach was beautiful and very deserted .
the food was simple and delicious mostly seafood though, it is also nice to eat in some other local restaurants some of them serve excellent food.
the room was q quite basic inside but it gave me all the comfort i needed.
For what i paid I would definitely recommend mbuyuni is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank katarzyna88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jambiani
3.6 mi away
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
Zanzest Beach Bungalows
#3 of 13 in Jambiani
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
3.5 mi away
Coral Rock Zanzibar
Coral Rock Zanzibar
#5 of 13 in Jambiani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
11.8 mi away
Chwaka Bay Resort
Chwaka Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Chwaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
42.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
25.9 mi away
Al Minar
Al Minar
#10 of 33 in Stone Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mbuyuni Beach Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mbuyuni Beach Village

Property: Mbuyuni Beach Village
Address: Jambiani Village, East Coast of Zanzibar | at the beginning of Jambiani Village, Jambiani, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Jambiani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jambiani
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jambiani
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Jambiani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mbuyuni Beach Village 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mbuyuni Beach Village is located on the east coast of Zanzibar, right at the beginning of Jambiani village, 4 minutes drive after passing Paje village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Mbuyuni Beach Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mbuyuni Beach Village Hotel Jambiani
Mbuyuni Beach Village Zanzibar Island/Jambiani

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing